Springfontein Accommodation at Springfontein Guest House | TravelGround
+19

Springfontein Guest House

Guest House

Review Summary

4.4 out of 5from 19 reviews for Springfontein Guest House
Cleanliness
4.4/5
Service
4.7/5
Location
4.2/5
Safety
4.6/5
Value for money
4.2/5
Elria V - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elria V

The host went out of his way to help us! Quiet, cosy place to stay.

We were very late for dinner, as we had trouble on our way. But our host was ready to receive us with delicious, hot food. He was very considerate. The house and garden are cosy and the interior extremely tasteful. It helped to get a good night's rest after a very long day.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Die gasheer het uit sy pad gegaan om ons te help! Rustige, gesellige blyplek.

Ons was baie laat vir die aandete, aangesien ons teëspoed op pad gehad het. Ons gasheer was gereed om ons nog met heerlike warm kos te ontvang. Hy was baie bedagsaam. Die huis en tuin is gesellig en die interieur uiters smaakvol. Dit het gehelp om 'n lekker nagrus te kon kry na 'n baie lang dag.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Japie K - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Japie K
With spouse/partner

Clean, neat and great food.

Reception was good and our room was clean and neat. Thanks.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Skoon, netjies en lekker kos.

Ontvangs was goed en ons kamer was skoon en netjies. Dankie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Springfontein Guest House's response

Thank you for your kind comments. I hope you will visit again.

Springfontein Guest House
Pamela N - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Pamela N
With spouse/partner

Graham went out of his way to be hospitable and helpful. He and his staff offer top-class service - and he pours one of the best gin and tonics in the country!

Ideal location for us, mid-way between Cape Town and Hilton. Springfontein Guest House is a quiet haven of peace on the very edge of the little "dorp" with glorious sunset views over the veld. The meals are delicious and the catering and decor are traditionally warm and lavish, in an appealingly old-fashioned way.

Springfontein Guest House's response

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Springfontein Guest House. It means a great deal to me and the Staff when guests are so complimentary. Glad you appreciated the Gin. Please visit again.

Springfontein Guest House
Hendrik V - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Hendrik V
With spouse/partner

Baie elegante gastehuis en ‘n uiters sorgsame en professionele gasheer.

Jammer oor die verwaarloosde dorp, maar dis seker nie die skuld van die gastehuis nie.

Springfontein Guest House's response

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments. I hope you will return.

Springfontein Guest House
Ken R - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Ken R
With spouse/partner

Overall a very worthwhile stay.

An oasis in a small town that is struggling.

Springfontein Guest House's response

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Hope you will visit again.

Springfontein Guest House
Frankie D - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Frankie D
With spouse/partner

Very comfortable overnight stop.

This was a lovely find. The accommodation is very comfortable, the food was great, the owner is very hospitable.

Springfontein Guest House's response

Thank you for your kind comments. I'm delighted that you enjoyed the experience and hope you will visit again.

Springfontein Guest House
Andries C - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Andries C
With spouse/partner

A well-organised, clean facility offering excellent service.

We were well taken care of and enjoyed our stay. The service received from all is excellent and we enjoyed a good SA dinner and breakfast with even a good choice of SA wines! The rooms are neat, clean and well equipped for the FS winter.

Springfontein Guest House's response

Thank you for your kind comments and hope to see you again.

Springfontein Guest House
Elisha L - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Elisha L
With spouse/partner

Baie smaakvolle en huislike gastehuis met 'n pragtige tuin. Ons het sommer gou tuis gevoel.

Die gastehuis is baie goed geleë. Ons het van die Oos- Kaap af gereis na Mpumalanga. So dit was so halfpad gewees.

Springfontein Guest House's response

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you found everything satisfactory and hope we will see you again soon.

Springfontein Guest House
Roy B - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Roy B
With spouse/partner

A wonderful host in old historic surroundings - very clean and great, friendly service.

The house is set in an area steeped in Anglo Boer war history. The owner is very knowledgeable on the local history. Service is great! Prompt, courteous and very professional.

Springfontein Guest House's response

Thank you for your very positive comments which my staff and I much appreciate. We wish you a very good 2019.

Springfontein Guest House
Cynthia P - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Cynthia P
With spouse/partner

Die ligging Kaapstad of Suid-Kaap toe is baie goed en diens was 'n goeie balans van vriendelik en effektief met geurige etes.

Baie goeie ligging en die eienaar was vriendelik sonder om te oorbeurend te wees. Die aandete was geurig, asook die ontbyt. Hulle het 'n dranklisensie en wyn is dus beskikbaar met aandete. Dekor in die kamers, sowel as die huis, is mooi met interessante oudhede en skoon. Sal beslis weer daar bly.

Springfontein Guest House's response

Dear Cynthia,

Thank you for your very positive review of Springfontein House. All constructive comments are most welcome, particularly when they are good! I hope you will find an opportunity for another visit.

Springfontein Guest House
Cobus D - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Cobus D
With spouse/partner

Aangename verrassing.

Baie goeie kos, betrokke gasheer, verrassing.

Springfontein Guest House's response

Thank you, your kind comments are much appreciated.

Springfontein Guest House
Jannie V - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Jannie V
With spouse/partner

Gemaklik.

Het uit hulle pad gegaan om ons tegemoet te kom met aandete met al was ons laat.

Springfontein Guest House's response

Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to entertain you.

Springfontein Guest House
Louise H - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Louise H
With spouse/partner

Relaxing and comfortable.

Relaxing and comfortable. The room was very neat and our meals were very tasty.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Gemaklik en gerieflik.

