The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at The Travelling Tortoise Retreat | TravelGround
+57

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat

Self Catering

Review Summary

4.8 out of 5from 206 reviews for The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Cleanliness
4.8/5
Service
4.8/5
Location
4.7/5
Safety
4.8/5
Value for money
4.8/5
Riaan J - Oct 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Riaan J
Family with young children

Baie lekker en rustig.

Lekker stil en rustig.

Morné M - Sep 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Morné M
Individual traveler

Heerlike verblyf in die platteland, baie vriendelike gasheer.

Jeff is vriendelik en tegemoetkomend en die akkommodasie is skoon en die omgewing rustig. Heerlike naweekkuier!

Aidan P - Sep 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Aidan P
With spouse/partner

Lovely romantic getaway.

Came and spent a night specifically to test drive the woodfired hot tub. Wife and I both loved it. Great place. Quiet. Lovely to sit in the simmering water and watch the stars. Will happily return and recommend.

Peter H - Sep 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Peter H
With spouse/partner

Great value for money break with 5 star service from our host Jeff. Quiet and safe.

We stayed 2 nights in chalet at Travelling Tortoise. Loved our stay. Quiet at night with wide open views. The new addition of a private wood fired hot tub was one of our highlights. The other chalets had guests, but you do not see or hear anyone. Jeff was always around yet not in your face. We will be back and certainly recommend the Travelling Tortoise.

Danie T - Sep 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Danie T
With spouse/partner

Uitsonderlik.

Pragtig rustig en veilig en in natuur.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

I'm sorry Danie, that our location disappointed you.
The picturesque valley and the backdrop of the Redstone hills are our major selling points.
We are easily found provided my directions are followed.
I always point out that GPS will take you down a closed road.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Nelis V - Aug 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nelis V
With friends

Beste waarde in die Suid-Kaap!

Fantastiese akkommodasie - my 2de keer hier en ek sal weer en weer terugkom! Daar is geen beter waarde-vir-geld as hierdie nie! Hoogs aan te beveel!

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

What can I say Nelis, other than thank you for a wonderful review. Not only is it good for potential guests, and it gains ranking points but it is heartening for me.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Rob V - Jul 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rob V
With friends

Recommended!

Beautiful houses. We rented the Hobbit House and the large 3 bedroom house with a hot tub! Very well furnished. Hobbit House had a stove with free wood. Easy to reach when you follw the instruction of the owner. Nice hospitable owner.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you Rob for your visit, and show of appreciation of what we offered you.
I'm always pleased when guests make themselves at home so easily.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Piet H - Jul 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Piet H
With spouse/partner

Alternative Accommodation.

The Hare's Lair at the Travelling Tortoise was exactly as advertised and expected. Cosy on a cold winter's night with many unique features not found in "normal" self-catering chalets. To find out more, I recommend that you make a reservation!

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you Piet, the unique Hares Lair is proving to be a popular Hobbit home, I'm glad that you appreciated it.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Hayley K - Jul 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hayley K
With spouse/partner

Beautiful views. Homely. Hot tub heaven.

Jeff was a great host. Lovely to hear his story and was very accommodating. We loved the views and spent time lots of time in the hot tub. The cottage was homely and equipped with everything you need.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

We appreciate your positive feedback Hayley.
It matters a lot when guests feel enough about their experiences to share them.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Ronell L - Jul 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Ronell L
With spouse/partner

Natuur en rustigheid onbeskryflik.

Sien sterre.

Llowellyn G - Jul 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Llowellyn G
With spouse/partner

Uitstekend! Was 'n ongelooflike ervaring.

Alles was tops. Die uitsig was besonders mooi, sal dit vir enigeen aanbeveel wat soek na stilte en mooie natuur.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you Lowellyn. To have the words excellent, and incredible to be used to describe us is wonderful.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Willie V - Jun 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Willie V
With spouse/partner

Heerlike wegbreek net om die lewe weer te waardeer.

