The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
 at Springfontein Guest House | TravelGround
+12

Springfontein Guest House

Guest House

Review Summary

4.5 out of 5from 45 reviews for Springfontein Guest House
Cleanliness
4.4/5
Service
4.8/5
Location
4.3/5
Safety
4.6/5
Value for money
4.3/5
Cathleen H - Dec 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Cathleen H
With spouse/partner

Netjies en skoon.

Oase in 'n klein plekkie. Baie vriendelik en gasvry ontvang. Skoon en baie netjies. Het heerlik gebly. Ons sal weer daar bespreek.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Neat and clean.

Oasis in a small place. Very friendly and hospitable welcome. Clean and very tidy. Had a lovely stay. We will book there again.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Hi Cathleen, thank you for your review. Looking forward to seeing you again. Regards, Pieter and Chrissie

Springfontein Guest House
Penny H - Dec 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
1/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Penny H
With spouse/partner

Springfontein House was pretty, charming and welcoming.

The meals were generous and tasty. The new hosts were warm and friendly and eager to please. Our room was comfortable and attractive. Our one issue was with the little town itself which is in a terrible state - dilapidated, dingy and utterly depressing. But that is nothing to do with Springfontein House!

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Thank you Penny for your positive review. Trust we will again see you in the future.

Springfontein Guest House
Ted A - Dec 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Ted A
With spouse/partner

Homely overnight stop.

Very welcoming family, good food, very accomodating.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Thank you for your positive review. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. Hoping to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Pieter and Chrissie.

Springfontein Guest House
Erna P - Oct 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Erna P
On business

Oase in vervalle dorpie.

Heerlike slaapplek met smaaklike 3-gang aandetes en ontbyte as mens dit so bespreek. Die gastehuis kry nou nuwe eienaars, so ek weet nie hoe dat sal wees dan nie.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Oasis in rundown village.

Great place to sleep with tasty 3-course dinners and breakfasts if you book it that way. The guest house is now getting new owners, so I don't know how that will be then.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful
Koos R - Aug 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Koos R
With spouse/partner

Redelik.

Gerieflik maar, die ete-ondervinding het alles bederf.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Reasonable.

Convenient though, the dining experience spoiled everything.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Thank you for your review and was pleased that overall you were happy.
I'm extremely sorry however that there was a misunderstanding over the price of dinner. This has been rectified in the automatic response so will not happen again. It's a pity that you didn't mention the discrepancy at the time which would have allowed me to change your bill.

Springfontein Guest House
Johan L - Aug 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johan L
With spouse/partner

Baie gerieflik.

Moeite gedoen om items wat agtergebly het, by ons te besorg.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Very convenient.

Efforts made to get items left behind to us.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful
George S - May 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
George S
Family with young children

Lekker.

Gasvrye eienaar. Netjiese en ruim kamer.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Nice.

Hospitable owner. Neat and spacious room.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful
Heather E - May 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Heather E
With spouse/partner

The warm hospitality, comfortable suite and delicious dinner – surpassed our expectations!

Graeme is a professional, experienced and resourceful host who runs this top-class guest house 'in the middle of nowhere. Our short stay there was definitely worthwhile.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Thank you for such a positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope you will come again.

Springfontein Guest House
Jan H - Apr 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Jan H
With spouse/partner

Gerieflik met smaaklike kos.

Dorp is vervalle maar die gastehuis lyk goed. Eienaar doen moeite om jou tuis te laat voel.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Comfortable with tasty food.

Town is dilapidated but the guest house looks good. Owner makes an effort to make you feel at home.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful
Riaan B - Apr 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Riaan B
Family with teenagers

Vriendelike Engelse sjarme.

Pragtige gastehuis. Lekker kos. Vriendelike omgee-diens.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Friendly English charm.

Beautiful guest house. Nice food. Friendly caring service.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Thank you for your positive review. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return.

Springfontein Guest House
Lucy R - Apr 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lucy R

Gem of Springfontein.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Thank you for your very positive review. Looking forward to your next visit.

Springfontein Guest House
Grant S - Jan 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Grant S
With spouse/partner

Excellent old style accommodation with a very attentive host.

The premises are very clean and neat. Good quality fittings and very comfortable. Beautiful dining area and 1st class meals where provided by the ever-attentive host. Superb!

