Gariep Dam Accommodation at Rose Cottage | TravelGround
+90

Rose Cottage

118 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.1 out of 5from 118 reviews for Rose Cottage
Cleanliness
4.4/5
Service
4.3/5
Location
3.8/5
Safety
4.1/5
Value for money
3.9/5
C.j. T - Apr 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
C.j. T
With spouse/partner

Pragtig, skoon rustig.

Baie skoon, netjies, kan aanbeveel word.

Lameeze J - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Lameeze J
With spouse/partner

Overnight stay while traveling from CT to JHB.

Lovely large unit with very comfortable beds and all the necessary amenities for a comfortable overnight stay. The cottage is however not close to the dam so the advertising is slightly misleading.

Johann S - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Johann S
With friends

Ideal for sleeping over.

The accommodation is not new, but adequate.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ideaal vir oorslaap.

Die verblyf is nie nuut nie, maar voldoende.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Rose Cottage's response

Dankie Johann.
Ons sien uit na julle volgende kuiertjie.
Groete
Robin

Rose Cottage
Linda V - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Linda V
With spouse/partner

Was redelik. TV-beeld nie meer so goed nie. Lugversorging ook nie goed gewerk nie. Stort lek baie water by deur uit.

Kamers nie klankdig nie. Hoor heeltyd gaste langsaan.

Rose Cottage's response

Hi Linda,
Dankie vir die 'heads-up' in verband met sekere problempies by die eenheid waar julle gebly het.
Ek sal nog van dag dit regstel.
Groete,
Robin (Einaar)

Rose Cottage
Louw E - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Louw E
With spouse/partner

Well rested when we left there. My wife was impressed with the neat clean place she found there. Will always be my overnight place.

It will be my half stop in the future.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Uitgerus toe ons weer daar vertrek. My vrou was beïndruk met die netjiese skoon plek wat sy daar gekry het. Sal altyd my oornagplek wees.

Dit sal in die toekoms my halfstop wees.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Rose Cottage's response

Dankie Louw
Ons sien uit om julle weer by ons te bly
Groete
Robin(Einaar)

Rose Cottage
Hannelie D - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hannelie D
Individual traveler

Warm ontvangs, lieflike ligging, rustige omgewing.

Het 'n lieflike nagrus gehad in 'n rustige, goed beplande huisie.

Rose Cottage's response

Dankie S
Ek waardeer die mooi woorde.
Groete
Robin

Rose Cottage
Peter D - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Peter D
With spouse/partner

We stayed overnight from Cape Town to Jo'burg.

For what you get it is exorbitantly overpriced. At this rate I can not recommend Rose Cottage to my friends. Vehicle security at risk with an open gate and naughty juveniles in and out of property during the early evening.

Ronald K - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Ronald K
With spouse/partner

Very neat and tidy and able to enjoy our dinner outside.

Just a pity that the air conditioning unit made such a noise during the night despite not have it on. Why this was the case I do not know.

Rose Cottage's response

Ronald,
That's very strange, will check it out
Thanks for letting me know,
Robin (Owner)

Rose Cottage
Marina L - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Marina L
With friends

Nie geskik vir 4 volwassenes nie.

Ons het gevind dat vier volwassenes nie bymekaar kon verbykom nie. Het 'n kamer versoek met enkelbeddens vir volwassenes wat nie familie is nie. Beddens so styf teen mekaar dat een op bank in sithoekie gaan slaap het. Nietemin baie netjies, skoon en vriendelike ontvangs.

Louise S - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Louise S
Family with teenagers

Veilig en netjies.

Was beïndruk met spasie, netheid en die vriendelike ontvangs van Johan en sy vrou. Sien julle beslis weer. Heerlik geslaap.

Magda S - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Magda S
Individual traveler

Accommodation was really comfortable and very neat. Can definitely use it.

See stars.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Verblyf was regtig gemaklik en baie netjies. Kan gerus gebruik maak daarvan.

Sien sterre.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Rose Cottage's response

Dankie Magda.
Groete
Robin

Rose Cottage
Alan S - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Alan S
With spouse/partner

Perfect overnight accommodation.

Clean and comfortable, up-to-date accommodation after a warm and friendly reception by Johan, and at a very good rate. The cottage lacked for nothing and we will most definitely stay there again.

Carmen B - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Carmen B
With friends

Lovely cottage nestled in Gariep Dam village.

The proprietor met us at the local petrol station to show us the way to the cottage which was very kind and much appreciated as we arrived after dark and would never have found the place on our own. The cottage was clean and well equipped. The beds were extremely comfortable. The premises uses solar geysers so be warned you may end up with a very cold shower if the weather has been cloudy or if you have inconsiderate neighbour guests who use up all the hot water before you get a chance to shower.

Gert D - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Gert D

Gerieflike blyplek om te oornag, rustig en veilige omgewing.

Nog nooit lank hier vertoef nie, dien slegs as oornagplek.

Else U - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Else U
With spouse/partner

Comfortable overnight stay on my way to the Cape.

Comfortable stay, good midpoint to break, all amenities needed for self catering provided. Not sufficient space for a longer stay.

Jannes F - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Jannes F
With spouse/partner

Disappointing.

No warm water in the morning.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Teleurstellend.

Geen warm water in oggend nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Rose Cottage's response

Ja Jannes,
So is dit maar met solar geysers in die winter. Voor ek solar geysers in al my eenhede ingesit het, was ons Eskom krag rekening so hoog dat ek 'n besluit moes maak. Sluit al my gastehuise oor skakel oor na solar. Mens moet maar verstaan, in die winter het jy 'n keuse on of in die aand, of in die oggend warm water te hê.
Jammer vir die ongerief, maar dit gaan maar so bly so lank as ek die gastehuise besit.
Hoop ons sien jou weer.
Groete
Robin (einaar)

Rose Cottage
Michelle D - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Michelle D

Value for money overnight stop for a large group.