Die beste was die laaste aand, het vir Jeff gevra of ons die hot tub kan gebruik en dit was wonderlik, buite was dit 4 grade C en ons sit in 'n hot tub met mussies op, so lekker.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you, Willie, for your appreciation of the star of our show.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Johann M - Jun 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Johann M
With spouse/partner

Verken omgewing.

Ons het twee nagte oorgeslaap. Dis baie rustig, stil en gerieflik met 'n pragtige uitsig. Naby aan De Rust en hoofroetes.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Pleased that you had a quiet and comfortable night - one of our main aims.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Lorriane M - May 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lorriane M
With spouse/partner

The most beautiful view and setting. Very peaceful with everything one would possible want for convenience. No TV nor radio, lots of books to read and just relax after the trail run and then to enjoy a steaming hot Jacuzzi outside to top the wonderful stay.

Great venue, service and value for money. The owner is an author of short stories and the developer of the property. Well done Jeff!

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Many thanks for your glowing review, it means a great deal to us.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Mone V - May 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mone V
Family with young children

Best restful visit, absolute heaven!

Myself, my husband and son of 8 visited in April. Had the best time. Nothing but peace and quiet. Just nature. What a spectacular view. The unit was very cosy. The unit has everything you need. Beautiful view from the bedroom as well. The wood-fired tub was a great added bonus. Thank you Jeff for making us feel so welcome! We will hopefully be back soon.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Good reviews are always appreciated, very good ones valued so much. Thank you.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Ethney G - May 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ethney G
With spouse/partner

Pragtige uitsig en omgewing.

Ons het net een nag oorgebly maar mens behoort langer daar te kuier. 4x4 miskien nodig indien mens in Jackal Hut tuisgaan.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

They all say that one night is never enough.
The track to The Jackals den is now passable with a standard car.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Vaughan Y - May 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Vaughan Y
With spouse/partner

Tranquil, relaxing and stunning scenery.

Being able to braai on the deck and view the Karoo stars at night. Visiting De Rust is a must.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you for your visit - I take the opportunity to promote our busy little town.
It has 5 restaurants, 2 pubs, an art gallery, an antique shop and several gift shops.
Allow 2 days at least for visiting.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Franci S - Apr 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Franci S
With spouse/partner

Wat 'n heerlike rustige twee dae!

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat is die ideale plek as jy rus en vrede wil hê. Pragtige uitsigte.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you for visiting us and your kind words.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Safiye Y - Apr 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Safiye Y
With spouse/partner

It was a very lovely, peaceful and safe stay. Hottub was lovely. Scenery was amazing. The birds and rain woke us up, no need for an alarm.

It would be great if the network issue was resolved. Other than that, it is a lovely place for holiday. Thank you.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

So glad that you enjoyed your stay, but I can hardly be held responsible for Vodacom's shortcomings.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Lene V - Mar 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lene V
Family with teenagers

Beeldskone omgewing, rustige atmosfeer.

So stukkie hemel net buite De Rust. Jeff was hulpvaardig en vriendelik. Hy het ons baie welkom laat voel. Verblyf was uitstekend met pragtige uitsigte oor die berge en 'n stoep om die sonsondergang te geniet. Huis was goed ingerig en mooi onderhou. Hoogtepunt was die private warmbad lang die huisie asook die verhitte swembad. Daar is 'n oulike speelpark vir die kinders en mooi plaaspaaie om te gaan wandel. Ons sal altyd met lof van The Travelling Tortoise praat.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you, what a wonderful show of appreciation for us, it makes it all worth while.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Henriette D - Mar 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Henriette D
With spouse/partner

Pragtige plek. Ons was na ses nagte se verblyf, nog nie gereed om te vertrek nie. Kon gerus maar nog gebly het. Dit was waarlik 'n heerlike ervaring om by Travelling Tortoise te kuier.