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Thank you for your very positive review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return.

Springfontein Guest House
Rob F - Apr 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Rob F
With spouse/partner

A memorable stay in an excellent B&B.

Arrived at Springfontein Guest House after a good drive through the lovely green Karoo. Attention to detail in the Yellow Room was impressive and the dinner was very good.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful
Tienie B - Jan 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Tienie B
With spouse/partner

Pleasant surprise.

Lovely place to stay in Springfontein.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Thank you for your kind review. It is very reassuring to be told that our efforts are appreciated.

Springfontein Guest House
Marguerite J - Jan 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marguerite J

We very much enjoyed staying at Springfontein Guest House and the host was wonderful.

We very much enjoyed staying at Springfontein Guest House and the host was wonderful.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again.

Springfontein Guest House
Marie-louise G - Dec 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marie-louise G
With spouse/partner

Perfekte oornagstop.

Ideaal geleë vir oorslaap op pad terug vanaf die Wes-Kaap na Gauteng. Baie mooi kamers in 'n lushof tuin in 'n stil straat in Springfontein. Graham was die perfekte gasheer en beide aandete en ontbyt was heerlik. Kan regtig aanbeveel! Thanks Graham.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Perfect overnight stop.

Ideally situated for a stopover on the way back from the Western Cape to Gauteng. Very nice rooms in a lushof garden in a quiet street in Springfontein. Graham was the perfect host and both dinner and breakfast were delicious. Can really recommend! Thanks Graham.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful
Nerina D - Apr 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nerina D
With spouse/partner

Relaxing, comfortable and attentive staff.

Very pleasant stay with excellent food, lovely surroundings and exceptional staff.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful
Willem H - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
1/5
Willem H
With spouse/partner

Die gastehuis is leefbaar en redelik netjies, maar te duur vir wat jy kry.

Ons het lekker oornag maar daar is 'n paar probleme, die stortkop van die bad spuit in alle rigtings, so jy kan nie jou hare behoorlik was of natmaak nie. Die bad-plankie val uitmekaar met spykers wat gevaarlik uitsteek. Die etes wat aangebied word is ook nie waarde vir geld nie, 'n bordjie poeding kos R50pp. Die plek is strategies goed geleë.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

The guest house is livable and quite tidy, but too expensive for what you get.

We had a nice overnight stay but there are some problems, the shower head of the bath sprays in all directions, so you can't wash or wet your hair properly. The bath plank is falling apart with dangerously protruding nails. The meals offered are also not value for money, a plate of pudding costs R50pp. The place is strategically well located.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

I sincerely apologise for the disrepair of the two items in the bathroom. These are being rectified.
I am just sorry that you didn't point out the problem at the time of your visit in order that action could have been taken sooner.

Springfontein Guest House
Gerry D - Sep 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Gerry D
With spouse/partner

A comfortable stop off the N1.

Thank you, Graeme, for arranging and assisting with our trailer.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

I was very relieved that it all worked out in the end and hope you had a satisfactory conclusion to your journey.

Springfontein Guest House
Carol R - Jun 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Carol R
With friends

A lovely interlude in an unlikely place.

Graham was an excellent host. The house is beautifully furnished and the meals (dinner and breakfast) were excellent.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Thank you for your kind and positive comments. These are most appreciated and I hope you will consider staying sometime in the future.

Springfontein Guest House
Anita M - May 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anita M
With spouse/partner

Overnight stay in Springfontein.

Graham is an incredible host, the dinner was delicious and his doggies adorable! The room is beautiful and comfortable. Would definitely stay over again!

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Thank you for your very positive comments and we are delighted that you will return which we hope will be soon.

Springfontein Guest House
Debbiw L - Feb 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Debbiw L
With spouse/partner

Dit was 'n oase van rustigheid en stimulasie. Ons het die keurige omgewing, gevul met kuns, vreeslik geniet! Ons sal vir seker terug wees.

Ek en my man was aangenaam verras toe ons die groen lushof binnery. Die kamers is pragtig en die diens was uitstekend. Baie dankie.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

It was an oasis of tranquility and stimulation. We really enjoyed the exquisite surroundings, filled with art! We will be back for sure.

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised when we entered the green loop court. The rooms are beautiful and the service was excellent. Thank you very much.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return at some stage.
Kind regards,
The Springfontein House Team

Springfontein Guest House
Ben O - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ben O
With spouse/partner

Halfpad.

