The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Sommersby Bed & Breakfast | TravelGround
+11

Sommersby Bed & Breakfast

Guest House

Review Summary

4.2 out of 5from 56 reviews for Sommersby Bed & Breakfast
Cleanliness
4.1/5
Service
4.2/5
Location
4.3/5
Safety
4.3/5
Value for money
4.1/5
Petro L - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Petro L
With friends

Alles was in plek toe ons arriveer.

Ons het lekker gebly in 'n gerieflike kamer. Chris was baie behulpsaam met vervoer vanaf lughawe na gastehuis asook volgende oggend met vervoer na die hawe. Die winkelsentrum naby is 'n bonus en ons het 'n heerlike middag daar deurgebring.

Johnita C - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Johnita C
Individual traveler

Dit was gemaklik.

Absoluut behulpsaam en sal beslis weer gebruik maak van hul diens.

Raegan C - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Raegan C
With friends

Beautiful environment, friendly staff, had a lovely stay.

Beautiful place for a holiday.

Veronika M - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Veronika M
With friends

Dit was aangenaam.

Was aangenaam. Het goed gerus in die stil omgewing.

Junior S - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Junior S

Baie netjies en waarde vir geld.

Baie netjies en werkers was baie behulpsaam.

Dienkie K - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
2/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
2/5
Dienkie K

Comfortable.

The room was not entirely ready when we arrived. We really had a problem with guests making a noise. The staff were very friendly and breakfast was wonderful. Facilities very neat and clean. Thank you for letting us leave our car at your guesthouse when we went on our boat trip. Really appreciated!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Gerieflik.

Die kamer was nie heeltemal gereed toe ons daar kom nie. Ons het werklik 'n probleem gehad met gaste wat geraas het. Die personeel was baie vriendelik, en ontbyt was heerlik. Geriewe baie netjies en skoon. Dankie dat ons die motor by julle gastehuis kon los vir ons bootreis. Ons waardeer dit opreg.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Bertha Iris M - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Bertha Iris M

Sommersby B&B is very safe accommodation, I can it give a 3 star.

What I loved most was the staff, they are well trained and very hospitable, their breakfast is wholesome, I only saw the owner once but I must credit him for well mannered, ready to help staff. The venue is clean and quiet, there's a shopping complex across the street, what a convenience! I'll definitely use them again, thank you.

Claire B - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Claire B
With friends

Great central location for Comrades - Chris the owners went out of his way to ensure our stay was great. He was very helpful.

Chris even woke up at 4:40 to walk myself and Ingrid to the shuttle service. He waited with us until the shuttle arrived. This was really going beyond the call of duty.

Albert T - Feb 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Albert T
On business

It was OK.

It was nice and clean. However, some of the light fittings did not have bulbs, in the sleep area and the bathroom. On Saturday morning I did not have warm water to shower, in fact, there was no water coming out of the warm water tap. The breakfast was okay, but a bit oily. In general, however, okay.

Sommersby Bed & Breakfast's response

Hi Erica. Thanks for taking time to review us.
The water is out of our control I'm afraid. It is cut down to literally a dribble overnight by while the powers that be repair the pipes upstream. This has been going on for quite a while and affects all of greater Durban as it's the main reservoir feed.
It's normally turned up to full flow well before 6 am so I'm guessing you were up and about before the plumbers.
As for the bulbs - the light fittings you mentioned are in the communal area's. This is a conscious decision my part as the light-fan fittings are of an old design and have 4 bulbs - in this day and age of energy awareness I decided that all 4 were not required and were a waste of electricity, so couple in each provides adequate light. The one in your bathroom has been sorted and was an oversight on our part, my apologies.
I will address the breakfast point with my staff.
Thanks

Sommersby Bed & Breakfast
Sibongile M - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sibongile M
Family with teenagers

Nice place if you want peace of mind.

Away from the noise in town.

Maureen T - Sep 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Maureen T
With spouse/partner

Chris and his staff were very helpful.