Gemaklik en gerieflik. Die kamer was baie netjies en ons etes baie smaakvol.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Sune C - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sune C
With spouse/partner

Fantastic! Wonderful hospitality. Excellent food. Convenient rooms.

What a wonderful experience. The hospitality is unbelievable, the food was amazing, the rooms convenient, clean and neat.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fantasties! Wonderlike gasvryheid. Uitstekende kos. Gerieflike kamers.

Wat 'n wonderlike ervaring. Die gasvryheid is ongelooflik, die kos was uit die boonste rakke, die kamers gerieflik, skoon en netjies.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Springfontein Guest House's response

Thank you for your kind comments. It is heartening for us all to receive praise especially after a busy season.

Springfontein Guest House
Fred C - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Fred C
With spouse/partner

Lovely English charm.

We were on the road for 4 weeks and this was definitely our biggest surprise. The owner is charming and obviously has a flair for what he is doing at his guesthouse. We strongly recommend it. Will definitely stopover here again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Lovely English charm

Ons was 4 weke op die pad en hierdie was definitief die grootste verrassing. Die eienaar is baie sjarmant en het duidelik 'n flair vir dit wat hy doen by sy gastehuis. Ons kan dit sterk aanbeveel. Sal definitief weer oornag.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Christa F - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Christa F
With spouse/partner

Will definitely stay here on our next route to Cape Town.

It was really amazing! Clean and friendly service. We stayed at 7 different places on our holiday of 3 weeks, but this one was the best! The town is quite old which might have been the reason why we have never stayed here before on our yearly holiday.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Sal my volgende roete Kaap toe weer so beplan dat ons weer hier kan oorbly!

Graham is die perfekte gasheer met 'old English charm' in sy hoofgebou, etiket en voorkoms. Dit was 'n voorreg om hom te leer ken - volgende keer sal ons langer bly net om tyd in sy biblioteek en formele sitkamer te kan deurbring. Die aandete van 3 gange was uit die boonste rakke en die verblyf in die tuin was van die beste wat ons nog gehad het (en ons is deurwinterde vankansiegangers deur die hele land). Ons sal weer in die winter gaan, want die kaggelvuur was spesiaal. Ons het padkos in plaas van 'n aansit-ontbyt gevra en al was daar geen verrassings in ons pakkie nie, was dit wat ons gehad het, meer as genoeg, vars en tuisgemaak. Selfs die personeel wat ons in die sitkamer bedien het, was warm en 'n plesier om mee te gesels. Ons het met die terugkomslag net 50 km van Springfontein af by Gariepdam oorgeslaap en die teenstelling met Springfontein was net een te veel. Dit was netjies, skoon en vriendelike diens, maar as ons geweet het wat ons nou weet, het ons weer by Springfontein gebly. Voorwaar 'n aanwins vir julle boeke! Ons het tydens ons vakansie van 3 weke by 7 verskillende gastehuise/selfsor-eenhede tuisgegaan en niemand kom naby hierdie plek nie! Die dorpie is al ietwat vervalle en ek dink dis die rede hoekom ons sedert 1982 toe ons jaarlikse vakansies begin het, nog nooit gevoel het om daar oor te bly nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Springfontein Guest House's response

Thank you for your review. My staff and I are always delighted to receive positive comments. It was very good of you to make the effort. We hope to see you again sometime.

Springfontein Guest House
Robert L - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Robert L
Family with teenagers

An oasis with excellent dinner and all home comforts.

See our rating.

Jacquie D - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
2/5
Location
2/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
1/5
Jacquie D
With spouse/partner

Baie teleurstellend.

Ek sal nie hierdie gastehuis aanbeveel nie. My redes is dat die gasheer ons nie ontvang het nie, die huis het 'n paar interessante meubelstukke en kunsstukke maar is verwaarloos en benodig baie restorasie. Die badkamer was moeg en die matrasse deurgeslaap, en ons lugversorging was buite werking. Aandete was smaakloos, alhoewel die tafels mooi gedek was.

Springfontein Guest House's response

I am sorry that you consider it necessary to continue to complain about your visit to my Guest House.
Yes, I was absent when you visited: a very rare event and a fact of which you had been appraised before arriving and indeed acknowledged by you in your original complaint to TripAdvisor more than two weeks ago. Over the years my Staff have proven that they are more than able to cope on their own.
We have an ongoing program of maintenance and repair and I am sorry you feel that you were exposed to parts of the House you thought should have already received attention.
Everybody's bed requirements differ and I will certainly keep your comments under close scrutiny.
As previously explained, the air-conditioning unit only needed a new battery which the staff would have provided immediately had they been informed.
Thank you for your remarks as we appreciate everybody's comments as they encourage us to strive to satisfy our guests and improve where necessary.

Springfontein Guest House
Carel C - Dec 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Carel C
With spouse/partner

Pleasant overnight stop about halfway between Gauteng and Cape Town.

Great hospitality and a comfortable room.

Springfontein Guest House's response

Thank you for your kind comments.
Always much appreciated.

Springfontein Guest House
From R900
per night (for 2 people)
From R900
per night (for 2 people)
From R900
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 10 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 32 van Riebeeck Street, Springfontein, 9917, Free State
  • No children under 12
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDc5YzYzYmI5LTJkZWMtNDIxZC04MWYwLWM1ODcxZDIxOTEyZQ?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R900  per night (for 2 people) 19 5 1 5 32 van Riebeeck Street Springfontein 9917 Free State 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -30.264358571366 25.697802007198
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | bookings@travelground.com