The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at The Solomon | TravelGround
+99

The Solomon

25 reviews
Self Catering

Review Summary

4.4 out of 5from 25 reviews for The Solomon
Cleanliness
4.5/5
Service
4.2/5
Location
4.4/5
Safety
4.5/5
Value for money
4.3/5
Judith L - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Judith L
With spouse/partner

The hosts were welcoming and pointed us in the right direction for eating out and sight seeing. We would not have known about the rock art had they not told us about it. It was very convenient for the McGregor Museum

We would stay there again.

The Solomon's response

Glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to see a bit more of what Kimberley has to offer.

The Solomon
Pieter V - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
2/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Pieter V
Family with teenagers

Good and comfortable for two people.

Our room was advertised as self-catering for a family of four. This is true if you have pre-teens or small children, but not with teenagers. The accommodation was cleaned daily and the bed very comfortable. Shelving for soap and shampoo in the shower was lacking. On arrival, Richard received us and was friendly and assisted extremely well. For business travel, I would definitely recommend The Solomon.

Andre D - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Andre D
With spouse/partner

Very neat and safe with helpful staff.

Friendly, helpful reception in a neatly equipped room, close to everything, with secure parking for vehicle included.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie netjies en veilig met behulpsame personeel.

Vriendelike, behulpsame ontvangs in 'n netjies goed toegeruste kamer, naby alles, met goeie veiligheid vir motorvoertuig ingesluit.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Annelie S - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
2/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Annelie S
With spouse/partner

Gerieflik en gemiddeld.

Een volwassene het nie 'n badhanddoek gehad nie en die enkelbed het nie skoon beddegoed gehad nie.

The Solomon's response

We are very sorry to hear that the single bed was not made up properly and wasn’t provided with a towel. We encourage all our guests to contact immediately they identify a problem. We provide telephone numbers to contact us, we have housekeeping staff onsite during the day, and we are resident in the house next door. If I recall correctly you stayed 2 nights. We could have corrected this immediately if we are told. The same would go for customer service. Once we have shown guests to their room we do not impose ourselves unless something is requested. We find the majority of our guests value this privacy. It would assist us to know what was wrong with security. Our guest house is surrounded by high walls topped with electric fence. The two high motorized car gates need a remote or a passcode to open them. The whole of the gardens and parking is lit up all night and there are security cameras on the perimeter fence. I’m afraid there is nothing we can do about the location - we are where we are, it is described in the booking website when you book.
We do wish you had told us when you were here so we could have put it right. Our aim is to please.

The Solomon
Blanche L - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Blanche L
With friends

Waarde vir geld.

Aangename verblyf. Netjies en baie veilig.

Rene D - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rene D
With spouse/partner

Die verblyf het al ons verwagtinge oortref - dit is die lekkerste blyplek in Kimberley!

Ons het vir 4 aande oornag by die Solomon (April). Die slaapkamer en badkamer is baie ruim, netjies en is goed toegerus. Ons het heerlik gebly, die diens was uitmuntend, en almal was baie vriendelik en hulpvaardig. Die Solomon is sonder twyfel my gunsteling gastehuis in Kimberley!

Louis L - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Louis L
With spouse/partner

Really good value for money.

The Solomon is nice and central and has a very peaceful atmosphere. Good value for money.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Regtig goeie waarde vir geld.

The Solomon is lekker sentraal geleë en baie rustige atmosfeer. Goeie waarde vir geld.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Pamela P - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
4/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
2/5
Pamela P
Family with young children

No kiddies swimming pool, scorpions and spiders in bedrooms, rooms cleaned once in three days, Wi-Fi provided a day before we booked out and not as advertised.

I am very disappointed in The Solomon. We arrived 24th only got Wi-Fi the 26th and a cleaning service only on the 26th. We found a scopion and spiders in the kids' beds. I did call to report this but I was not assisted. The worst place I've ever slept in. Couldn't wait to get out of there.