We were a group of 5 adults and 2 children (one being under 2 years old). Johan and his wife were great hosts and we were warmly received. The first cottage we stayed in could sleep the lot of us, but there are two sleeper couches in the lounge, one being very uncomfortable as the mattress is quite thin. Also, the sleeper couches do not have electric blankets and as the area is large and open plan the small heater that was there made no difference to the temperature. It was very cold in the lounge. On our second stay we were split into two cottages which was great and our stay was wonderfully comfortable. Note that the geysers are solar so if too much hot water is used at night, there is no hot water the next morning.

Rose Cottage's response

Thanks for your positive review Michelle. Much appreciated.
Regards,
Robin (owner)

Rose Cottage
Morne S - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Morne S
Family with teenagers

Neat, clean and meets the needs for a stopover.

I can recommend the place for the traveller who only needs a place to stay.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Netjies, skoon en voorsien aan die behoeftes vir 'n oornagplek.

Ek kan die plekkie aanbeveel vir die reisiger wat net 'n oorslaapplek benodig.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Susan V - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Susan V

Ontvangs was hartlik. Bed was gemaklik.

Het uitgerus gevoel, dankie.

Monique W - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
2/5
Location
2/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Monique W
With friends

Clean and well equipped.

The room we were received was not what we booked as it did not have two single beds as requested. The unit was however well-equipped and and clean. The area did not look great, but the owner assured us it was safe and we didn't have any problems.

Dirk O - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Dirk O
With spouse/partner

Very neat and safe.

We slept well and were well received. Will definitely recommend for overnight.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie netjies en veilig.

Ons het baie lekker geslaap en was goed ontvang. Sal beslis aanbeveel vir oornag.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Rose Cottage's response

Dankie Dirk, ons waardeer die terugvoer.

Rose Cottage
Lynette B - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Lynette B
With friends

A lovely place to break up the journey to Cape Town.

See stars.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

'n Heerlike plek om a reis Kaap toe te breek.

Sien sterre.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Rose Cottage's response

Dankie Lynette, ons waardeer die terugvoer.

Groete,
Robin

Rose Cottage
Johan T - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johan T
With spouse/partner

Ideal for a sleep over with everything required for a comfortable stay.

We were welcomed by Johan who went out of his way to even meet us at a nearby petrol station and escorted us to the guesthouse. We were then introduced to a very nice and clean unit, comfortable for two guests. Also approximately a 5 minute drive to the dam wall which was also a wonderful experience. Will definitively be considered on a next trip again.

Rose Cottage's response

Thanks Johan,
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and yes, Johan Lerm, the manager, certainly does go the extra mile for our guests.
I am truly privileged to have someone like him and his wife attending to our guests.
Hope to see you soon again
Regards,
Robin (Owner)

Rose Cottage
Aletta O - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Aletta O
With spouse/partner

Ons was aangenaam verras met die lieflike huis - netjies met letterlik alles wat 'n mens nodig het. Die binnebraai was 'n bonus!

Puik - vriendelike verwelkoming - langs die pad ontmoet! Baie goed toegeruste, netjiese huis. Ons het heerlik gebly.

Rose Cottage's response

Dankie, Aletta.
Groete,
Robin

Rose Cottage
Micheline B - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Micheline B
With friends

Beautifully clean and neat with a warm and friendly welcome by Johan.

We were very satisfied with the accommodation. It was clean, spacious and neat and we had secure parking for all our vehicles. Rose Cottage is situated close to restaurants and shops and although there is no view of the dam, the neighbourhood is peaceful and quiet and it's a short drive to see the dam and its surrounds. Due to the solar geyser, you have to let the shower water run for quite some time, but when it heats up you are sure to have a steaming hot bath or shower. Thank you, we had a lovely stay!

Lizette K - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
1/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
1/5
Lizette K
Family with young children

Die plek lyk nie soos op die foto's nie.

Die bad het nie 'n prop gehad nie en die storie binne die bad was hopeloos te groot. Die water het die hele badkamer vol geloop. Die foto's is ook out dated. Die plek lyk nie soos op die foto's nie.

Rose Cottage's response

Hi Lizette,

Thanks for your constructive review.
I have with urgency sent my maintenance team to resolve these issues and they have restored it to its correct function ability
Hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Robin van den berg (owner)

Rose Cottage
Richard H - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Richard H
Individual traveler

Lieflike rusplek.

Goeie plekkie om te ontspan en batterye te herlaai. Netjies en rustig.

Carol E - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Carol E
Family with young children

Awesome service & beautiful place.

Johan is a very friendly & efficient man. We loved our cottage. Beautiful place.

Trynko M - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Trynko M
Family with young children

Akkommoderend!

Baie tevrede met die diens. Ons was gratis na 'n beter kamer opgegradeer toe die eienaars sien ons het klein kinders en daar word gebou en gebreek naby die eenheid wat ons sou gebruik het.

Budgie B - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Budgie B
With spouse/partner

A lovely place to stay.

A very pleasant stay indeed. Hosts were very nice and friendly. Upgraded us or free.

Izak Petrus O - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
2/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Izak Petrus O
With spouse/partner

Bevredigend.

Ons was vriendelik ontvang en kon 'n goeie nagrus geniet.

Sonja B - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sonja B
With spouse/partner

The accommodation was perfect.

Beautiful place, clean, comfortable and quiet. Everything you need at your disposal.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ons verblyf was perfek.

Pragtige plekkie, skoon gemaklik en rustige. Als wat mens nodig het tot jou beskikking.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Rose Cottage's response

Baie dankie Sonja, ons waardeer die terugvoer.

Groete,
Robin en Johan

Rose Cottage
Karin V - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Karin V
Family with teenagers

Uiters netjies en goed teogerus.

Eenheid was uiters netjies en werklik baie goed toegerus. Daar is meer as voldoende eetgerei met toerusting om enige maaltyd mee te maak. Dis baie gerieflik met 'n braaier, klein lapa en swembad alles bymekaar.

