The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Thembelihle Guest House | TravelGround
+19

Thembelihle Guest House

39 reviews
Guest House

Review Summary

3.7 out of 5from 39 reviews Thembelihle Guest House
Cleanliness
3.6/5
Service
3.7/5
Location
3.9/5
Safety
3.8/5
Value for money
3.6/5
Vanessa G - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
2/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
2/5
Vanessa G
With spouse/partner

Stort klein en bed ongemaklik.. Verder skoon.

Skoon en veilig vir 'n een nag oorslaap. Bed was ongemaklik en het na middel ingesak.

Ronel T - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
4/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Ronel T
With friends

Mainly disappointing.

We were squished into a back room with broken furniture, a dirty kitchen, poor curtains and communication.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Grootliks teleurstellend.

On was in 'n agterkamertjie ingedruk, stukkende meubels, vuil kombuis, swak gordyne, swak kommunikasie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Sibusiso V - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sibusiso V
With spouse/partner

Perfectly located for my event! Comrade!

I was there for the comrade marathon, so it was easy to go to registration, easy to go to bus to the start in Durban, easy and shortest walk after running 87 km, stress and hustle free for me. I liked the way they vary their breakfasts! They'll be my first choice place to stay if ever I am in Pietermaritzburg! Scottsville!

Sboniso B - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Sboniso B
With spouse/partner

We enjoyed our stay at the guest house, I will come back again.

Furniture need to be improved, otherwise the service is good and staff also friendly.

Esmarie E - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Esmarie E
With spouse/partner

If you're looking for accommodation close to the casino it is okay, but would not recommend it for families with children.

There are 2 parts to the B&B, the one looks tolerable. The part at the back, where you walk to another property, has a garden that is abandoned and building material lies around everywhere. Your room is separate from your room and you share it with everyone living there. There was a washing machine outside our room window that was used until late at night, making a weird noise. But I have to say the bedding, room, and furniture were clean and neat. For the price you pay, R400 for 2 people/night, it is enough if you just want to visit the casino until late and use the room for the bed alone. Wouldn't suggest taking your kids along.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

As jy net vir 'n plek soek om te slaap naby die casino is dit oukei, sal nie aanbeveel vir gesinne met kinders nie.

Daar is 2 dele van die B&B een lyk heel skaflik, en dan die gedeelte agter, jy loop letterlik na 'n ander erf toe, die tuin is verwaarloos, bourommel lê rond. Jou kamer is apart van die badkamer en jy deel die badkamer met almal wat daar bly. Daar was 'n wasmasjien buite ons kamervenster wat tot laat in die nag gebruik was, aardige geluik. Maar ek moet sê die beddegoed, kamer, en meubels was skoon en netjies. Vir die prys wat jy betaal R400 vir 2 persone/nag, is dit genoeg as jy net by die casino wil kuier tot laat en die kamer as slaapplek alleen gebruik. Sal glad nie voorstel om jou kinders saam te neem nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Pieter S - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Pieter S
With friends

Lekker plek om by te slaap vir die Midmar Swen.

Ons was baie vriendelik verwelkom. Hulle het vir ons die kamers gewys waar ons geslaap het en vir ons die sleutels voorsien met 'n heksleutel. Hulle het op versoek vir ons die ontbyt ingepak om saam te neem Midmar toe omdat ons vroeg daar weg is. Lekker aircon gehad om die kamers af te koel. Daar het net 'n spieël gekort in die 2-enkelbedkamers. Verder het ons gerus geslaap. Dankie vir 'n wonderlike diens.

Matsenki M - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
1/5
Matsenki M
Family with teenagers

It is not quite habitable.

I did not like the place at all. Had I been given full information I would not have chosen it. I did not like the common bathrooms, the unbearable noise made by some visitors. It felt more of a hostel, full of irresponsible men! The location is good, but the fact that one drives straight into the road was a bit unnerving. I appreciated the fact that there was WiFi. The rooms and indeed the wardrobes were not quite clean when we arrived. The surrounding is quite untidy.

Elsie K - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
1/5
Elsie K
On business

Bedlinne is oud en rafel uit. Die mure was vuil en daar het nog hare op die vloer gelê.

Sien sterre.

Mc B - Jun 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Mc B
With spouse/partner

Perfek vir 'n vinnige oorslaap en oornagverblyf vir die aand voor die Comrades.

Het daar oornag voor die Comrades. Perfek vir dit.

Jan C - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Jan C
Family with young children

Lekker.

Lekker gebly, vriedelike diens.

Tharin V - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tharin V
Individual traveler

Besonder aangenaam, met ongelooflike gasvryheid!