The Solomon's response

This is difficult responding to this review as the comments made do not ring true. The guests had booked a room with 3 single beds and another room with a queen bed and a single bed. When they booked two weeks before they did not have money to pay the deposit so we reduced this to 30% to help them. When they arrived they were not able to pay the balance so we agreed they could pay later. They asked if we could put them in rooms closer together as the three children were quite young and woul be in a room alone (the original booking was two adults and one child in one room and one adult and two children in the other - this was subsequently reduced to two adults and three children). We obliged and moved another guest around. Then they wanted to know where they could buy alcohol on a Sunday (Christmas eve). This was not going to be possible. They asked about the pool and we showed them the small dipping pool - they used this during their stay, they even sat by the pool playing a guitar as the kids played in the water on Christmas Day.
Their second day with us was Christmas Day - we do not provide a cleaning services on sundays and public holidays and this is explained in our emails. Their third day was Boxing Day (26th). We decided to get one of our staff to come in and give their room a clean. Unfortunately they would not let her in the room until past noon which was not very helpful as it meant the cleaner could not leave to go home early on Boxing Day. She even had to clean all their dirty pots and pans and dishes etc in the kitchen - they had booked self catering yet they made no attempt to clean their mess. During the 26th we asked how they wished to pay but they said they would pay later. After 9pm they came round and knocked on the window of our living room and said they could now pay. At no time did they mention any problems or anything about a scorpion (this is possible but very rare - we have seen two in our garden in 10 years). Spiders are definately possible but never in the bed. Our flat spiders are not poisonous and we provide insect spray for those who wish to use it. The wifi is always on so we don't understand why they couldn't access it. We had problems a few weeks back with the service provider but this was resolved before they arrived - not once did they say they were having a problem.
We wouldn't normally give such a long response but this time we feel the issues raised need correcting. It is a shame to get such a negative comment after the guest has left. They seemed such a nice family and we had several opportunities to communicate with them and nothing negative was raised.

The Solomon
James D - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
James D
Individual traveler

Neat, comfortable and well priced.

The accommodation was just what I needed after a day of work. Staff were helpful and the room serviced. Most definitely will stay again.

The Solomon's response

Thank you James, very pleased we met your needs.

The Solomon
Hazel J - Sep 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hazel J
With spouse/partner

Baie lekker en baie stil.

Die bly was baie lekker, en die omgewing was baie stil. Ek was net ongelukkig, omdat ons eers die laaste dag van ons bly uitgevind het dat daar 'n kombuis was om kos te maak en dat die borde en eetgerei in die kombuis was.

The Solomon's response

Thank you Hazel. Very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

The Solomon
Madelein H - Feb 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Madelein H
On business

Ideal for all travel requirements.

See star rating.

The Solomon's response

Thank you Madelein, glad you enjoyed your stay.

The Solomon
Phil B - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Phil B
With spouse/partner

Very peaceful.

It was nice and peaceful. Enjoyed spending the night. Would definitely recommend.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie rustig.

Dit was lekker rustig. Ons het lekker oornag. Sal dit beslis aanbeveel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Solomon's response

Thank you Philemon, really pleased you enjoyed your stay.

The Solomon
Elize C - Aug 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elize C
With spouse/partner

Impressed with friendly reception, neatness and comfort.

Definitely highly recommended fo an overnight stay.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ek was beïndruk met die vriendelike ontvang, netheid en gerief.

Ek sal "The Solomon" beslis hoog aanbeveel as oornagplek.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Solomon's response

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed The Solomon.

The Solomon
Laetithia M - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Laetithia M
With spouse/partner

Dit was aangenaam.

Dit was heerlik gewees. Die verblyf was lekker.

The Solomon's response

We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you

The Solomon
Christa B - Feb 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Christa B
With friends

Dankie vir aangename verblyf met vriendelike diens en gerieflike fasiliteite.

Dankie Zuki, vir aangename verblyf. Beste wense vir julle.

The Solomon's response

We are glad we made your stay in Kimberley pleasant. Thanks for the feedback.

The Solomon
Retha G - Jul 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Retha G
On business

Gerieflik en goed geleë.

Baie aangename en gerieflike verblyf. Dis goed geleë vir besigheidsdoeleindes. Ek kan The Solomon met vrymoedigheid aanbeveel.

The Solomon's response

Thank you very much for your feedback. Glad you like your stay here.

The Solomon
Rianna S - Jul 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
1/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Rianna S
With spouse/partner

Ons was op reis deur Kimberley en wou net een nag oorslaap.