Cecil F - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Cecil F
With spouse/partner

Heerlik.

Was 'n lekker aand. Johan en sy vrou is baie behulpsaam en altyd beskikbaar. Het ongelukkig my 2 verekussings van die Hexrivier daar vergeet.

Charles C - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Charles C
With spouse/partner

It was comfortable and clean. People very friendly.

I enjoyed my stay. The chalet is comfortable and clean with everything we needed. The aircon was much appreciated. Water was nice and hot. We will recommend Rose Cottage to our friends.

Rose Cottage's response

Thank you, Charles, hope to see you soon again, safe travels

Regards
Robin and Johan

Rose Cottage
Odelia V - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
1/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
1/5
Odelia V
With spouse/partner

Te duur.

Netjies, maar klein. Woord "cottages" is verwarrend. Daar is geen cottage. Dit is 'n ou huis wat in 3 eenhede verdeel is. Geen muur tussen eenhede, net 'n houtkas. Kon als hoor wat bure doen. Prys net vir bed, is te veel gevra. Is ook vêr van die dam geleë.

Rose Cottage's response

Hi Odelia,
You were in our Rooibekkie unit in the Rose Cottage complex. The name Rose Cottage was carried over from a small house that I bought in 1994 and later sold.
We planted 18 long stem ice white roses when I moved from the old house to this new premises and these roses were stunning and reflected somewhat validation to the name.
However, with the extreme drought and water restrictions in 2017/18 and the current heat wave, these roses have mostly died and have left me in a rather embarrassing position in terms of the name of the complex.
I don't really want to change the name so I will need to re-visit the planting of more roses and hopefully restore the complex to its former beauty.
This is the worst drought and heat wave that I have ever seen and it is taking its toll on all the gardens in the Gariep Dam Village.
Hope it rains soon.
I will investigate and see if I can do something about making the Rooibekkie unit more sound proof.
Hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Robin

Rose Cottage
Joey B - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Joey B
Family with young children

Fotos op webblad misleidend.

Dit is 'n netjiese plekkie, maar nie vier ster waardering werd nie. Nie veilig volgens die eienaar nie, geen motorveiligheid en motor moes volledig afgelaai word vir 'n oornag. Te hoog geprys.

Rose Cottage's response

Hi Joey
The photos on TravelGround and LekkeSlaap have been checked, re-checked and checked again and again and they bear a true reflection of the unit you have booked. I therefore cannot see why they would be misleading. You need to be more specific, tell me what photo you feel is misleading and I would then be able to give you an answer.
I am the owner and I can't recall speaking to you in terms of the security of the unit. We are not JHB and don't have high fences and all the security of larger cities, such are the homes and guest houses in the "platteland"
I am pleased you found the unit to be neat.
You are always welcome back.
Regards,
Robin van den Berg
Owner

Rose Cottage
Karin K - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Karin K
Individual traveler

Alles wat ek nodig gehad het.

Vriendelike ontvangs, baie dankie.

K H - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
3/5
K H
Family with teenagers

Disappointed.

Not what was advertised. No DStv. Misleading photos on website.

Rose Cottage's response

Good day K

When I get a review like yours, I like to investigate and report back to you.
We have been very careful about photos that we display of our units and constantly monitor and update them. One of my staff members, Karen, will contact you personally and ask you where you found this misleading photo's

We have just replaced all our DStv EasyView decoders across all our guest houses, with the HD OpenView decoders. We find they have better movie channels as well as better news and sports channels and they are forever being upgraded and new channels added.

We will have a peek on our website listing and ensure that this is rectified.
We will revert back to you shortly.
Kind regards,
Robin van den berg

Rose Cottage
Chris B - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Chris B
With spouse/partner

Lekker, rustige platteland.

Vriendelike ontvangs. Rooibekkie bied alles wat jy nodig het.

Hennie  - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Hennie
With spouse/partner

A bit uneasy about the neighbours.

We could hear the neighbours the whole time. Isolation between rooms are not sufficient.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Bietjie onrustig oor die bure.

Die bure was die hele tyd hoorbaar. Isolasie tussen die twee vertrekke nie voldoende nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Rose Cottage's response

Dear Hennie,

Excuse my reply in English. I will have a peek at this problem and see if I can resolve it. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience.

Kind regards,
Robin van den Berg (Owner)

Rose Cottage
Tharina B - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tharina B
Family with young children

Gemaklik.

Heerlik oorgeslaap by Rose Cottage saam met 5 kinders van 8 jaar en jonger! Skoon swembad, spasie vir die kinders, toegeruste kombuis en braai-area en geleë naby aan die supermark. Ons ontvangs was warm en ons gasheer en gasvrou was vriendelik en behulpsaam.

Rose Cottage's response

Dankie Thanna, ek is bly dat julle dit geniet het.
Ek sal vir Johan laat weet
Groete Robin (Einaar)

Rose Cottage
Piet L - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Piet L
With spouse/partner

Everything is very clean. Parking is a problem.

Everything is beautiful. Good reception. Parking just a problem if all of the units are booked. Will stay there again. Value for money.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Alles baie mooi skoon. Parkering is 'n probleem.

Alles baie mooi skoon. Goeie verwelkoming. Parkering net 'n probleem as al die eenhede bespreek is. Sal weer daar gaan oorslaap. Waarde vir geld.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Magda P - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Magda P
With friends

Very convenient.

Thanks a lot. We had a great stay.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie gerieflik.

Baie dankie, ons het baie lekker gebly.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Rose Cottage's response

Baie dankie Magda, kom gerus weer.
Groete,
Robin & Johan

Rose Cottage
Fazel A - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Fazel A
With friends

It was very pleasant.

We were still on our way when they contacted us and asked where we were. They picked us up at the garage. The best service ever, and not even to mention the attitude. Thank you for the privilege of staying overnight at Rose Cottage.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was baie aangenaam.