Van die uitsig vanaf die balkon, en feitlik elke vertrek, kan mens nooit genoeg kry nie. Dit bly asemrowend. Die heerlike sonverhitte swembad, met dieselfde uitsig as van chalet af, was werklik 'n onverwagte bonus. Ons was ook bevoorreg om boeke, geskryf deur Jeff Glazier (die eienaar) te koop, wat hy vir ons geteken het - lekker verrassing om die skrywer te ontmoet. Ons sal enige tyd weer by Travelling Tortoise gaan woon, wat ook baie sentraal geleë is na Meiringspoort, Swartbergpas, Prins Albert en alles in, en om Oudtshoorn. Nege uit 10 vir hierdie vakansieplek. Dankie, heerlik gewees.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you, Henriette for expressing your appreciation of what we offer and where we are.
And yes, you will are welcome here again.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Schalk V - Mar 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Schalk V
With spouse/partner

The best view ever.

Beautiful cottage with a beautiful view and sunset - everything 100% - will visit again. Thank you Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you for your 100% Schalk, and we look forward to you visiting us again.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Piet H - Mar 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Piet H
With spouse/partner

Baie mooi, en netjies.

Sal moet kyk vir lugversorgers. Het baie sleg geslaap a.g.v. te warm in die nag.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

I'm sorry Pete that you slept badly because there wasn't an air-conditioner.
We are on a solar system, almost impossible to run one.
It clearly states that we don't have air-conditioning, it's just a pity that you missed that.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Liz M - Mar 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Liz M
With spouse/partner

Fantastic.

Jeff was extremely helpful. We ended up staying a second night and enjoyed it thoroughly.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Very glad that you changed your plans to stay another night, it must have been more of a good thing.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Ben S - Mar 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ben S
With spouse/partner

Rustig en ontspannend.

Dit is weg van die geraas van stadsverkeer. Die gasheer is baie vriendelik en behulpsaam.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you, Ben, for visiting us, sorry that I fell down in a few departments.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Natalie W - Mar 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Natalie W
With spouse/partner

Tranquil and the most beautiful surroundings.

Definitely will return again.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you for staying with us, we await your return.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Lene Dyrbak H - Mar 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lene Dyrbak H
Individual traveler

If you need peace and quite, go here. A wonderful place.

Beautiful views, a pleasant hut with all the things you need and not more. Good service from the host. I wish I stayed longer.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Sorry Lene for not replying sooner. Thank you for your kind words. I also wish that you could have stayed longer.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Lilanie S - Mar 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lilanie S
With spouse/partner

Baie rustig.

Dit is baie still. Beste deel is om op te staan en ontbyt te eet op die buitedek en die mooi buitelewe te sien.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you for expressing your appreciation for us.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Bernard W - Feb 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Bernard W
With spouse/partner

It's the closest experience to nature you will ever experience.

When the mountains and the stars meet and they allow you into their space to show off their beauty. The swimming pool was a treat to cool you from the summer heat. An all-round holistic experience.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you Bernard, for your expressive review. I've been living here for 6 years and always appreciative of what you describe.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Madelaine M - Feb 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Madelaine M
With friends

Rustig en kalm vir die siel. Hier kan die jy die sterre sien in die nag.

Vroegoggend sal jy wilde hase sien. En die 2 swembaddens klaar gereed vir uitspan en genoeg vir kinders om hulself ook besig te hou. Daar is geen ding wat die uitsig van die huise kan afsteek nie. En De Rust-dorp is nie te ver nie.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you Madelaine for your review. I'm sorry that I wasn't as attentive as I should have been.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Magdaleen S - Jan 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Magdaleen S
With spouse/partner

Fantastiese 'hobbit'-huisie. Alles is so keurig gedoen.

Jeff, die eienaar, het daarin geslaag om die tema regdeur te voer, sonder om gerief in te boet. Die plaas is baie netjies en die uitsig onverbeterlik! Hoogs aan te bevele!

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Many thanks for your review and your appreciation of what we try to achieve.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Jessica A - Jan 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jessica A
With friends

One of the best locations to unwind and get away from the day-to-day buzz. A true gem!