Thembelihle Gastehuis se strategiese ligging; 4 km vanaf die lughawe, klipgooi-afstand vanaf die moderne Southern Sun Casino kompleks met winkelgeriewe en restourante asook die rustige atmosfeer in die omgewing van die KZN Universiteit kompleks en boonop binne loopafstand in verskillende rigtings vanaf talle besighede maak dit die no. 1 plek vir oornag of naweekbesoekers. Met die Comrades-marathon kantore en die Scottsville-renbaan as Comrades marathon-eindpunt 'n skrale minder as honderd meters weg, hoef voornemende Comrades-deelnemers nie 'n meter verder te soek vir die beste akkommodasie vir hul doel as juis net Thembelihle Guest House. Word ten sterkste aanbeveel!

Wilna D - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Wilna D
With spouse/partner

Close to where we wanted to be.

Comfortable room. Friendly staff. Bedding and towels not in good condition. Shelf needed in shower, just something to put the soap on.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Naby waar ons wou wees.

Die kamer was gerieflik. Personeel is vriendelik. Beddegoed en handdoeke in 'n toestand. Kort 'n rakkie in die stort. Net 'n klein seeprakkie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Sara-anne C - Feb 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Sara-anne C
Family with teenagers

It was a really great stay.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Sitting by the pool was very relaxing. Lovely surroundings and very clean. A home away from home!

John M - Sep 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
John M
With spouse/partner

Pleasant

Willing staff, even though not highly professional. The meal, dinner, was overpriced and consisted of only one dish. No starters or dessert.

Esme J - Feb 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Esme J
With spouse/partner

Swak.

Ongeorganiseerd, swak admin en 'n hele deurmekaarspul!

Andrietha V - Dec 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
2/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Andrietha V
With spouse/partner

Gerieflik.

As dit net vir vinnige oornagplek is, is dit ideaal. Ons kamer se lugversorging was buite werking en dit was 39 grade buite. Na 'n versoek is ons geskuif na 'n baie kleiner kamer met lugversorging. Ek sou dalk aanbeveel dat hulle probeer om dit uit te sorteer voordat gaste arriveer.

Gys O - Oct 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
1/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Gys O
With friends

Ek het werklik onwelkom gevoel van die begin af.

Die dames by die ontvangs was bot en die eerste oogopslag by die voordeur was onnet. Daar het twee boeke op die grond gelê by die voordeur en die kombuisdeur was oop waar die personeel hulle eie kos voorberei het. Die dames het ook sommer geëet en kuier by die ontbyttafel die aand. Het vir ekstra bakke, borde en eetgerei gevra aangesien ons gebraai het. Ek is vriendelik gevra om my eie skottelgoed te was na die tyd. Lapa het geen lig by braaier. Ontbytspyskaart het ook verander. Gevra vir spek en eiers toe kry ons 'n varkworsie i.p.v. spek. Geen verskoning aangebied nie.

Michelle T - Jun 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Michelle T
With friends

The rooms are clean and neat.

Thank You for our short stay. Breakfast was delicious and the staff very welcoming.

Erina D - Jun 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Erina D
With spouse/partner

Baie lekker!

Kamers is skoon en netjies.

Malcolm W - Feb 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
4/5
Location
1/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Malcolm W
Individual traveler

The room I stayed in was a bit "dingy" and somewhere else, not at the house in the photo as this house was being renovated.

It was conveniently near to the shops and not too far to walk to the start of the marathon. When I arrived to book in at 3 Millbourough Road Scotsville I was told that the house was being renovated but they had a quiet room for me at a different address about six blocks further away and nowhere near to the shops (I was on foot because I got a lift). It also meant I had further to walk in the morning (3,5 km) to the start of the race. That night there was noise all night long from the neighbor. I had to dress in the middle of the night and walk round to the neighbour and explain that I was to wake up at 03:00. There was a problem with mosquitoes getting in, because the room does not close properly. There were also ants crawling everywhere in the room. The ceiling fan was broken.

Christa B - Feb 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Christa B
On business

Gasvryheid geniet, puik diens, mooi tuin en swembad, maar uiters teleurstellende grootte van dubbelbedkamer.

Die personeel was baie behulpsaam en vriendelik. Puik diens wat dit betref, maar ons voel dat die dubbelbedkamer wat ons op die foto's gesien het geensins dit was wat ons gekry het nie. Ons kon skaars beweeg, so min spasie was daar in ons kamer. Ons het die dimensies van die kamer geneem en sal altyd met toekomstige besprekings vra dat die grootte van die kamer letterlik eers gegee word, anders stel ons nie belang nie. Wat ook waar is, is dat ons seker nie wat wonders moes verwag vir hul tarief nie, maar ons is wat dit betref uiters teleurgestel en verontrief. Ons moes vir 9 nagte in die piepklein kamertjie beweeg en probeer om nie te ontsteld te raak nie. Ek wil weer noem dat niks anders ons afgesit het behalwe hierdie aspek nie! Wonderlike en baie gawe eienaar, sy vrou en personeel. Komplimente vir jul gasvryheid!

Pumza H - Oct 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
2/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Pumza H
On business

Can be improved.

The owners need to be more available. They seemed to leave the customer service to the kitchen staff.

Faffa V - Oct 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Faffa V
With spouse/partner

Ons het net die een nag oorgeslaap. Vir ons doel was dit voldoende.