Perfek geleë as jy vanaf Kaap na Jhb ry. Silwerskoon. Lekker gebly.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Halfway.

Perfectly located if you are driving from Cape to Jhb. Silver clean. Nice stay.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful
Jaco L - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Jaco L
With spouse/partner

Heerlike luukse oorslaapplek!

'n Oase in die landskap!

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Lovely luxury accommodation!

An oasis in the landscape!

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Thank you for your kind comments. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Springfontein Guest House
Steyn V - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Steyn V
Individual traveler

Gemaklik.

Baie gerieflike gastehuis. Ek was daar vir een aand om 'n plaastroue by te woon.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Comfortable.

Very comfortable guesthouse. I was there for one night to attend a farm wedding.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Thank you for your positive comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Springfontein Guest House
John G - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
John G
With spouse/partner

Nice

Very hospitable thanks

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful
Hermina Cornelia V - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hermina Cornelia V

Die gasheer het uit sy pad gegaan om ons te help! Rustige, gesellige blyplek.

Ons was baie laat vir die aandete, aangesien ons teëspoed op pad gehad het. Ons gasheer was gereed om ons nog met heerlike warm kos te ontvang. Hy was baie bedagsaam. Die huis en tuin is gesellig en die interieur uiters smaakvol. Dit het gehelp om 'n lekker nagrus te kon kry na 'n baie lang dag.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

The host went out of his way to help us! Quiet, cosy place to stay.

We were very late for dinner, as we had trouble on our way. But our host was ready to receive us with delicious, hot food. He was very considerate. The house and garden are cosy and the interior extremely tasteful. It helped to get a good night's rest after a very long day.

This review has been translated.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful
Japie K - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Japie K
With spouse/partner

Skoon, netjies en lekker kos.

Ontvangs was goed en ons kamer was skoon en netjies. Dankie.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Clean, neat and great food.

Reception was good and our room was clean and neat. Thanks.

This review has been translated.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Thank you for your kind comments. I hope you will visit again.

Springfontein Guest House
Pamela N - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Pamela N
With spouse/partner

Graham went out of his way to be hospitable and helpful. He and his staff offer top-class service - and he pours one of the best gin and tonics in the country!

Ideal location for us, mid-way between Cape Town and Hilton. Springfontein Guest House is a quiet haven of peace on the very edge of the little "dorp" with glorious sunset views over the veld. The meals are delicious and the catering and decor are traditionally warm and lavish, in an appealingly old-fashioned way.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Springfontein Guest House. It means a great deal to me and the Staff when guests are so complimentary. Glad you appreciated the Gin. Please visit again.

Springfontein Guest House
Hendrik V - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Hendrik V
With spouse/partner

Baie elegante gastehuis en ‘n uiters sorgsame en professionele gasheer.

Jammer oor die verwaarloosde dorp, maar dis seker nie die skuld van die gastehuis nie.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Very elegant guest house and an extremely caring and professional host.

Sorry about the neglected town, but it's probably not the guest house's fault.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments. I hope you will return.

Springfontein Guest House
Ken R - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Ken R
With spouse/partner

Overall a very worthwhile stay.

An oasis in a small town that is struggling.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Hope you will visit again.

Springfontein Guest House
Frankie D - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Frankie D
With spouse/partner

Very comfortable overnight stop.

This was a lovely find. The accommodation is very comfortable, the food was great, the owner is very hospitable.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Thank you for your kind comments. I'm delighted that you enjoyed the experience and hope you will visit again.

Springfontein Guest House
Andries C - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Andries C
With spouse/partner

A well-organised, clean facility offering excellent service.

We were well taken care of and enjoyed our stay. The service received from all is excellent and we enjoyed a good SA dinner and breakfast with even a good choice of SA wines! The rooms are neat, clean and well equipped for the FS winter.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Thank you for your kind comments and hope to see you again.

Springfontein Guest House
Elisha L - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Elisha L
With spouse/partner

Baie smaakvolle en huislike gastehuis met 'n pragtige tuin. Ons het sommer gou tuis gevoel.

Die gastehuis is baie goed geleë. Ons het van die Oos- Kaap af gereis na Mpumalanga. So dit was so halfpad gewees.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Very tasteful and homely guest house with a beautiful garden. We immediately felt at home.