Everything was perfect except the other guests that were very noisy early in the morning and very late at night and their comments when we greeted them. If Chris can make another rule for noise, specifically because we were there to relax away from home, things would improve. We came all the way from Johannesburg and just because of those guests we felt we are not welcome there at all.

Sommersby Bed & Breakfast's response

Many thanks for your kind words and for choosing to stay here at Sommersby. You are always very welcome here.
We do occasionally have a problem with noise when larger groups book in together and though it's very difficult to quieten people down, we will certainly try our best, especially early in the morning and later in the evening.
I will also get some notices made up asking guests to respect others and keep the noise levels down.

Sommersby Bed & Breakfast
Muntu N - Aug 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Muntu N
With spouse/partner

Very safe and clean

Staff very professional, helpful at all times and available.

Sommersby Bed & Breakfast's response

Many thanks. We sincerely appreciate your comments. Thank you for choosing Sommersby.

Sommersby Bed & Breakfast
Jm V - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
2/5
Location
2/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Jm V
With spouse/partner

Dis beslis voldoende vir 1 tot 2 aande se verblyf, maar nie langer nie.

Daar was geen verduidelikheid oor hoe die oggend ontbytsessies werk, en wat beskikbaar was nie. Daar was geen ketel of yskassie in die eenheid nie. Die badkamer spieël moes verwyder word om in 'n ander vertrek gebruik te word vir my vrou se doeleindes - haardroër. Dit is baie basiese dinge wat mens as standaard sal verwag.

Mpho R - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mpho R
With friends

All staff helped and Sommersby was amazing.

Thank you to all staff for making us feel welcome.

Andries M - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Andries M
With spouse/partner

It was fantastic to stay at Sommersby B&B.

It was nice to stay at Sommersby B&B. I will book it next time when I go to Durban.

Martin V - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
2/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Martin V
Family with teenagers

Nooit weer nie!

Parkeerplek is onvoldoende. Te min parkeerplek vir aantal kamers. Moes 2 keer in die middel van die nag die voertuig rondskuif sodat ander gaste kon uitkom. Personeel is onvriendelik en nors. Personeellid wat ontbyt voorberei was siek en hoeserig, daarom het ons slegs 1 uit 5 oggende ontbyt geëet. Beddegoed en handdoeke is oud en afgeleef.

Dalene E - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Dalene E
With spouse/partner

Very nice.

Very central. Clean and neat.

Ian S - Nov 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Ian S
With friends

Ons het dit geniet baie stil.

Hulle kan aan hulle ontbyt-spyskaart werk. Dieselfde ontbyt elke dag en my arme vrou wat nie vark-produkte eet het maar swaar gehad.

Gert D - Nov 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
2/5
Location
4/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
2/5
Gert D
With spouse/partner

Dit was nie lekker nie.

Die advertensie op die internet gee nie die werklike idee nie. Ek sal verkies dat tee en koffie in die kamers is, en nie so ver weg nie.

Vuyiswa Z - Sep 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Vuyiswa Z
With friends

The place was very neat.

Neat place and the people were very friendly.

Maureen N - Sep 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Maureen N
With spouse/partner

It is the perfect place for people who want simplicity.

Everything is a walking distance, the mall and restaurants. To drive to the beach side is a 10 min drive. The only inconvenience was the fact that on our arrival there was no water until late the next day and load shedding started from 4 am until 10 am. Other than that everything was super.

Abikali C - Aug 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Abikali C

Awesome!

Sommersby B&B , a place I would love to stay again if I visit Durban again. Amazing house, beautiful surroundings, pleasant people around. I love the place.

Sandy J - Aug 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
2/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
1/5
Sandy J
With spouse/partner

We only spent one night there, because the accommodation and service was terrible. No stars from us!

The bed-linen was old and dirty. Service was terrible. Is it a three star? If so, the Tourism Grading Council needs to reconsider the accreditation.

Johannes V - May 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johannes V
With spouse/partner

Een goed verblijf met 'n uitstekende ligging.

