The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Rio Vista Lodge | TravelGround
+32

Rio Vista Lodge

Lodge

Review Summary

4.6 out of 5from 42 reviews for Rio Vista Lodge
Cleanliness
4.7/5
Service
4.6/5
Location
4.8/5
Safety
4.7/5
Value for money
4.4/5
Herman B - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Herman B
With spouse/partner

Recommended.

Tranquillity itself.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Aan te beveel.

Die rustigheid vanself.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Leon S - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Leon S
Family with young children

Great value for money and excellent place to get the vibes going before entering Kruger National Park.

Rio Vista Lodge was great to stay at for a overnight rest after a long trip. It has a lovely view from the deck for sundowners and dinner. Nice clean room to accommodate a family of four. The food at dinner and breakfast where both outstanding. We will definitely return again.

Martin S - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Martin S
With spouse/partner

Almal baie vriendelik en behulpsaam.

Eienaars baie betrokke en vriendelik.

Rio Vista Lodge's response

Good day,
Thank you for your review, we at Rio Vista Lodge appreciate the feedback. We hope to see you in the near future.
Regards,
Rio Vista Team

Rio Vista Lodge
Joris D - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Joris D
With spouse/partner

Excellent reception - first impression of South Africa on its best.

See stars.

Jan S - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Jan S
Family with teenagers

Had a very nice stay.

Nice and close to the Malelane gate.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie lekker gebly.

Lekker naby aan Malelane Hek.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Jurie G - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Jurie G
With spouse/partner

Puik!

Puik diens - van die eerste kontak tot ons uit is. Die ligging is baie mooi. Die kamer pragtig, gemaklik en smaakvol gedekor. Kritiek: Die spyskaart vir aandete is pricy en nie waarde vir geld nie. Ontbyt was lekker, maar ek sou graag 'n keuse wou hê tussen ommelet, gebakte eiers en roereiers, maar ongelukig kon ek eiers enige manier kry solank dit roereiers was en dan het dit in een groot bak gele waar almal uit skep. Sal ek weer daar tuisgaan? Vir seker.

Nina J - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Nina J
Family with young children

Aangename plek met restaurant op perseel.

Heerlike wegbreek met pragtige uitsig oor die Krokodilrivier. Rustige omgewing. Daar is ook 'n spa op perseel as jy lus is vir pamperlang.

Rio Vista Lodge's response

Good day,

Thank you for your review. Your feedback is highly appreciated.

Regards,
Rio Vista team

Rio Vista Lodge
Doreen P - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Doreen P
With spouse/partner

Great value for money, with great service by the staff

We loved our stay at Rio Vista and especially the breakfast package we received as we left early for the Malelane Kruger Gate the next morning. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the we loved our dinner at The Deck restaurant.

Penelope G - Sep 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
2/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Penelope G
Family with teenagers

Convenient location but poor service.

Rio Vista was conveniently located 15 min away from Malelane gate, however, the service of the hotel was not very professional. First, the receptionist who booked us for a safari with a third party company decided we are international guests. So we got a crazily expensive rate (double the SA rate), despite the fact that we told him we are SA residents. We got the impression that he was trying to rip us off. Secondly, on Sundays the restaurant of the hotel closes at 14:00, so no dinner can be served to the guests. This is acceptable but it was a long weekend and the hotel was full so they chose to lose all their customers. This is still acceptable but shouldn't they inform us during breakfast and suggest to book us somewhere else? Instead we had only fast food options when we got back as everything was already booked before.

Carolien A - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Carolien A
Family with teenagers

Heerlik geslaap.

Netjiese verblyf met n fantastiese matras! Ontbyt-area baie mooi met 'n pragtige uitsig. Ontbyt kan beslis verbeter vir 'n 4 ster.

Frances C - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Frances C
With spouse/partner

We enjoyed our overnight stay and really loved the breakfast which was very good on the deck with the river view!

We did enjoy our overnight stay - breakfast on the deck was delicious and the view excellent!

Maritza N - Mar 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Maritza N
Family with young children

The location is just fantastic. To eat breakfast outside on the deck and watch the animals is just the start of your game park experience!