Upon arrival, we were greeted by a very friendly host, Jeff. The cabin was clean, neat and everything was easy to find. Once you walk out onto the patio the view will take your breath away. Get ready to fall in love with a colorful sunset. Young or old, you will feel rejuvenated after a few days here, especially after a soak in the outdoor Jacuzzi.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Jessica, I don't think that I could have read a better review if I'd written it myself. A thank you is not enough.
Also thank you for your 5-star rating.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Jodi B - Jan 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jodi B
With spouse/partner

It is a unique place to stay. Very quaint and beautifully put together.

It also gives you a taste for off the grid living. You have an amazing view and if you're feeling hot there is a pool you can swim in. Jeff, the owner was also very helpful.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you Jodi, for your excellent review. I'm glad that we got everything right for you.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Anna D - Jan 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anna D

Phenomenal.

Our stay was an absolute bliss. We have thoroughly enjoyed the quietness, the safety, walks, fresh air and a very friendly host willing to assist any time.

Louise V - Dec 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Louise V
With spouse/partner

Breathtakingly beautiful.

Very kind and helpful host.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Many thanks louise for your comment and rating. Much appreciated.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Janet M - Dec 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
5/5
Janet M
With spouse/partner

Uitstekende ligging. Netjies en skoon.

Die Travelling Tortoise is beslis die ideale wegbreek vir familie. Wonderlike ligging vir bergfietsryers. Ons het die akkommodasie en natuur vreeslik baie geniet.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

I'm sorry, Neo, that you felt insecure here. Both our strong doors lock. The only improvement that could be made is to put bars on all the windows. But that would detract from what we are trying to achieve.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Mitch L - Nov 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mitch L
With spouse/partner

Baie aangenaam.

Ons hou van die rustigheid, stilte, swembad, staproete. Vriendelike gasheer.

Gradwill C - Nov 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gradwill C
With spouse/partner

Peace and quite, beautiful views.

Friendly hosts.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you for your visit Gradwill, and your kind review.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Sanja C - Nov 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sanja C
With spouse/partner

Baie oulike verblyf! Die huisie is baie oulik ingerig.

’n 4x4 is ’n wenner by Jackal's Den.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you Sanja, glad that you gave a mention that a 4x4 is necessary.
Also thank you for your star ratings.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Tania S - Nov 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Tania S
With spouse/partner

Wonderlike avontuur.

Heerlike gebly in ons haashuisie. Baie oulike plekkie, die grond pad was bietjie rof met ons motorfietse, maar ons was daaroor ingelig voor die tyd. Baie oulike, gerieflike, netjiese plekkie.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you Tania for your visit, it goes to prove that motorcycles can get here without incident.
Also many thanks for your review.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Bennie W - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Bennie W
With spouse/partner

Aangename ervaring.

Dit was lekker om na 'n uitdagende rit deur die Karoo by hierdie huisvesting te arriveer. Ons was aangenaam verras deur die aandag wat gegee is aan elemente om die kleiner geslag te vermaak en sal beslis ons kleinkinders daarna toe neem. Die eenheid, Hares Lair, was baie netjies en goed toegerus.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Hi Bennie,
I'm so glad that your surprise was pleasant and you were able to relax. And do please bring your grandchildren. The adventure playground had expended since you came.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Chloe H - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Chloe H
With spouse/partner

Great place to relax with good views of the red mountains.

Perfect place to enjoy a holiday with a loved one or family. You can take walk around the grounds or swim in one of the few pools. The cottages are well equipped with everything you need, a perfect getaway from the city life. The owners a sweet and accommodating.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you for your description of The Travelling Tortoise, and your stay here has prompted a high star rating.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Miche P - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Miche P
Family with teenagers

Breathtaking location, awesome host by far!

Host Jeff is an amazing guy. Location and surrounding settings is the best place ever if you want a peaceful weekend in nature far away from the busy lifestyle like mine in Cape Town. Clean Cabin, very earthly and authentically designed.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

What can I say Miche to such a glowing review, it makes what we do worthwhile.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Ruan V - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ruan V
With spouse/partner

'n Moet-besoek.

Die plekkie is baie afgesonder van die dorpe. Ons het dit baie geniet om die swembad en warmbad te kan gebruik met die pragtige uitsigte. Ons blyplek was ook baie mooi en netjies.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Hi Ruan,
Many thanks for your review, glad that you enjoyed our facilities.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Jurgen B - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jurgen B
With spouse/partner

Baie kreatiewe verblyf opsies! Baie stil en rustig.