Wij hebben een geweldige tijd gehad in Durban en wij zullen zeker volgend jaar weer terugkomen en bij Sommersby boeken. De ligging is uitstekend en de mensen zijn allemaal erg aardig en je voelt je er thuis.

Jan W - Mar 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Jan W
With spouse/partner

Dit was seker die swakste gastehuis waarin ons nog gebly het.

Die personeel was beleef en vriendelik, maar kon ons nie juis help met eetplekke of roetes na plekke waarheen ons wou gaan nie. Die ontvangs personeel het ons nie verwag nie, toe moes die eienaar eers gekontak word. Die bedliggie het nie gewerk nie. Die matras in kamer 2 is gedaan!

Charles K - Feb 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Charles K
Individual traveler

The place did not meet expectations.

The rooms and breakfast were not as we expected from the photos.

Ndivhuwo Norman M - Jan 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Ndivhuwo Norman M
Family with young children

Very nice place to stay.

We have enjoyed our stay at Sommersby B&B, but we did not like the fact that breakfast finishes early at 09:00. The parking is also a problem when there is more guests. Other guests parked in the drive way, because of the limited space. I am unsure if it is always like that or it is only during December month. Lovely stay otherwise.

Koos J - Dec 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Koos J
Family with young children

Netjies en skoon.

Die eienaar het uit sy pad gegaan om in ons behoeftes te voorsien.

Tumelo M - Dec 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
2/5
Location
2/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
2/5
Tumelo M
With spouse/partner

Thank you for making my stay worth while.

In room 4 the aircon was not working and they limit your breakfast. For example: I don't understand why they should give a person 2 slices of bread with 1 sausage. The fruit was not enough to cater to all the guests. I won't mind coming back again as long as you can improve on the few things that I've mentioned.

Keith A - Oct 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Keith A
With spouse/partner

Fit for purpose and conveniently located for stadium events.

Parking is a bit limited and tight to get in and out.

Genty K - Aug 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Genty K
With spouse/partner

We enjoyed our stay

Chris and his staff were great - helpful and friendly. We received a nice, clean room and a good breakfast!

Darius M - Aug 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Darius M
With spouse/partner

Good

See the stars below.

Nhlanhla D - Jul 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Nhlanhla D
With spouse/partner

Very nice quite, clean (highlight) staff friendly you would want to stay longer.

On our arrival the staff was very friendly such a warm welcome we got. The room was very very clean one of my top highlights about my stay. Breakfast finishes too early though, as we missed it twice. The B&B had a very "old school" feel to it. The location is almost perfect as it's safe, quiet and next to a shopping centre. I wish we could have stayed longer. I'm "mos deff" coming back if there is space. What can I say, we loved our stay.

Irene A - Jun 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Irene A
With spouse/partner

Great with a homely feeling. Chris was friendly and accommodating.

We enjoyed the freedom and access of the venue. It was convenient as we could walk to the shopping centre. We were disturbed by the fact that on the day of our departure the hot water ran out, however, this may have been caused by a large family using hot water too liberally, who had arrived on our day of departure.

Sugnet L - Jun 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Sugnet L
With spouse/partner

Good

Small, basic, sufficient.

Hilton R - Jun 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hilton R

Great

A lovely B&B.

Nathan S - May 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nathan S
With spouse/partner

Good value for money, accommodating staff,

Great home away from home atmosphere, with friendly staff and a safe, clean venue. I jogged to the beach from there almost every day. With a shopping centre just across the road, you have everything you need within reach. Just around the corner from Florida Road there is a range of eating places to cater for every taste. Try it!

Riaan M - May 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Riaan M
With spouse/partner

Awesome!

We had an awesome time and will go back any time we are in Durban.

Aretha Z - Apr 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
2/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
4/5
Aretha Z
With spouse/partner

'n Skoon bed om in te slaap en 'n ontbyt voordat ons vakansie begin het.