See the stars.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Die ligging is absoluut fantasties. Om buite op die dek ontbyt te eet en vir die diere te kyk is die begin van jou Wildtuinervaring!

Sien sterre.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Hendriena P - Feb 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hendriena P
Individual traveler

Convenient and clean.

The rooms are beautiful and neat and convenient because there is a restaurant for dinners. Next to the Crocodile River so you sometimes see animals and also close to the Kruger Parks' entrance.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Gerieflik en skoon.

Die kamers is mooi en netjies en dis gerieflik dat daar 'n restaurant is vir aandetes. Langs die Krokodilrivier dus sien mens soms diere, en ook naby aan die Wildtuin se hek.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Tersia P - Nov 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tersia P
With spouse/partner

Unsurpassable!

Thank you very much! We can really recommend Rio Vista. We received a friendly welcome and they even helped us to carry in our luggage. The room and the shower were lovely, clean and neat. A beautiful view of the swimming pool. Enjoyed a delicious dinner and breakfast. Thank you Rio Vista! You are top notch!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Onverbeterlik!

Baie dankie. Ons kan Rio Vista met die grootste vrymoedigheid aanbeveel. Ons was so gasvry ontvang. Gehelp met die bagasie aflaai. Die kamer was lieflik, skoon en netjies so ook die stort. 'n Mooi uitsig op die swembad. Heerlike aandete geniet en so ook die volgende oggend se ontbyt. Baie dankie Rio Vista! Julle is puik!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Louis N - Sep 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Louis N
With spouse/partner

Pleasant and we had a good night's sleep/

Was pleasantly surprised. Easy access to the Kruger Park. Nice atmosphere with friendly and helpful staff. Food at the Deck restaurant was tasty. Rio Vista Lodge will definitely be seeing us again!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Aangenaam en lekker geslaap.

Was aangenaam verras. Maklike toegang tot Krugerwildtuin. Lekker atmosfeer met vriendelike en behulpsame personeel. Kos by die Deck Restaurant was smaaklik voorberei. Rio Vista Lodge sien ons beslis weer!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Liesl V - Aug 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Liesl V
Family with young children

Fantastic!

It is beautiful and peaceful. It does wonders for body and soul. The service is wonderful and everyone was friendly and helpful.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fantasties!

Dit is beeldskoon en rustig. Doen mens se liggaam en siel goed, die diens is wonderlik en almal vriendelik en behulpsaam.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Sonette T - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sonette T
Family with teenagers

Diens puik. Uitsig so mooi en ontbyt baie lekker.

Pragtige plek. Baie vriendelik ontvang. Personeel doen moeite.

Rio Vista Lodge's response

Thank you for such kind feedback. I, as owner, am proud to know that my staff is looking after my guests. Looking forward to your return.
Kind Regards,
Anita (Owner)

Rio Vista Lodge
Susan J - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Susan J
With spouse/partner

Wonderful with delicious food!

It was great! Will definitely go back.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Wonderlik en kos was heerlik, veral die oxtail.

Baie, baie lekker sal beslis weer gaan.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Rio Vista Lodge's response

Good day,
Thank you so much for your review. I am so happy you enjoyed the oxtail, it is my granny's recipe and I think she would be so happy to know that her tradition is being enjoyed by other people. We do hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Anita Brodell, (owner)

Rio Vista Lodge
Lydia H - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lydia H
Family with young children

Excellent, neat accommodation next to Kruger National Park.

Beautiful, neat place to stay. Friendly staff and delicious breakfast.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Puik, netjiese verblyf teenaan Krugerwildtuin.

Pragtige netjiese plek om te bly. Personeel is baie vriendelik en ontbyt is heerlik.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Rio Vista Lodge's response

Thank you for such kind feed back. I, as owner, am proud to know that my staff is looking after my guests. Looking forward to your return.
Kind Regards,
Anita (Owner)

Rio Vista Lodge
L R - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
L R

The place has potential.

The view of the lawn is very pretty. The unit is cleverly laid out and nice and bright. The linen and towels were fresh but the pillows very hard. Clean, except for a dirty mark on the rug in front of one of the couches. The self-catering part is not really worth 4 stars. There are no plugs in the bathroom, no oven, no wine glasses and no keys to the sliding door. Dinner was tasty and beautifully presented. The waiter was excellent. The people are friendly and helpful. Breakfast: The warm breakfast was acceptable, except for the eggs which were too salty and was served that way. There was also polony (surely a no-no) and brown pineapple slices for the cold part of breakfast. We decided not to have breakfast on the second morning for this reason. These are things that can easily be bettered.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Die plek het potensiaal.