The guest house is very well located. We traveled from the Eastern Cape to Mpumalanga. So it was about half way.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you found everything satisfactory and hope we will see you again soon.

Springfontein Guest House
Roy B - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Roy B
With spouse/partner

A wonderful host in old historic surroundings - very clean and great, friendly service.

The house is set in an area steeped in Anglo Boer war history. The owner is very knowledgeable on the local history. Service is great! Prompt, courteous and very professional.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Thank you for your very positive comments which my staff and I much appreciate. We wish you a very good 2019.

Springfontein Guest House
Cynthia P - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Cynthia P
With spouse/partner

Die ligging Kaapstad of Suid-Kaap toe is baie goed en diens was 'n goeie balans van vriendelik en effektief met geurige etes.

Baie goeie ligging en die eienaar was vriendelik sonder om te oorbeurend te wees. Die aandete was geurig, asook die ontbyt. Hulle het 'n dranklisensie en wyn is dus beskikbaar met aandete. Dekor in die kamers, sowel as die huis, is mooi met interessante oudhede en skoon. Sal beslis weer daar bly.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

The location to Cape Town or Southern Cape is very good and service was a good balance of friendly and efficient with flavorful meals.

Very good location and the owner was friendly without being overbearing. The dinner was fragrant, as was the breakfast. They have a liquor license and so wine is available with dinner. Decor in the rooms, as well as the house, is nice with interesting antiques and clean. Will definitely stay there again.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Dear Cynthia,

Thank you for your very positive review of Springfontein House. All constructive comments are most welcome, particularly when they are good! I hope you will find an opportunity for another visit.

Springfontein Guest House
Cobus D - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Cobus D
With spouse/partner

Aangename verrassing.

Baie goeie kos, betrokke gasheer, verrassing.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Pleasant surprise.

Very good food, involved host, surprise.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Thank you, your kind comments are much appreciated.

Springfontein Guest House
Jannie V - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Jannie V
With spouse/partner

Gemaklik.

Het uit hulle pad gegaan om ons tegemoet te kom met aandete met al was ons laat.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Comfortable.

Went out of their way to meet us with dinner even though we were late.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to entertain you.

Springfontein Guest House
Louise H - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Louise H
With spouse/partner

Gemaklik en gerieflik.

Gemaklik en gerieflik. Die kamer was baie netjies en ons etes baie smaakvol.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Relaxing and comfortable.

Relaxing and comfortable. The room was very neat and our meals were very tasty.

This review has been translated.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful
Sune C - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sune C
With spouse/partner

Fantasties! Wonderlike gasvryheid. Uitstekende kos. Gerieflike kamers.

Wat 'n wonderlike ervaring. Die gasvryheid is ongelooflik, die kos was uit die boonste rakke, die kamers gerieflik, skoon en netjies.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Fantastic! Wonderful hospitality. Excellent food. Convenient rooms.

What a wonderful experience. The hospitality is unbelievable, the food was amazing, the rooms convenient, clean and neat.

This review has been translated.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Thank you for your kind comments. It is heartening for us all to receive praise especially after a busy season.

Springfontein Guest House
Fred C - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Fred C
With spouse/partner

Lovely English charm

Ons was 4 weke op die pad en hierdie was definitief die grootste verrassing. Die eienaar is baie sjarmant en het duidelik 'n flair vir dit wat hy doen by sy gastehuis. Ons kan dit sterk aanbeveel. Sal definitief weer oornag.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Lovely English charm.

We were on the road for 4 weeks and this was definitely our biggest surprise. The owner is charming and obviously has a flair for what he is doing at his guesthouse. We strongly recommend it. Will definitely stopover here again.

This review has been translated.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful
Christa F - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Christa F
With spouse/partner

Sal my volgende roete Kaap toe weer so beplan dat ons weer hier kan oorbly!

