Successfully reported
The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
+56

Rietfontein Guest Farm

Self Catering

Review Summary

4.4 out of 5from 12 reviews for Rietfontein Guest Farm
Cleanliness
4.4/5
Service
4.8/5
Location
4.3/5
Safety
4.8/5
Value for money
3.9/5
Susan A - Dec 2023
Overall rating
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Susan A
With friends

Fabulous stay.

Fantastic stay. The farm manager was so welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble and we had a wonderful stay. Highly recommended.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful
Ruth D - Jan 2023
Overall rating
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Ruth D
Family with teenagers

Lovely place, need a 4X4 on property, hot water and stove did not work for 2 of our 3 day stay.

We did not plan on staying on property, but lucky enough to see zebra and a few deer.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Rietfontein Guest Farm 's response

Dear Ruth, thanks so much for your review and feedback. Such a pity, that you did not bring your challenges, with the hot water and stove to our attention immediately. I know we replaced your gas cylinder, during your stay and all should have been working perfectly after the cylinder replacement. We hope you and your extended family, enjoyed the Rietfontein Guest Farm - Route 62 The Little Karoo Xperience. Warm regards Mark and Pearl

Rietfontein Guest Farm
Melissa R - Jan 2023
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Melissa R
With friends

Wonderlik rustig.

Ons het heerlik gekuier by Rietfontein. Mooiste area en alles was gerieflik. Die swembad en warmbaddens het baie goed gewerk in die hitte. Sal hoogs aanbeveel.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Wonderfully peaceful.

We had a great time at Rietfontein. Most beautiful area and everything was convenient. The pool and hot tubs worked very well in the heat. Would highly recommend.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Rietfontein Guest Farm 's response

Baie dankie vir u terugvoerig, ons waardeer dit regtig. Ons is so bly dat julle 'n wonderlike tyd gehad het.

Rietfontein Guest Farm
Anonymous Guest - Oct 2022
Overall rating
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Anonymous Guest
With friends

Quiet environment and good content in the cottage. The beds and bedding are of excellent quality.

The bathroom is not up to standard. The shower over the bath just doesn't work. I suggest removing the tub and replacing the tub with a walk-in shower. We were also put in a unit that we had not booked and according to the photos I booked the unit on it is much bigger than the unit we were given to stay in.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful
Lize C - Aug 2022
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lize C
Family with teenagers

Tranquility.

Loved the peace and quiet, the variety of birds visiting. Teenagers had a lot of fun in the hot tub. Quality linen and everything you need.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Rietfontein Guest Farm 's response

Dear Lize, thank you so much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the Xperience here at Rietfontein Guest Farm and that your kids could tear themselves away from social media, to enjoy a little digital detox in your private hot tub.

It would be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards and appreciation, your Hosts - Mark and Pearl.

Rietfontein Guest Farm
Karl S - Dec 2021
Overall rating
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Karl S
With spouse/partner

Love the Klein Karoo semi-desert scrubland. The chalet was beautiful placed next to a kloof looking over thorn trees etc. with lots of birds.

Will come visit again.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful
Bernice K - Dec 2021
Overall rating
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
2/5
Bernice K
With spouse/partner

'n Lekker bestemming in die natuur met meeste wat jy benodig.

Die swembad en 'hot tub' was presies soos foto's gewys het en ons het dit baie geniet. Ons gasvrou en gasheer was baie vriendelik. Dit was wel sleg dat daar geen voorsiening gemaak was om 'n foon in die huis te kon laai nie, maar dit moes in die ontvangslokaal gedoen word. Alhoewel die verblyf baie netjies was, benodig dit 'n opgradering vir die prys wat gevra word. Die prys maak sin vir 4 mense, maar vir 2 mense is dit te duur vir wat jy kry. Ons sal voorstel dat daar een kragprop met 'n USB port in die huisies geïnstalleer word, sodat gaste wel 'n foon kan herlaai in die huis.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

A nice destination in nature with most of what you need.

The pool and hot tub were exactly as the photos showed and we really enjoyed them. Our hostess and host were very friendly. It was bad that no provision had been made to be able to charge a phone in the house, but it had to be done in the reception room. Although the accommodation was very neat, it needs an upgrade for the price being asked. The price makes sense for 4 people, but for 2 people it is too expensive for what you get. We would suggest that one power plug with a USB port be installed in the cottages, so that guests can recharge a phone in the house.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Rietfontein Guest Farm 's response

Baie dankie vir u terugvoering, ons waardeur dit opreg. Ons is bly julle het jou tyd by Rietfontein Gaste Plaas geniet. Ons is in die process, om een vir een, al 5 van ons kothuisies te opgradeur, insluiting 'n USB kragprop in buide kamers, vir die herlaai van digitaale toerusting. Dankie ook vir u komentaar oor onse pryse (vir 2 x volvasse persoone) in vergelyking tot die volle kothuise se kapasiteit, ons is in die process om dit te ondersoek, om die waarde vir geld, te handhaaf. Weerens baie dankie vir u terugvoering.

Rietfontein Guest Farm
Jacques L - Apr 2021
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Jacques L
Family with young children

Oulik, maar...