Ons was nog op pad toe hul ons skakel en vra waar ons was. Hulle het ons by die garage kom haal. Die beste diens ooit, en nie eers te praat oor die gesindheid nie. Baie dankie vir die voorreg om by Rose Cottage te kon oornag.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Rose Cottage's response

Dankie Fazel.
Groete,
Johan en Robin

Rose Cottage
Christa L - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Christa L
With spouse/partner

Baie aangenaam, veilig en alles wat nodig was daar en is bekostigbaar.

Sien sterre.

Hein B - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Hein B
With spouse/partner

Gerieflik.

Dit is 'n skoon, gerieflike akkommodasie met alles wat jy nodig het vir 'n stopover.

Sanette V - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sanette V
Family with young children

Heerlik!

Rose Cottage is 'n baie skoon en netjiese plek. Die parkering is ook veilig en dit was baie stil en rustig gewees. Wat ons opgeval het is dat die beddegoed pragtig skoon is en heerlik geruik het! Ons sal beslis weer van julle gebruik maak in die toekoms.

Nico W - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
2/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
4/5
Nico W
With spouse/partner

Meer verwag.

Op die oog af netjies! Badkamermatjies vuil. Bietjie onveilig gevoel!

Rose Cottage's response

Hi Nico,
Thank you for the tip about the bathroom mats, I have instructed immediate replacement.
We hope to see you soon.
Robin - Owner

Rose Cottage
Petro R - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
1/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Petro R
With spouse/partner

Gerieflik vir een aand se oorslaap.

Was vriendelik ontvang. Rose Cottage, Rooibekkie was net wat nodig is vir oorslaap. Gariep se inwoners kom baie gasvry voor.

San-marie B - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
San-marie B
With friends

Vriendelike ontvangs en netjies.

Ontvangs was vriendelik, netjiese eenheid en rustig.

Gerald M - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gerald M
Family with young children

Good overnight stay alfway between Cape Town. Clean, comfortable.

Clean, safe area, relaxing overnight, loads of space for small kids to play. Comfortable accommodation with everything you need. Friendly owners showing everything in the house before you go in.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Goeie oornag halfpadstop van Kaap. Skoon, gerieflik.

Skoon, veilige omgewing, rustige oornag, baie spasie vir klein kinders om in te speel. Gemaklike verblyf met alles wat jy nodig sal hê. Vriendelike eienaars wat alles in die huis uitwys voor jy ingaan.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Lerina L - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lerina L
Family with young children

Rustig.

Dit was rustig en gerieflik.

Marlin V - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Marlin V
Individual traveler

Vereiste voldoen.

Baie behupsaam. Baie betrokkenheid vanaf diensverskaffers. Ek is deurlopend op hoogte gehou en het inligting ontvang van hoe om vanaf N1 my verblyf gerieflik en gemaklik te laat plaasvind. Volledige begeleiding en instruksies is op 'n logiese en verstaanbare wyse oorgedra en 'n netjiese, skoon eenheid het my ingewag. Na 'n rustige nag kon ek my reis die volgende oggend voortsit.

Rose Cottage's response

Dankie Marlin
Johan en Robin

Rose Cottage
Samah C - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Samah C
Family with teenagers

An awesome place to be in Gariep Dam, super clean and cozy place, great location ans amazing host.

See stars.

Liteboho M - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Liteboho M
With friends

Planning to bring my family with children before year end.

I find the place so attractive, clean and quite.

Lelani K - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Lelani K
Family with young children

Gerieflik en 'n lekker oorslaap-plekkie.

Baie gerieflik en gemaklik. Plekkie was mooi skoon en tuin is baie aanloklik. Dalk net bietjie aandag gee aan die badkamerarea. Verder geen foute gevind.

Tom P - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tom P
With spouse/partner

Neatness of the unit is impressive.

This was our 3rd visit to Rose Cottage and yet again we were impressed by the neatness. 5 stars. Not ideal on the outside for relaxation, nice pool though. So 2 stars for outside.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Die netheid van die eenheid binne het baie beïndruk.

Ons 3de besoek aan Rose Cottage en weereens beïndruk met die netheid binne die eenheid. 5 sterre. Buite om nie so aanvaarbaar om te ontspan nie, behalwe vir die swembad. So 2 sterre vir buite.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Marlene L - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Marlene L
With spouse/partner

Baie rustig en gerieflik!

Baie dankie vir die vriendelike ontvangs en vir die moeite wat Johan gedoen het om ons by die naaste winkelkompleks te kom haal. Ons het in Rooibekkie tuisgegaan en was beïndruk met die netheid en gerief van die kothuis, dit beskik oor meer as wat jy regtig benodig. Het ook die rustigheid geniet. Sal beslis weer hier tuisgaan!

Johan H - Feb 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Johan H
With spouse/partner

Baie aangename ervaring.

Sal baie beslis weer van die behuising gebruik maak.

Rose Cottage's response

Dankie Johan.

Robin

Rose Cottage
Shireen A - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Shireen A
Family with teenagers

Very comfortable stay.

We stayed for night was clean and comfortable all that was needed for an overnight stay, wish we stayed stayed longer!

Rose Cottage's response

Thank you, Shireen. Perhaps next time you should stay a couple of extra days, as there are lots to see and do around the Gariep Dam.

Kind Regards,
Robin (Owner)

Rose Cottage
Woutrine F - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Woutrine F
With spouse/partner

A good one night stay on your travels.

Was good value for the money.

Madga P - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Madga P
With spouse/partner

Dit is 'n kom weer en kan dit definitief aanbeveel!

Waarde vir geld, alles was skoon en netjies. Definitief 'n kom weer!

Rose Cottage's response

Dankie Magda.
Groete
Robin

Rose Cottage
Kirchner Eiendomme K - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Kirchner Eiendomme K
Family with young children

Dit was absoluut fantasties.

