The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at The Ridge Bed and Breakfast | TravelGround
+13

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast

Review Summary

4.3 out of 5from 27 reviews for The Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Cleanliness
4.7/5
Service
4.1/5
Location
4.0/5
Safety
4.5/5
Value for money
4.4/5
Simone S - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Simone S
With friends

Ideale ligging, kamer en badkamer baie netjies en skoon met alle nodige geriewe, vriendelike diens, veilige parkering, waarde vir geld.

Ons was twee mense wat een nag oorgeslaap het. Die kamer het sy eie ingang gehad en was baie groot met 'n groot en suite-badkamer met 'n stort. Die B&B is ideaal geleë net voor die dorp en ons het vinnige, vriendelike diens gehad. Alles was baie skoon en netjies met al die nodige geriewe aan ons beskikbaar. Ons kar was veilig binne parkeer teen geen ekstra koste. Absolute waarde vir geld, en ons sal The Ridge Bed and Breakfast definitief aanbeveel.

Wiehan K - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Wiehan K
Individual traveler

Friendly service and rooms are adequate.

An air con in the room will be an asset, but rooms are convenient and very comfortable beds.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Vriendelike diens en kamers is voldoende.

'n Lugversorger in die kamer sal 'n aanwins wees, maar kamers is gerieflik en baie gemaklike beddens.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast's response

Goeie dag Wiehan,
baie dankie vir die terugvoering. Op dié stadium wil ons die koste aan ons gaste so laag as moontlik hou daarom het ons besluit om nie lugversorgers aan te bring nie.
Vriendelike groete,
Shirley Ferreira

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Melanie M - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Melanie M
Family with young children

Our room was very comfortable.

My husband, 2 kids and I had a large room which was really comfortable and large enough for the 4 of us. The decor was nice and the room was clean. The beds were really comfy so we had a good rest. We only stayed for the one night and did not have breakfast the following morning. We weren't asked if we would like breakfast which I think we should have been so can't comment on that. The TV in the dining room was really loud and could be heard from our room. It was turned down by the time we went to sleep so it didn't keep us awake. Will stay there again if I happen to be in the area.

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast's response

Good day Melanie,

Thank you for your comments, I will address the loud TV with my staff.

Kind regards,
Heynrich

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Zak D - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Zak D
With friends

Best place to stay.

Great place, very clean and best service.

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast's response

Thank you Zakhele, it was great hosting you.

Kind Regards,

Shirley

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Sanne V - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
1/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Sanne V
Family with young children

The rooms and facilities are good. A tad pricey for the area. The main let down was the unwelcoming service from the staff.

Staff was unwelcoming. They were surprised by my booking a bed and breakfast stay. I didn't receive breakfast because they did not have adequate staffing. The room was good and clean. Value for money is okay, but not great.

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast's response

Good day Sanne,

Thank you for the feedback. Kindly note that our rates excluded breakfast, this was stated in our quote dated 20 July 2018. We are listed as one of the cheapest establishments in Southridge Park and our rates are very competitive. Hence our good weekly occupancy rate of 99%.

Regards,
Heynrich

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Nokubongwa M - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nokubongwa M

Clean rooms with great customer service. Had a wonderful stay.

Room has a fridge, microwave, kettle and cups to make coffee/tea, and a TV. My stay was very comfortable.

Antoinette G - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
2/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Antoinette G
On business

Met our needs.

Will use it again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Het aan vereistes voldoen.

Het aan vereistes voldoen en sal weer gebruik.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast's response

Baie dankie vir die positiewe terugvoering.

Vriendelike Groete

Shirley

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Nonjabulo S - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nonjabulo S
With friends

I really enjoyed my stay at The Ridge Bed and Breakfast.

The rooms were really clean and the staff members were very friendly and helpful. I really enjoyed my stay.

Amanda S - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
1/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Amanda S
With spouse/partner

Rustig en stil.

Area was teleurstellend. Netjies met die nodige warm komberse. Stort- en wasbakkrane baie gelek en mors water - nodig onderhoud, aandag. Dit was net 'n oorslaap - niks "wow" nie.

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast's response

Good day Amanda,

You stayed in room no 5, I have personally inspected the taps and found no leaks.

We pride ourselves that we provide good quality accommodation at a very affordable price with a weekday occupancy rate of 98%, and a weekend occupancy rate in excess of 50%. In our suburb, Southridge Park, there are in excess of 50 bed and breakfast establishments, the reason these establishments are so popular is that the suburb has easy access to the N2. From a security and location perspective, you will not find any better in Mthatha.

Regards, Heynrich.