Die eienaar het dadelik nadat die bespreking gedoen is daarop aangedring dat ons die volle bedrag betaal, wat ons gedoen het omtrent 'n maand voor die nag wat ons moes oorslaap. Toe ons daar aankom was daar niemand en kon ons nie by die perseel inkom nie. Die telefoonnommers was ook nie een beantwoord nie. Na 'n lang gesukkel het 'n werker wat daar was om haar klein kinders op te pas, die hek oopgemaak. Sy het my eers meegedeel dat hulle vol is en nadat ek verduidelik het dat ons bespreek het, my ingelaat. Ek en sy het toe in die besprekingsboek gesoek vir my bespreking. Dit was nie daar nie, maar sy het later gevind dis in 'n ander boek. Ons het intussen verneem dat die eienaars dringend moes weggaan, en die eienaar het my 'n week of wat later geskakel. Die ondervinding was nogtans nie lekker nie.

The Solomon's response

Everyone has a bad day we they can't quite explain. This was ours. We are very sorry for the hiccup in our reception process. We have our reasons but they are not excuses. We trust your stay in other ways was good.

The Solomon
Pieter M - May 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Pieter M
With spouse/partner

Rustig en geen geraas.

Sal dit graag weer besoek.

The Solomon's response

We are very please you enjoyed your stay. Would love to see you again

The Solomon
Jan M - May 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Jan M
With spouse/partner

Ruim, netjiese huis en veilige parkering. Vriendelike ontvangs en goeie diens.

Dis die ideale huis vir gesinne en groepe wat selfsorg-akkommodasie soek. Die ontvangs en diens was goed. Die parkering was baie veilig. Die omgewing is baie stil.

The Solomon's response

We are very pleased we met you needs. Thanks for the feedback.

The Solomon
Meryl D - May 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Meryl D
With friends

Baie oulik akkommodeer.

Netjiese, moderne en ouwêreldse atmosfeer. Ongelooflik veilig. Bietjie moeilik om te vind, maar oor die algemeen ─ fantasties!

The Solomon's response

Great. Thank you for your feedback. Hope to see you again.

The Solomon
Retha G - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Retha G
On business

Ons verblyf was voldoende vir die doel en die diens baie vriendelik.

Baie vriendelike diens, skoon en netjies. Sal weer van The Solomon gebruik maak.

The Solomon's response

Thank you. It was great to have you here

The Solomon
Bernu Z - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Bernu Z
With spouse/partner

Wonderlike verblyf, fantastiese gasvryheid.

Die veiligheid kan bietjie opgeskerp word, maar verder is alles 100%.

The Solomon's response

We are really pleased you enjoyed it. Thanks for the feedback

The Solomon
Johanni L - Jan 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Johanni L
With spouse/partner

Spacious, safe, clean, comfortable, friendly and helpful.

Only thing I didn't like was the wire coat hangers.

The Solomon's response

Thank you for your feedback. The coat hanger thing is our bugbear. The good ones get stolen within a month.

The Solomon
Fanus V - Jan 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Fanus V
Family with young children

Baie lekker gebly, al wat kort is lugversorgers.

Sien asb. die sterre.

The Solomon's response

Thanks for the feedback. We now have aircon in all rooms.

The Solomon
Lindsay M - Oct 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Lindsay M
Family with teenagers

Comfortable, convenient, clean, close to amenities.

Will strongly recommend to other travellers and will look to the Solomon as first option when visiting Kimberley again.

The Solomon's response

Thank you very much for your wonderful recommendation. Glad you liked us.

The Solomon
From R800
per night (for 2 people)
From R800
per night (for 2 people)
From R800
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 28 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 21:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 1 Solomon Street, Beaconsfield, Kimberley, 8301, Northern Cape
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAbf060d11fba3ab8a219b2fc4c90650bfb40b0525b84cc59e83358c65b5fad4ab1488bb65760e9df5dfcb157c6207af014bb7?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R800  per night (for 2 people) 25 5 1 5 1 Solomon Street Beaconsfield 8301 Northern Cape 0860 022 102 14:00-21:00 10:00 -28.752094 24.779049
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!