Die kamer was ruim en netjies genoeg vir ons doeleinde. Ontbyt kon beter gewees het maar was voldoende alhoewel ons nie ingelig is dat dit in die eetkamer bedien word nie. As ons weer een nag moet oorslaap sal ons weer van die gastehuis gebruik maak.

Hermien B - Jul 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Hermien B
With spouse/partner

'n Skoon mooi kamer met 'n ordentlike stort!

Dit is naby die kasino en goeie eetplekke!

Jessica R - Jul 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jessica R

Everything was perfect the staff went well out of their way for me.

Excellent place to stay, great staff, amazing breakfast! Everyone helped me out a lot which made things so much easier as I have been travelling alone!

Leon M - Jun 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Leon M
On business

Waarde vir die tarief wat betaal word, sal beslis weer gebruik in die toekoms!

Waarde vir geld en die personeel is professioneel en baie behulpsaam, om nie eers te praat van die stewige onbyt wat bedien word in die huislike atmosfeer. Daar is wel een probleem en dit is dat die gordyne moet verander word.

Zama M - May 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Zama M
With spouse/partner

Excellent accommodation in a secured locatiuon

Our stay at Thembelihle was good as usual. The staff is friendly and the place is sparkling clean.

Mandla Z - Apr 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mandla Z
With spouse/partner

Excellent.

Hey I enjoyed my stay at Thembelihle together with my partner very much. I have already recommended it to my best friend. He will come there any time soon. Thank you for the service,friendly staff and all. Even other guests I met during the breakfast were all friendly. I chatted with people from England,Germany and Free State. What a wonderful experience. Thank you once again!

Charl S - Apr 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
2/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
5/5
Charl S
With spouse/partner

Goeie waarde vir geld, maar die geriewe het opknapping nodig.

Sien die sterre hieronder.

Sbani S - Apr 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sbani S
With spouse/partner

Great guest house

It was a very nice place very friendly people and you feel at home when you at Thembelihle guest house. Very safe and secure.

Herman V - Apr 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Herman V
On business

Die kamer was skoon ens. maar ek kan beter waarde vir my geld elders kry.

Terwyl die kamer ens. skoon was, is die kamer baie klein - te klein om gemaklik in te werk - en daar is ook nie 'n maklik beskikbare kragprop vir die skootrekenaar of die ketel nie.

Jessica B - Feb 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jessica B
Family with teenagers

Clean and peaceful. Breakfast was great and filling, staff were amazing.

The venue you advertise must be where you guest will be staying, or at least be told the photo's you have viewed will be the venue you stay at, but the address is different to where you will first come to. It is a little uncomfortable for a guest to get to the venue advertised, and then be told that the staff need to take you to another venue down the road, even if the venue down the road is just as great or better. The accommodation we stayed at was perfect as it was clean and peaceful. The DStv channel options were all we needed for the time spent there. It was great to have a pool to take a dip in after a busy day out. Would have been nice to braai, but we unfortunately didn't have the time. Breakfasts were great and filling, and the staff were amazing. The only pointers I have for you going forward are for breakfasts: if you could get one of those catering things, with dividers to keep the food warm, and separate things like bacon, tomatoes, viennas etc. This way visitors can pick what they feel like, and it will also be warm. I personally have a son who is very picky; he likes eggs, and not cheese, so to get egg with cheese on top can be disappointing.

Melissa N - Feb 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Melissa N
With spouse/partner

The staff were friendly.

It was a suitable little room to stay in for our pre-midmar swim.

Dricus P - Dec 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Dricus P

Lekke!

Sien die sterre hieronder.

Willy B - Oct 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Willy B

Vriendelike diens, en skoon en netjies.

Die stil area was netjies en vriendelik.

Qaphela M - Oct 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Qaphela M
With spouse/partner

Thembelihle Guest House is a place where you always keen to visit, it nice,quite, romantic

I love the place,,,,

Zanele M - Sep 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Zanele M
Family with teenagers

The owner was so loving and friendly, it actually felt like home

The welcome from the auntie was the best! Not even mentioning the food; though it would be nice to consider including supper or dinner. I enjoyed being there and wish I didn't have to leave. I just want to thank the lady who assisted me, she was so amazing and loving!

Michael K - Aug 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Michael K
Family with teenagers

Will definitely recommend and return to

Very pleasant stay and owner very friendly.

Donna T - Jun 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Donna T
With spouse/partner

Value for money

Very central, they just need to work on presentation of breakfast and include some variety.

From R750
per night (for 2 people)
From R750
per night (for 2 people)
From R750
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 16 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 20:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 3 Milborrow Road, Scottsville, Pietermaritzburg, 3201, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJGYxODJjNjEwLTQwODItNGEyMy05OGU4LTU0NDJiNTE5YTdmZQ?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 From R750  per night (for 2 people) 39 5 1 4 3 Milborrow Road Scottsville 3201 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-20:00 10:00 -29.614626917535 30.400811433792
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!