Die uitsig van die grasperk mooi. Die eenheid is slim uitgelê en lekker lig. Die linne en handdoeke vars, die kussings is baie hard. Skoon, behalwe 'n vuilmerk op die mat voor een van die banke met ander woorde. Die 4-ster is nie rêrig van pas vir die selfsorg deel nie. Daar is geen proppe in die een badkamer nie, oond nie, wynglase en sleutels van die skuifdeure nie. Die aandete was smaaklik en mooi bedien. Die kelner was puik. Mense daar is vriendelik en behulpsaam. Ontbyt: Die warm ontbyt was aanvaarbaar, behalwe die eiers was te sout en was so voorgesit. Daar was polonie ('n "no-no", sekerlik) en bruin pynappelskywe vir die koue deel van die ontbyt voorgesit. Ons het besluit ons sal nie die ontbyt ons tweede oggend bywoon nie om die rede. Goed wat maklik kan verbeter word.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Rio Vista Lodge's response

Baie dankie vir julle terugvoering, ons sal definitief jul punte in gedagte hou en veranderinge maak.

Groete
Bestuur

Rio Vista Lodge
Deirdre S - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Deirdre S
Family with young children

Tranquility in the bush.

We warmly welcomed after a long day on the road. Neat room. The lodge is on the river and we saw elephant, antelope, buffalo, etc. Dinner was excellent, really delicious. We enjoyed our stay, thanks.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Rustigheid in die bos.

Lekker om na lang dag in motor, 'n welkome vriendelike ontvangs te kry. Kamer was netjies. Hoogtepunte vir ons was, die lodge is teen aan die rivier (olifante, bokke, buffels ens, gesien). Aandete was tops, regtig smaaklik voorberei. Ons het ons verblyf geniet, dankie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Rio Vista Lodge's response

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope you visit again
Kind regards
Rio vista team

Rio Vista Lodge
Jenine D - Nov 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jenine D
With spouse/partner

Gesellig, rustig, waarde vir geld!

Ons is aangenaam verras met dié gesellige plekkie. Sal definitief weer daar gaan bly en beveel dit aan vir enige iemand wat hou van rustigheid en natuurlewe! Beste akkommodasie in Malelane.

Carin V - Nov 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Carin V

Die kamers is gerieflik, kan Rio Vista aanbeveel!

Privaatheid was ietwat van 'n probleem, ons moes die gordyne toehou siende dat die kamer op die swembad uitgeloop het. Aandete by die restaurant was smaaklik!

Flip W - Oct 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Flip W
With spouse/partner

Aangename en vriendelike bestuur.

Ons sou graag hangplek in die badkamer en 'n bagasierak wou gehad het. Die uitsig is wonderlik en gasvryheid is uitstekend. Rustige omgewing. Sal dit aanbeveel.

Dolf R - Oct 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Dolf R
With spouse/partner

Baie gerieflik en fantastiese ligging op rivieroewer!

Baie netjiese huisvesting en die restaurant het baie lekker kos.

Estelle A - Oct 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Estelle A
With spouse/partner

Een nag oorgeslaap op pad na Kruger Wildtuin.

Die kamer was baie netjies en mooi versorg. Die aandete by die restaurant was heerlik met 'n wonderlike besoek van 'n paar olifante reg voor ons. Dit was beslis 'n hoogtepunt. Baie dankie vir aangename verblyf en gasvryheid.

Andre S - Sep 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Andre S
With spouse/partner

Heel aangenaam!

Dit was redelik, maar die ontbyt en aandete was nie uitstaande nie.

Annelie L - Aug 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Annelie L
With friends

"Wow" en rustig!

Baie skoon kamers. Rustige omgewing. Ek is mal oor die rivier en uitsig op die Wildtuin.

Sarah V - Jul 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sarah V
With spouse/partner

Ons het dit baie geniet en die kos en slaapplek was uitstekend!