Ons het daar oornag met ons deurreis en met ons terugkoms, en was baie heerlik gewees.

Rose Cottage's response

Dankie Johan, wardeer jou mooi resensie.
Groete
Robin

Rose Cottage
Liesl L - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Liesl L
With spouse/partner

Uitstekend.

Baie netjies en skoon! Johan was baie hulpvaardig! Beddens uitstekend na lang dag.

Flo S - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Flo S
With friends

Very high standard.

Just something small to keep in mind - it would be nice if you could upon the booking being confirmed that a mention be made that some of the sleeping would be on sleeper couches and not on beds.

Hans B - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
2/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
1/5
Hans B
Family with teenagers

Nie waarde vir geld nie, ek sal niemand aanbeveel om in Gariep te oornag nie, die waarde vir geld verblyf kan by omliggende dorpies gevind word.

Mens leer nie dat wat jy op internet sien (foto's) nie noodwendig die realiteit is nie! Verder, die verblyf in Rose Cottage was aangenaam omdat die plek netjies is - maar dit is al, vakansiegangers word uitgebuit omdat hulle moet vat wat hulle kry! Met ons terugkeer het ons vir dieselfde bedrag in 'n stylvolle eenheid geslaap, bed en ontbyt ingesluit - nooit weer sal ons by "Die Dam" oornag nie en dit is die boodskap wat ons sover moontlik sal versprei. Mens is altyd bereid om te betaal vir 'n sekere standaard - ons reis baie en ons weet waarvan ons praat, hierdie was 'n manier om te skep solank die feesseisoen 'oop' is, laat ander reisigers maar in die toekoms deur hulle ore betaal vir 'n bed om in te slaap, ons sal beslis nie. Ons hét 'n evalueringsvorm voltooi, maar vir goeie rede is dit seker nie ingedien nie. Kliëntetevredenheid is in kort wanneer 'n kliënt se behoefte en verwagting aangespreek word, nie net jou behoefte nie (om slaapplek te kry nie), die plek is netjies en skoon en alles het gewerk wat moes gewerk het, maar waarde vir geld was dit beslis nie! Die foto wat ook van "Rose Cottage" geplaas word, is absoluut misleidend. Al hierdie dinge kan ek sê as 'n Direkteur in Gehalteversekering met 'n doktorskwalifikasie daarin!

Rose Cottage's response

Goeiedag Hans,

Dankie vir jou terugvoering, Ek vra om verskoning indien jy nie die verblyf geniet het nie. Ons streef daarna om ons gaste se verblyf so aangenaam moontlik te maak en het daarom juis vir julle verblyf as 'n vergunning teen 'n 40% persent afslag gebied. Alle inligting en fotos vertoon reg en is onlangs opgedateer op die webblad.

Heerlike dag verder

Rose Cottage
Yvonne E - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Yvonne E
With spouse/partner

Wonderlik!

Dit was wonderlik! Geen klagtes! Baie dankie!

Eddie F - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Eddie F

Ruim, gemaklik en skoon - alles wat ons nodig gehad het.

Goeie ontvangs. Het lekker gebly. Baie plek. Alles wat ons nodig het. Sal weer daar bly. Koste-effektief.

Bertus G - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Bertus G
With spouse/partner

Die plek se warm waterstelsel is nie op standaard nie. Geen warm water met ons verblyf nie.

Waarde vir geld. Kry aanvullende stelsel vir warm water.

Rose Cottage's response

Hi Bertus, omdat ons net solar geysers het, kry ons omtrent 10 tot 14 dae in n jaar wat die water nie baie warm is nie.
Normaal is dit omdat dit omweer was.
Jammer oor die ongerif.
Maak asb kontak met ons kantoor vir n free stay voucher.

Groete,
Robin van den berg

Rose Cottage
Charl M - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Charl M
With spouse/partner

Verblyf was baie aangenaam.

Kamer was baie skoon en netjies met al die nodige geriewe vir selfsorg. Nie Gariepdam uitsig nie. Beperkte TV kanale. Kan etes geniet by Tjaila Restaurant.

Madelize K - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Madelize K
With spouse/partner

Dit is goed om daar te bly wanneer jy na Kaapstad reis.

Die verblyf is goed vir om oor te slaap en van daar af na nabygeleë plekkies te ry.

Nigel R - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nigel R
With spouse/partner

Luxurious cottage with everything!

Met by Johan and guided to the cottage at night with detailed introduction to the cottage one cannot be but impressed by the high standard of cleanliness furniture and accessories to hand. A great, too short a visit.

Rose Cottage's response

Thanks Nigel
Regards Robin (Owner)

Rose Cottage
Linda M - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Linda M
With spouse/partner

Nice stay.

Warm welcome. Very neat and safe. When there was an issue with the shower they gave us a different room without charging us extra. Everything was very neat and clean.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Lekker gebly.

Ons was gul ontvang. Plek baie netjies en veilig. Toe daar probleem met stortdeur was, was ons na 'n ander kamer verwys sonder enige ekstra koste vir ons. Alles was baie netjies en skoon.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Ria B - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Ria B
With spouse/partner

Lovely place to unwind after a long day on the road.

We enjoyed a braai and a peaceful night in a beautiful clean and tidy cottage. The reception and manager's assistance was excellent.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Heerlike afpakplekkie na 'n lang dag op die pad.

Ons het lekker gebraai en kon 'n rustige nag in 'n mooi skoon en netjiese kothuis geniet. Die ontvangs en hulp van die bestuurder was uitstekend.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Rose Cottage's response

Dankie Ria, ek waardeer dit.
Robin

Rose Cottage
Frikkie L - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Frikkie L

Ons was 4 volwassenes in Swallow en dit is heeltemal te duur vir so 'n beknopte plekkie.