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Nils V - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Nils V
Family with young children

Volgende keer eerder êrens anders.

Ek het 'n bespreking op die dag gemaak. Toe ons by die gastehuis opdaag het die dame by ontvangs nie van ons geweet nie en ons baie onwelkom laat voel. Sy was maar kortaf en minimaal behulpsaam. Sy het wel na 'n tydjie vir ons 'n kamer beskikbaar gestel. Dit het gevoel asof daar gaste dwarsdeur die nag opdaag of die B&B verlaat. Ek sal eerder volgende keer êrens anders probeer.

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast's response

Good day Nils,

We had a problem with our internet on Saturday and your enquiry was only received on Sunday, therefore our ladies were unaware of your booking.

We pride ourselves that we provide good quality service and accommodation at a very affordable price with a week occupancy rate of 98% and weekend occupancy in excess of 50%. We were fully booked the weekend and unfortunately, we cannot control the movement of our guests.

Kind Regards, Heynrich.

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Thembi N - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Thembi N
With friends

Home away from home.

Easy to find, pointers and direction clear. Very warm and professional ladies who are helping there. Neat and clean bedding, in actual fact rooms are more beautiful than in the pictures. I didn’t have breakfast with them though. Will definitely recommend it.

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast's response

Hi Thembi,

Thank you for the feedback and wonderful review, we try our best to give our guest the best service they expect. We are so happy that this can be your home away from home.

Kind regards,
Shirley

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Christi D - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Christi D
With spouse/partner

Wonderlike plek om oor te bly op pad Kaap toe vanaf Durban.

Netjies en skoon kamers, ons was vriendelik ontvang en bekostigbaar. Sal beslis weer daar bly.

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast's response

Goeie dag Christi, dankie vir die terugvoering, dit word opreg waardeer.

Groete Shirley

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Franciska P - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
1/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Franciska P
With spouse/partner

Die Ridge B&B sal nie aanbeveel word nie.

Toe ons daar opdaag was ons nie op die gastelys nie, ten spyte dat ek met die eienaar self bevestig het. Die area voor die kamers was vuil, alhoewel die kamer skoon was. Die badkamer is piepklein en die kussings is aaklig. Ons was teleurgestel dat sy ons nie ingelig het dat daar nie ontbyt bedien word in die vakansie nie, ons moes dit die oggend van 'n werknemer in haar nagklere verneem, aangesien die eienaar nooit daar was nie.

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast's response

Goeie dag, dankie vir die terugvoering, ek sal jou gedurende die dag skakel.

Groete Shirley

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Rein B - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Rein B
With friends

Nette plek.

Baie nette plek, personeel vriendelik en behulpsaam.

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast's response

Baie dankie vir die terugvoering Rein.
Vriendelike groete,
Shirley

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Gerda P - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gerda P
Family with young children

Verrassend aangenaam en tegemoetkomend.

Ons het met 'n 4 maande oue babatjie hier oornag, en die gasvrou het uit haar eie inisiatief ons bespreek in 'n kamer met 'n bad. Dit het dinge baie makliker gemaak, ek het dit baie waardeer. Baie skoon en netjies.

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast's response

Baie dankie vir die terugvoering, Gerda.

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Thinus K - Aug 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Thinus K
Family with young children

Baie skoon en netjies.

Goeie waarde vir geld en veilig.

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast's response

Baie dankie Thinus, ons waardeer die terugvoering.
Vriendelike groete,
Shirley

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Helmut S - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Helmut S

Unexpectedly quiet and safe stay.

Clean and comfortable stay.

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast's response

Thank you for the feedback Helmut, much appreciated.
Kind regards,
Shirley

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Henri M - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Henri M
Individual traveler

The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and neat.

Highly recommended. Neat room and good quality linen. There was even an electric blanket. The fridge, micorwave and kettel were in working order. Very friendly staff and breakfast was delicious. I'd recommend it to anyone anytime.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Die eienaar en die personeel was baie vriendelike en hulpvaardig. Die kamer was skoon en netjies.

Ek kan die akkommodasie ten sterkste aanbeveel. Die kamer is baie netjies en die beddegoed was van goeie gehalte. Daar was selfs 'n elektriese kombers. Die yskas en mikrogolf en ketel het gewerk. Die personeel was uiters vriendelik en die ontbyt was lekker voorberei. Ek sal dit enige tyd vir enige iemand kan aanbeveel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast's response

Baie dankie vir die terugvoering Henri, dit word waardeer.
Vriendelike Groete,
Shirley

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Johan M - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Johan M
On business

Neat and great service.