Graham is die perfekte gasheer met 'old English charm' in sy hoofgebou, etiket en voorkoms. Dit was 'n voorreg om hom te leer ken - volgende keer sal ons langer bly net om tyd in sy biblioteek en formele sitkamer te kan deurbring. Die aandete van 3 gange was uit die boonste rakke en die verblyf in die tuin was van die beste wat ons nog gehad het (en ons is deurwinterde vankansiegangers deur die hele land). Ons sal weer in die winter gaan, want die kaggelvuur was spesiaal. Ons het padkos in plaas van 'n aansit-ontbyt gevra en al was daar geen verrassings in ons pakkie nie, was dit wat ons gehad het, meer as genoeg, vars en tuisgemaak. Selfs die personeel wat ons in die sitkamer bedien het, was warm en 'n plesier om mee te gesels. Ons het met die terugkomslag net 50 km van Springfontein af by Gariepdam oorgeslaap en die teenstelling met Springfontein was net een te veel. Dit was netjies, skoon en vriendelike diens, maar as ons geweet het wat ons nou weet, het ons weer by Springfontein gebly. Voorwaar 'n aanwins vir julle boeke! Ons het tydens ons vakansie van 3 weke by 7 verskillende gastehuise/selfsor-eenhede tuisgegaan en niemand kom naby hierdie plek nie! Die dorpie is al ietwat vervalle en ek dink dis die rede hoekom ons sedert 1982 toe ons jaarlikse vakansies begin het, nog nooit gevoel het om daar oor te bly nie.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Will definitely stay here on our next route to Cape Town.

It was really amazing! Clean and friendly service. We stayed at 7 different places on our holiday of 3 weeks, but this one was the best! The town is quite old which might have been the reason why we have never stayed here before on our yearly holiday.

This review has been translated.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Thank you for your review. My staff and I are always delighted to receive positive comments. It was very good of you to make the effort. We hope to see you again sometime.

Springfontein Guest House
Robert L - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Robert L
Family with teenagers

An oasis with excellent dinner and all home comforts.

See our rating.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful
Jacquie D - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
2/5
Location
2/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
1/5
Jacquie D
With spouse/partner

Baie teleurstellend.

Ek sal nie hierdie gastehuis aanbeveel nie. My redes is dat die gasheer ons nie ontvang het nie, die huis het 'n paar interessante meubelstukke en kunsstukke maar is verwaarloos en benodig baie restorasie. Die badkamer was moeg en die matrasse deurgeslaap, en ons lugversorging was buite werking. Aandete was smaakloos, alhoewel die tafels mooi gedek was.

This review is being shown in its original language.
Translate to English.

Very disappointing.

I would not recommend this guest house. My reasons are that the host did not receive us, the house has some interesting pieces of furniture and art but is neglected and needs a lot of restoration. The bathroom was tired and the mattresses slept through, and our air conditioning was out of order. Dinner was tasteless, although the tables were nicely set.

This review has been automatically translated using Google.
View original in Afrikaans.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

I am sorry that you consider it necessary to continue to complain about your visit to my Guest House.
Yes, I was absent when you visited: a very rare event and a fact of which you had been appraised before arriving and indeed acknowledged by you in your original complaint to TripAdvisor more than two weeks ago. Over the years my Staff have proven that they are more than able to cope on their own.
We have an ongoing program of maintenance and repair and I am sorry you feel that you were exposed to parts of the House you thought should have already received attention.
Everybody's bed requirements differ and I will certainly keep your comments under close scrutiny.
As previously explained, the air-conditioning unit only needed a new battery which the staff would have provided immediately had they been informed.
Thank you for your remarks as we appreciate everybody's comments as they encourage us to strive to satisfy our guests and improve where necessary.

Springfontein Guest House
Carel C - Dec 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Carel C
With spouse/partner

Pleasant overnight stop about halfway between Gauteng and Cape Town.

Great hospitality and a comfortable room.

  Helpful      
Due to being a LekkeSlaap host, you're unable to mark this review as helpful

Springfontein Guest House 's response

Thank you for your kind comments.
Always much appreciated.

Springfontein Guest House
From
R1 000
per night, for 2 ppl
From
From R1 000
per night, for 2 ppl
From
R1 000
per night, for 2 ppl
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 10 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 32 van Riebeeck Street, Springfontein, 9917, Free State
  • No children under 12
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDc5YzYzYmI5LTJkZWMtNDIxZC04MWYwLWM1ODcxZDIxOTEyZQ?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 From R1 000 per night, for 2 ppl 45 5 1 5 32 van Riebeeck Street Springfontein 9917 Free State 021 201 8900 14:00-19:00 10:00 -30.264358571366 25.697802007198
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!