Heeltemal overpriced! Die advertensie en ook 'confirmation letter' is baie misleidend. 'n Volledig toegeruste kombuis met eetkamer en sitvertrek is niks meer as 'n 3x3 m vertrekkie nie. Alles is so beknop. Die privaat buite badkamer is nie vir gaste se gebruik nie. Die splash pool is onder reperasie! En glad nie so privaat en romanties soos die prentjie dit laat klink het nie. Hierdie is niks meer as 'n baie duur oornagkamer nie. Ek sal dit beslis nie aanbeveel nie!

Rene V - Sep 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Rene V

Het 'n heerlike nagrus gehad.

Ons het slegs oornag, maar wens dit kon langer gewees het. Ons het 'n goeie nagrus gehad met heerlike beddens en beddegoed, als was skoon en was beslis waarde vir geld, sal enige een aanbeveel om daar te oornag of uit te span. Baie dankie ook aan Johan wat so vriendelik en hulpvaardig was.

Rose Cottage's response

Thanks Rene.
Ek het vir Johan jou mooi review gewys en hy se "dis n' groot plesier!"
Groete,
Robin

Rose Cottage
Naveen A - Sep 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Naveen A
Family with young children

Calm and nice stay.

A good, calm place to stay. On arrival the check-in was comfortable and we received a warm welcome. We stayed in self catering apartment and kitchen amenities were nice.The venue was comfortable, it was well maintained, safe and clean. It had covered parking and overall stay was good.

Rose Cottage's response

Thanks for the nice review Naveen.
Glad you enjoyed your stay. If you decide to stay with us again, please make contact the reservation office as we will give you a 10% discount on your next stay.
Regards
Robin

Rose Cottage
Nico V - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Nico V
With spouse/partner

Pleasant and tranquil.

No complaints. Clean. The undercover parking was just a bit small.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Aangenaam en rustig.

Geen klagtes. Plek was skoon. Parkering onder dak was net 'n bietjie knap.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Lizanne O - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lizanne O
With spouse/partner

Perfect overnight stay en route to our vacation destination.

Enjoyed the night here. Very friendly welcoming and the restaurant they recommended to us was definitely worth it. Rose Cottage will surely see us again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Perfekte oornagplek op pad na ons vakansie destinasie.

Ons het heerlik oornag hier. Baie vriendelik ontvang en die restaurant wat vir ons aanbeveel was, was definitief die moeite werd. Rose Cottage sal ons definitief weer sien.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Rose Cottage's response

Baie dankie Lizanne.

Groete,
Robin van den Berg (Eienaar)

Rose Cottage
Attie N - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Attie N
With spouse/partner

Unit comfortable, but I didn't feel it was value for money.

Upon arrival we had to wait for someone to open for us. Room full of ants. For the rate I think we could have done better, but as it was a busy weekend due to the Angus event in Bloemfontein we had to take it. At other guesthouses options for breakfast or continental breakfast are included in the rates. There was no DStv.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Eenheid is baie gerieflik, maar ek glo nie jy kry waarde vir geld nie.

Met ons aankoms moes ons wag vir iemand van buite om te kom oopsluit. Die kamer was vol miere. Vir die tarief dink ek ons kon beter kry maar omrede dit 'n baie besige naweek was a.g.v. Angus se storie in Bloemfontein moes ons dit ongelukkig maar vat. By ander gastehuise is daar opsies vir ontbyt of kontinentale ontbyte word ingesluit teen dieselfde tariewe. Daar is geen DStv beskikbaar nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Rose Cottage's response

Hi Attie,
Unfortunately it was our high season rates, when accommodation is in demand. We only offer self catering stays as there are so many restaurants, hotels and resorts that offer good inexpensive breakfasts. We have arrangements with one in particular and we could have referred you to them, if you asked.
Our winter special are half the rates.
I have been all around South Africa and have found our rates well below other established self catering guest houses.
Sorry about the ants, they are certainly a nuisance at Gariep Dam and we try our best to get them under control.
We hope to see you again.
Robin

Rose Cottage
Peter P - Mar 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Peter P
With spouse/partner

Comfortable stay.

A comfortable stay in a well equipped and clean cottage.

Rose Cottage's response

Thanks for the nice review Peter.

Rose Cottage
Gert D - Mar 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Gert D
With spouse/partner

Good service.

Very good service. Will definitely be back.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Goeie diens.

Baie goeie diens. Sal beslis weer bespreek.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Cobus B - Feb 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Cobus B
With spouse/partner

Can't give proper feedback due to my short stay.

My only problem was that the power was out the day I arrived and I couldn't use the stove for breakfast.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Was te kort daar om behoorlik terugvoering te gee.

Enigste probleem wat ons beleef het was dat krag af was op die dag van vertrek en kon sodoende nie die stoof gebruik om vir ons ontbyt te maak nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Rose Cottage's response

Ja Cobus, ons Vrystaatse dorpies het darem baie probleme met krag onderbrekings. Daar gaan dae verby wat ek wens ek het my eie krag opwerk generaters gehad. Wat kan ek sê? Dankie darem dat jy by ons gebly het. Groete Robin

Rose Cottage
Hannes D - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
2/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Hannes D
With spouse/partner

Not our best overnight stay.

The contact person at Rose Cottage was wrong and we had to look up and down in the streets to get in. Because of that the owner was quite impatient. The prefab walls are very thin and you hear everything that goes on next door. It is definitely not B&B as advertised but just self-catering. We will not stay there again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Nie ons beste oornag nie.

Die kontakpersoon by Rose Cottage was foutief en moes ons straat op en af soek om in te kom. Gevolglik was die eienaar maar bra ongeduldig. Die "prefab" mure is báie dun en jy hoor álles wat langsaan aangaan. Dit is beslis nie B&B soos geadverteer nie maar net "self-catering". Ons sal nie weer daar gaan bly nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Rose Cottage's response

Hi Hannes, jammer vir die ongerief, ons het 'n "stand-in" bestuurder vir hierdie aand gehad want Ronnie was siek in bed met griep.
Ons kan vir jou 'n "free-stay voucher" aanbied en hopenlik sien ons jou weer.
Belowe, dit sal beter gaan volgende keer.
Groete Robin (eienaar)

Rose Cottage
Mimi S - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mimi S
Family with teenagers

Clean, lovely, safe, hospitable.