Dit het na ons basiese behoeftes omgesien. Die kamers was relatief skoon. Alhoewel, die loodgieterwerk het geraas en die kamer het erg na rook gestink. Ons het nooit die gasheer gewaar nie. Hul kan doen met 'n koffie-, tee- en waterstasie.

Rindie V - Mar 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rindie V
With friends

Vriendelike gasvrye ontvangs met goeie diens tydens ons verblyf.

Kamers was netjies en skoon. Ontbyt was heerlik. Dankie aan Chris en sy span wat ons tuis laat voel het. Ons sal graag weer daar bly as ons in Durban is.

Annatjie  - Mar 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Annatjie
With friends

Huislik!

Baie goed ontvang. Area baie mooi, rustig en stil. Vriendelike personeel en 'n lekker ontbyt.

Marina V - Feb 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marina V
With friends

Vir 'n naweek is dit goed genoeg.

Die B&B is in 'n baie praktiese plek geleë, loopafstand van die winkelsentrum en restaurante. Die enigste klag: die TV het probleme gegee.

Letisha V - Feb 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Letisha V

Great place to stay - really!

Chris made us feel home, really assisted us where possible. Thanks.

Annemarie V - Feb 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Annemarie V
On business

Lekke!

Sien die sterre hieronder.

Gwendoline F - Jan 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Gwendoline F
With friends

Rustig, skoon en veilig.

Rustig en skoon! Veilig en ontspanne!

Nolwando M - Dec 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nolwando M
Family with young children

I enjoyed my stay at this BnB

Our experience was great. The place is secured and the breakfast was yummy. Thank you to the staff and owner for the hospitality.

Jo-anne P - Dec 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Jo-anne P
Family with teenagers

Quiet area with friendly staff.

Sien die sterre hieronder.

Jennifer H - Oct 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Jennifer H

Good stay with 2 minor improvements

I had a good stay, but must point out two areas of improvements: Breakfast: the juice was watered down far too much. The Room: I was in the front room but could not open the curtains as I would then have no privacy, so recommend that they put a net curtain or blind up, for privacy.

Piet M - Oct 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Piet M
With friends

Doelgerigte verblyf sonder fieterjasies by mense wat aanpas en inpas by jou behoeftes.

Sien die sterre hieronder.

Sindiswa M - Oct 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Sindiswa M
Family with young children

Would like to visit again

It was a very peaceful area, and accommodation is well located to reach both the town and the beach. All in all it was an awesome stay, we really enjoyed ourselves.

Phiwokuhle M - Aug 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Phiwokuhle M

I love this place

This is the best place to stay in Durban. The owner and staff were great. We really enjoyed our stay.

Danielle V - Jun 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Danielle V
With spouse/partner

Very comfy place :-)

A beautiful room, and a very friendly and comfy place :-)

Delly M - Jun 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Delly M
On business

I really enjoyed my stay at Sommersby Bed and Breakfast.

Everything is perfect and will recommend to my friends to book when they visit Durban. Next time will take my family there.

Jenny O - May 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Jenny O

An open kitchen with a sports group was key to a successful stay!

Finding an open kitchen is a great plus when traveling with a sports group. Being within walking distance of the supermarket and stadiums was super. Staff friendly and Chris was a great help with documents!

Betty M - Jan 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Betty M

Management very cool and understanding

I had a good time with my daughter, and found it wonderful to leave the everyday stress behind.

Leonnie B - Dec 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Leonnie B
With spouse/partner

Wonderful stay, relaxing and quiet

So much potential to be a 4 or 5 star. A firmer hand on the cleaners would help. Regardless of that, thank you for a relaxing stay Chris!

From R700
per night (for 2 people)
From R700
per night (for 2 people)
From R700
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 28 people
  • Check-in: 16:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 17 Claribel Road, Morningside, Durban, 4001, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJGU1YjcxNzBkLTVjMzItNGM5MS05M2MxLTI4NTFiMzUyYTU5ZQ?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R700  per night (for 2 people) 56 5 1 5 17 Claribel Road Morningside 4001 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 16:00-19:00 10:00 -29.833226480538 31.019307374954
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!