Die uitsig is fantasties! Om rustig in die restaurant te sit met 'n glasie koue witwyn terwyl die son ondergaan, die olifante kom swem, en die seekoeie rustig wei, is net so lekker!

Jacques P - Jun 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Jacques P
With spouse/partner

Goeie verblyf vir kort tydperk.

Goeie waarde vir geld en vriendelike span. Lekker naby aktiwiteite ... net jammer vir die kragopwekker wat die hele aand loop; dit verniel nogals die bosatmosfeer.

Christea D - Jun 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Christea D
With spouse/partner

Uitstekende verblyf en ons het heerlik geëet op die houtdek.

Baie mooi en netjiese verblyf ... sal verseker weer daar besoek aflê!

Hannelien H - May 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Hannelien H
With spouse/partner

Asemrowende uitsig!

Baie goed geleë, heerlike kos, baie wild by die rivier!

Shaun V - May 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Shaun V
With friends

Amazing

Friendly Staff, great services, awesome location and an overall stunning experience.

Su-mari R - Apr 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Su-mari R
With spouse/partner

Ek en my eggenoot het 'n onvergeetlike lekker naweek in die natuur gehad!

Rio Vista was presies wat ons nodig gehad het - in die hartjie van die natuur, wat uitkyk oor die Krokodilrivier. Rustige omgewing, vriendelike personeel en netjiese kamers. Ons sien uit daarna om weer te kan gaan!

Bulelwa N - Mar 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Bulelwa N
With spouse/partner

I really loved the lodge and friendly staff

We really enjoyed our stay, the room are spacious, air-conditioned which really helped a lot because Mpumalanga is very hot. I loved the restaurant lappa, as it had a nice view, and was very cool. Just a suggestion on breakfast, a variety will be nice as we were served bacon & eggs on Saturday & Sunday. All in all, nice, quiet, and very friendly staff.

Naomi S - Jan 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Naomi S
With spouse/partner

Verblyf was luuks, 'n groot bederf en absoluut gerieflik en mooi!

Ons beveel Rio Vista Lodge aan vir 'n vakansie. Daar is so baie om te doen. Die omgewing is onbeskryflik mooi en die voorreg om wild vanaf die patio dop te hou, is so spesiaal! Heerlike etes en 'n lekker swembad om in af te koel. Die wildsritte is awesome!

Willie T - Dec 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Willie T
With spouse/partner

Dit was aangenaam en rustig.

Die plek was skoon en die personeel het uit hul pad gegaan om ons tuis te laat voel. Ongelukkig het die TV nie al die gunsteling-programme gehad nie.

Thea V - Nov 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Thea V
With spouse/partner

Waauw!

Dis beslis die moeite werd om te probeer.

Fran V - Oct 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Fran V
With spouse/partner

Baie lekker gebly in skoon, netjiese kamers!

Baie lekker! Baie wild gesien langs die rivier.

Annerie G - Sep 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Annerie G
With spouse/partner

Wat 'n lekkerte om alles van die wildtuin te hoor en sien, sonder om in jou motor te klim!

Dit was baie lekker en ons het interessante gaste ontmoet. Die wild is ook vet en gesond!

Claire A - Sep 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Claire A
With friends

A real oasis. As I woke up saw a hippo, buck and two crocodiles from the deck.

The only criticism is that the breakfast buffet was very basic with only a choice of one yoghurt, one cereal and one jam for toast. No other bread, and very little fruit. However, the fried meal offered was good. We loved the place and will definitely be back!

Jurgens R - Jan 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jurgens R
With spouse/partner

Will visit Rio Vista Lodge more offen

The best customer service we've had in a long time!

From R1 612
per night (for 2 people)
From R1 612
per night (for 2 people)
From R1 612
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 54 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: Monte Vista Estate, 1062 Lebombo Drive, Malelane, 1320, Mpumalanga
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJGU5OTQxOGE4LTY0MWEtNDk4Yi05YmU1LWIwNmQ5NWY5ZTZjZg?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R1 612  per night (for 2 people) 42 5 1 5 Monte Vista Estate 1062 Lebombo Drive 1320 Mpumalanga 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -25.487231897202 31.50266289711
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!