Oulike plek, netjies en so aan. Die jacuzzi was baie lekker en kinders het die ervaring baie geniet. Ek is nie seker dit was gepas vir die prys nie maar was nie totaal ongelukkig nie. Die bergfiets roete is glad nie goed gemerk nie en my arme vrou het baie verdwaal. Ons het ook gesukkel met aanwysings vir die staproete. Verder is daar nie 'n 4x4 roete soos aangedui nie.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Cute but...

Cute place, neat and so on. The jacuzzi was very nice and children really enjoyed the experience. I'm not sure it was appropriate for the price but wasn't totally unhappy. The mountain bike route is not well marked at all and my poor wife got very lost. We also struggled with directions for the hiking trail. Furthermore, there is not a 4x4 route as indicated.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Rietfontein Guest Farm 's response

Hi Jacques,
Ek is bly julle het die hot-tubs geniet en dat die huisie na julle smaak was. Die bergfiets roetes is op publieke paaie. Niemand het nog ooit verkeerd gestap op die uitgemerkte roete nie. Nerens word geadverteer dat ons 4x4 roetes doen nie.
Bly veilig.
Groete

Rietfontein Guest Farm
Johan P - Jan 2018
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johan P
Family with young children

Rus vir die siel!

Charl is 'n ongelooflike gasheer. Hy het ons baie tuis laat voel. Die plekkie was lieflik. Die kinders het dit vreeslik geniet.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Rest for the soul!

Charl is an amazing host. He made us feel very much at home. The place was lovely. The children enjoyed it immensely.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Rietfontein Guest Farm 's response

Hi Johanndi,
Ek is bly julle het dit geniet hier by ons.
Ek sien uit daarna om julle weer op Rietfontein te verwelkom.
Voorspoed.
Groete

Rietfontein Guest Farm
Thea R - Jul 2017
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Thea R
Family with teenagers

Baie lekker.

Heerlik gebly. Alles wat jy nodig het. Net nie vir ons vooraf gesê dat daar nie kragproppe of 'n mikrogolfoond is nie. Asemrowende natuurskoon, rustig. Baie netjies, mooi en skoon.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Very nice.

Had a wonderful stay. Everything you need. Just didn't tell us in advance that there were no power plugs or a microwave. Breathtaking scenery, peaceful. Very neat, beautiful and clean.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful
Adele R - Apr 2017
Overall rating
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Adele R
Family with young children

Wonderlike omgewing, wonderlike ontvangs en lekker 'off-the-grid' wegbreekplek.

My man wou graag 'n rustige naweek op 'n plaas in die Klein-Karoo spandeer. En ons verblyf op Rietfontein was presies dit en nog meer! Die feit dat jy deur 'n 'Eco-estate' moet ry om by die plaas uit te kom en die wildsbokke, swart wildebeeste en selfs kameelperde wat ons kon sien op pad was 'n onverwagse bonus. Die huisie was baie gerieflik, met genoeg gastoestelle en 'n heerlike vuurherd in die oopplan-kombuis/leefarea dat die gebrek aan elektrisiteit op bewolkte dae ons glad nie gepla het nie. Ons gasheer was baie vriendelik en behulpsaam met raad en feite oor die omgewing en sy mense. En natuurlik was die heerlike knus spierwit beddegoed en gemaklike beddens die kersie op die koek. My man vertel almal van die wonderlike naweek by Riefontein, ons sal beslis binnekort weer kom met familie of vriende.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Wonderful area, wonderful reception and lovely "off the grid" breakaway.

My husband wanted a peaceful weekend on a farm in the Little Karoo. Our stay at Rietfontein was exactly that and more! The fact that you have to drive through an Eco Estate to reach the farm, and the buck, black wildebeest, even giraffes we saw on the way were an unexpected bonus. The house was very comfortable, with enough gas appliances and a lovely fireplace in the open plan kitchen living area, so that the lack of electricity on cloudy days didn't faze us. Our host was very friendly and helpful with advice and facts about the area and its people. And of course the wonderful, fluffy, clear white bedding and comfortable beds were just the cherry on top. My husband tells everyone about the wonderful weekend at Rietfontein. We would love to return there soon with family or friends.

This review has been translated.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Rietfontein Guest Farm 's response

Hi Adele,
Baie dankie dat julle by Rietfontein bespreek het. Dit was 'n plesier om julle hier te ontvang en ons sien uit daarna om julle weer hier te verwelkom.
Groete

Rietfontein Guest Farm
Louise V - Feb 2017
Overall rating
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Louise V
Family with young children

Baie rustig en stil.

Gemaklik, huisie is baie goed toegerus. Swembad is fantasties. Ons het die stilte ongelooflik baie geniet.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Very peaceful and quiet.

Comfortable, house is well equipped. Pool is fantastic. We enjoyed the silence a lot.

This review has been translated.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful
From
R1 200
per night (sleeps 4)
From
From R1 200
per night (sleeps 4)
From
R1 200
per night (sleeps 4)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 20 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 17:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: Farm Rietfontein, Off the R62, Ladismith, 6655, Western Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAS3nvBbHTMfFW4xHrZg8FPHqa6uxFH8jV6TOGHIleaRregw8tNL?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 From R1 200 per night (sleeps 4) 12 5 1 5 Farm Rietfontein Off the R62 6655 Western Cape 021 201 8900 14:00-17:00 10:00 -33.585841666667 21.004444444444
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!