We were warmly welcomed. The venue was comfortable, well maintained, safe and super clean, containing everything we needed for a self catering braai.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Skoon, heerlik, veilig en gasvry.

Ons was hartlik ontvang, die venue was gerieflik, versorg, veilig en super skoon en met alles wat ons nodig gehad het vir 'n selfsorg braai.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Gollie J - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Gollie J
Family with teenagers

What a nice surprise! Well furnished for self catering and a nice environment!

What a nice surprise in the middle of my journey! However not in view of the dam, it is a welcome overnight or even a weekend house which, in our case, catered for the family. The house was well furnished and catered for all our needs. I will definitely stay there again!

Retha L - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Retha L
Family with teenagers

Nice stop for tired travellers.

Nice and clean and spacious accommodation with a nice splash pool - bliss for the weary traveller.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Lekker stop vir moeë reisigers.

Lekker skoon, ruim verblyf met lekker splash pool - 'n lafenis vir 'n moeë reisiger.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Anton V - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
1/5
Anton V
Family with teenagers

Friendly service and quick feedback, but the inadequate facilities and lack of privacy was disappointing.

The service was friendly and very accommodating, unfortunately the facilities didn't meet my expectations. The rooms aren't brick buildings, but rather temporary units. This means that the separation between guests is literally paper thin and all sounds can be heard. It really isn't pleasant to hear the full details of arguments (with all the dirty language) of guests all through the night. The shower works with a low pressure solar heater, which means the water pressure is very low and sensitive. But this can be understood in an area with extreme drought. The moist towels on guests' beds is, however, less acceptable. It rained before arrival, but a plan could have been made with a tumble dryer. For the price you pay, you expect better facilities. Sorry, but I won't recommend Rose Cottage.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Vriendelike diens en vinnige terugvoering, maar die gebrekkige fasiliteite en min privaatheid stel teleur.

Die diens was vriendelik en baie tegemoetkomend, ongelukkig het die fasiliteite nie aan 'n billike verwagting voldoen nie. Die kamers is nie baksteengeboue nie, eerder tydelike eenhede. Dit beteken dat die skeiding tussen gaste letterlik plankdun is en alle geluide hoorbaar is. Dit is nie aangenaam om die volle besonderhede van die argumente (met al die nodige kru taal) van die gaste langsaan deur die nag te hoor nie. Die stort maak gebruik van 'n laedruk solar-verwarmer, wat beteken die waterdruk is laag en baie sensitief. Tog kan dit aanvaar word in 'n area wat gebuk gaan onder 'n knellende droogte. Die klam handdoeke op die gastebeddens, is egter minder aanvaarbaar. Dit het gereën voor ons koms, maar dan kon daar 'n plan gemaak word met 'n tuimeldroër. Vir die prys wat jy betaal, verwag mens beter fasiliteite. Jammer, ek sal nie Rose Cottage aanbeveel nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Helgard D - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Helgard D
With spouse/partner

They moved me from Rose Cottage to Suikerbekkie because it was not wheelchair-friendly.

Can't say yes or no because I didn't sleep there.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Hulle het vir my vanaf Rose Cottage na Suikerbekkie geskuif, omdat dit nie rolstoelvriendelik was nie.

Kan nie ja of nee sê nie, want ek het nie daar geslaap nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Japie L - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Japie L
With spouse/partner

Een nag oorgebly.

Pragtig en netjies.

Rose Cottage's response

Dankie Japie, kom kuir gerus weer. Groete Robin(Einaar)

Rose Cottage
Linda L - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
1/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
1/5
Linda L
With spouse/partner

This accommodation is way too expensive for what you end up getting. Everyone has their own expectations, but the price should be revised, especially in this area.

The people at reception weren't very friendly. We had to wait for Ronnie to welcome us. The location is quite bad! Attention should be paid to security. Don't want to offer only negative commentary, but I really wouldn't recommend this place as a stopover. Way too expensive for what you get and the photos aren't really representative of what you'll get.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Hierdie verblyf is heeltemal te duur vir dit wat aangebied word. Elkeen het verwagtinge, maar die prys sal hersien moet word, veral in die omgewing.

Ontvangs was nie vriendelik gewees nie. Ons moes wag vir Ronnie om ons te ontvang. Ligging nie goed nie! Veiligheid kan na gekyk word. Wil nie net negatiewe kommentaar lewer nie, maar sal dit glad nie aanbeveel as 'n oornagplek nie. Heeltemal te duur vir dit wat jy kry en foto's op internet is bedrieglik.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Anton D - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Anton D
With friends

Netjies skoon gerieflik.

Sien sterre.

Rose Cottage's response

Dankie Anton.

Robin

Rose Cottage
Avril K - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Avril K
Family with young children

Gemaklik.

Gemaklike verblyf, dankie dit was lekker.

Rose Cottage's response

Avril, baie danie vir die mooi review, word gewardeer.
Groete Robin

Rose Cottage
Margot M - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
2/5
Margot M
Family with young children

Stuffy and actually quite horrible.

Would not recommend it. The reception was very short and terse. Nothing special to make us feel at home. Only the lounge had air-conditioning so it was very hot in the rooms and we all had to take our mattresses to the lounge. The kitchen was the only room with hot water. Wouldn't stay here again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Bedompig en eintlik aaklig.