Despite the fact that we didn't get the rooms we booked, we enjoyed the stay here and the service was great. The owners also gave us free breakfast to make up for the exchanged rooms. We will stay there again anytime and will recommend it.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Netjies en goeie diens.

Behalwe dat ons nie die kamers gekry het wat ons bespreek het nie, het ons lekker gebly hier en was die diens baie goed. Die eienaar het ons ook gratis ontbyt aangebied in ruil vir die verkeerde kamers. Ons sal enige tyd weer daar gaan slaap en sal hulle aanbeveel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast's response

Baie dankie vir die terugvoering Johan, dit word opreg waardeer.
Vriendelike groete,
Shirley

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Hazel P - Mar 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Hazel P
With friends

Great place to stay the night.

Spotless, had a good night's rest. Electricity was down for 2 hours, but we got a small lamp that we used. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Goeie oornagplek.

Baie skoon gerieflike kamers. Heerlik geslaap. Krag was af vir 2 uur maar het 'n klein lampie gekry wat ons gebruik het. Personeel baie vriendelik en hulpvaardig.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast's response

Baie dankie vir die terugvoering Hazel, dit word opreg waardeer.
Vriendelike groete,
Heynrich

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Lillian F - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Lillian F
With spouse/partner

Very pleasant.

Recommendable. Was so nice and pleasant and pretty and clean.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie aangenaam.

Sal dit aanbeveel. Was baie lekker en aangenaam en mooi en skoon.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast's response

Baie dankie vir die terugvoering Lillian, dit word opreg waardeer.
Vriendelike groete,
Shirley

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Danie D - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Danie D
With spouse/partner

Really excellent. Much more than we expected especially for a place like Mthatha.

Once again it was really good value for money, and for us it was the perfect overnight stop on the way to our destination. Could not believe the place was so neat. The people were also very friendly. They could maybe just tell the receptionist to dress a little more appropriately.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Regtig uitstekend. Baie meer as wat ons verwag het veral vir 'n plek soos Mthatha.

Weereens regtig waarde vir geld; en dit was vir ons 'n perfekte oornagstop op pad na ons vakansiebestemming. Kon nie glo die plek was so netjies nie. Die mense ook baie vriendelik. Kan dalk net vir die ontvangsdame sê om so bietjie meer gepas aan te trek.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast's response

Baie dankie, ek waardeer die terugvoering.
Groete
Shirley

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Carol C - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Carol C
Family with teenagers

Pleasant overnight stay.

Nice B&B in a quiet area of Mthatha, the rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. There is safe off-street parking and enough space for a trailer. The breakfast was very nice just no filter coffee! The staff were friendly.

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast's response

Thank you for the feedback Carol, it is greatly appreciated.
Kind regards,
Shirley

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Dwight H - Nov 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Dwight H
Individual traveler

Blissful stay.

The B&B was easy to find, very neat, very secure and their service was top-notch. The rooms are spacious and well prepared, my stay was short and sweet. I'll definitely stopped when I visit Mthatha.

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast's response

Thank you for the feedback Dwight, it is greatly appreciated.
Kind regards,
Shirley

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Corrie Torn Broers V - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Corrie Torn Broers V
With friends

Zeer nette, gezellige kamers en zeer vriendelijke mensen.

Zeer gastvrij ontvangen en zeer gastvrij personeel; goed ontbijt en goed avondeten op bestelling.

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast's response

Thank you for the feedback, it is greatly appreciated.

Kind regards,
Shirley

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Andrew B - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Andrew B
With friends

Beautiful place and very clean.

We had a nice stay there. There just wasn't a living area where we could socialise, the 6 of us had to sit in one room to be able to talked to each other.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie mooi plek en baie skoon.

Ons het lekker gebly daar. Was net nie 'n sitkamer beskikbaar om te kuier nie, ons moes al 6 mense in een kamer sit om te gesels.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Marthie L - Aug 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marthie L
With friends

Very pleasant reception and helpful.

See the stars.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie aangename ontvangs en hulpvaardig.

Sien die sterre.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast's response

Dankie vir die terugvoering Marthie, dit word opreg waardeer.
Vriendelike groete.

Shirley

The Ridge Bed and Breakfast
From R825
per night (for 2 people)
From R825
per night (for 2 people)
From R825
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 16 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 7 Mditshwa Place, Southridge Park, Mthatha, 5099, Eastern Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJGQ4YWUwNWU1LTM0ZTctNGQ3Yy04YTFlLTZiMmQ1MDdmZjdlYQ?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R825  per night (for 2 people) 27 5 1 5 7 Mditshwa Place Southridge Park 5099 Eastern Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -31.612656795105 28.741075440142
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!