Sal nie aanbeveel nie. Die ontvangs was maar baie kort en saaklik. Niks spesiaal om ons te laat tuis voel nie. Net die sitkamer het lugversorging gehad so dit was uiters warm in die kamers en moes ons almal maar die matrasse sitkamer toe sleep. Net die kombuis het warm water gehad. Sal nie weer besoek nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Rose Cottage's response

Hi Margot, ja ek het nog nooit die Karoo so droog en warm gevind nie, dit was onplesierig warm. Ek stem heeltemal saam met jou, ons gaan nou lugverkoeling in al die kamers sit want, ons besef met hierdie hitte is die een in die sitkamer glad nie genoeg nie.
Vir julle ongerief bied ek julle 'n volle "free stay voucher" aan en ek hoop dat julle die volgende besoek meer gerieflik sal kry. Groete Robin, Eienaar

Rose Cottage
Malindi F - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Malindi F
With friends

Cosy and neat place for overnight stay.

Well equipped for a couple or friends looking for an overnight stay. Basic kitchen, clean and neat bedding with good matress.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

'n Knus en netjiese plekkie om te oornag.

Rose Cottage is goed ingerig vir 'n paartjie of 2 vriende wat net 'n oornagplek soek. Basiese kombuisgeriewe, skoon en netjiese beddegoed en 'n goeie matras het die ding gedoen!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Rose Cottage's response

Dankie Malindi,
Groete
Robin van den Berg: Einaar

Rose Cottage
Braam V - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Braam V
With spouse/partner

Puik! Sal nie sommer weer verby ry nie!

Puik verblyf en alles netjies op hul plek! Na lang rit is die rustigheid net wat 'n reisiger wil hê! Het ook die omgewing verken en tot 'n trop koedoes gesien!

Rose Cottage's response

Dankie Braam, warder die mooi review. Groete Robin van den berg: Einaar

Rose Cottage
Andre B - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
2/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
2/5
Andre B
Family with young children

What you see is not what you get.

Very disappointed as the pics displayed on LekkeSlaap is indeed very misleading and are nothing compared to what its really like. Met by a friendly but very scruffy looking gent. We were 7 adults and 2 toddlers and stayed for 5 nights, but were given the worst units. The units were dirty, filthy, run-down, broken and very limited indeed. The units are just across the road from a very noisy, unruly and dirty area full of drunk people and constantly barking dogs. Inside and outside lights were either faulty or did not work, TV had very limited channels, bedroom curtains were white in colour so the street lights shone through making the rooms bright and not conducive to sleep, no hot water at the kitchen zink, microwave had no glass turntable inside so could not be used, fire extinguishers were last inspected during 2010, oven hob faulty and had to be switched off at the breaker so the rest of the oven could not be used, broken kitchen towel hooks, broken outside gates and fencing, solar lights in the outside gazebos not working, shower head had scale build-up to such an extent that we had to remove it, dirty walls through-out the units. Roses? What roses? Rust holes in gutters (it raining continuously the weekend and water poured through these holes). Grass? What grass? Poorly maintained garden, blunt carving knives, very dirty kitchen cupboards, dust on top of fridge and upper surfaces, carpets to large for rooms and door can't be closed without removing the carpets, and the list goes on and on. We stayed in Aberdeen for one night before we arrived at Rose Cottage. The difference is like day and night! Once a year my children living in Joburg and I meet around the Colesberg area for the Easter weekend. What should have been a nice experience, turned into the "weekend from hell". As you may have noticed, we left a day earlier than planned due to the fact that we just could not deal with all these issue any more and the ladies in our group spent more time cleaning than enjoying themselves. I took some pics if anybody is interested in seeing what we had to deal with. Trust me, you don't want to stay at one of these units. It's disgusting!

Rose Cottage's response

Hi Andre, Firstly thank you for your constructive review and for sending me the photo's you took. I must sadly agree with you that we have not kept our stringent maintenance up on this Suikerbekkie free standing home unit. SunRose Group of guest houses has 16 units, mostly around the Gariep Dam area and we have concentrated our efforts mainly in getting the other 15 units up to a very high standard. Your review gave us a bit of a wake up call and I have diverted my complete maintenance team to Suikerbekkie and have used your photos and remarks as a benchmark for repairs and improvements. I am today glad to inform you that we have not only attended to all the points in your review, but have re-painted the entire house, replaced the gutters and downpipes. We have even attended to the rowdy and drunk neighbours and would inform you that this has been brought under control. The owner of the house passed away some two weeks ago and all the rowdy grandchildren have left and only Mrs van Wyngaardt remains in the house.
As owner of the SunRose group of guest houses, firstly let me apologise for your bad experience and we would kindly offer you a free stay voucher, which is valid at any one of our 17 guest houses for a period of 3 years. We hope to see you soon and assure you that we will treat you like royalty and make sure that you have a pleasant stay with us.
Robin van den Berg (owner)

Rose Cottage
Jim V - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Jim V
With spouse/partner

Netjiese eenheid met alles wat nodig is in rustige omgewing.

Sien gerus die sterre.

Elize V - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Elize V
With spouse/partner

Baie mooi netjies en skoon met gesellige atmosfeer.

Ons het goeie verwysings gekry om by blyplek uit te kom. Ons was verras om die mooi netjiese woonstel te kry. Die plekkie is uitstekend toegerus. Baie dankie.

Rose Cottage's response

Baie dankie Elize, ek is bly dat julle die verblyf geniet het. Kom gerus weer.
Groete
Robin van den Berg (eienaar)

Rose Cottage
Gary B - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Gary B
With spouse/partner

Overnight at Rose Cottage.

A very pleasant overnight stay. Clean and neat. Loved the splashpool.

Rose Cottage's response

Thanks Gary, your review is appreciated. Hope to see you again. Kind Regards Robin van den Berg (Owner)

Rose Cottage
Peter P - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Peter P
With spouse/partner

Ontvangs vriendelik.

Fasiliteite was gerieflik en skoon.

Andre V - Feb 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Andre V
With spouse/partner

Awesome!

Alles was daar! Alles was reg! Baie dankie.

Rose Cottage's response

Thanks Andre, pleased your stay was awesome. Your review is much appreciated. Kind Regards Robin van den Berg (Owner)

Rose Cottage
Chris T - Feb 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5</