Die huisies het almal 'n tema met 'n storie, alles rondom haas en skilpad en jakkals, wat dit baie interessant maak. Dis ook uitstekend toegerus. Alles werk met sonkrag en gas, so hulle is "off-grid" wat elektrisiteit gebruik betref. Die fasiliteite is uitstekend. Daar is 2 swembaddens, een selfs met sonkrag verhit. Daar is ook 'n lieflike speelpark vir kinders. Dis 'n fantastiese plek om stilte en rustigheid te geniet. Ons sal beslis weer gaan en beveel dit openhartig aan.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Jurgen, what a lovely description you have given, in essence what we try to achieve. Thank you.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Annika N - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Annika N
Individual traveler

Pragtige plek met mooi uitsig.

Netjiese, kreatiewe plek met vriendelike ontvangs.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Many thanks for your review and ratings.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Alan H - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Alan H
With spouse/partner

Very cosy Hobbit House

Lots of Karoo succulents, awesome sunsets.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Good morning Alan,
Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you appreciate our plants, and of course out sunsets.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Thea L - Sep 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Thea L
With spouse/partner

Heerlike, rustige naweek in 'n pragtige omgewing.

Sien sterre.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Hi Thea,
Thank you for your 5-star review, and your appreciation of our starry, starry unpolluted night sky.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Richard L - Sep 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Richard L
With spouse/partner

Absolutely stunning!

Nice and quiet with a great view. Amazing experience with a wood fired hot tub. Would definitely recommend!

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you, Richard, for your complimentary review and appreciation of our hot tub.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Paul K - Sep 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Paul K
With spouse/partner

Die skoonste plek waar ek in jare gebly het.

Ideaal as jy wil wegbreek uit die stad se gewoel, stil en rustig in 'n landelike omgewing.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Hi Paul,
I'm glad that you appreciated the peace, calm and tranquillity that we stand for.
Sorry that we fell down in so many other departments.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Nilene V - Aug 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nilene V
With friends

Wonderlike wegbreek.

Pragtige omgewing en ligging. Die diens was goed en die huisies het alles wat mens nodig het. Dis alles gas en sonkrag.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Hi Nilene,
Thank you for visiting us, and taking the time to give your review.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Matthys C E - Aug 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Matthys C E
Family with young children

Lekker rustig.

Baie goed, sal weer daar gaan bly.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Hi Matthys,
Thank you for you and your family for visiting us, and that you appreciated what we had to offer.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Caroline H - Aug 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Caroline H
With spouse/partner

A stunning stay in the heart of the Karoo!

My husband and I had a marvellous time at the Travelling Tortoise. We loved the wooden houses, the details and the uniqueness of the place (each house is different). The fact that the resort is eco -friendly made it even more enjoyable. The views of the farm lands and the mountains are exquisite (especially from the jacuzzi). At night the stars show off in abundance! The peace and quiet was much needed and it is the perfect place for a romantic getaway or a child friendly holiday or even a stay with friends! Thank you to Jeff for being a wonderful host, we will certainly be back.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Hi Caroline,
Thank you for putting the time and thought into your review. I think that pretty well everything went to plan.
And you will always be welcome back.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Regardt J - Aug 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Regardt J
Family with young children

We had the best time. Amazing views

We cannot wait to go back. It was an amazing time. It is clean and neat. Views for days. The host was so nice with the children and helped with anything we needed. Value for money everyday.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Hi Regardt.
Thank you all for paying us a visit, and for your kind words, It means a lot to see them in print.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Karlien C - Jul 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Karlien C
Family with young children

Wat 'n juweel. Die plekkie is aards en knus in die skoot van die Swart- en die Kammanassieberge se veldprag.

Ons het in een van Jeff (eienaar) se aardse houthuisies tuisgegaan waar ons ook toegang tot 'n vuurbad gehad het. Daar is baie moeite gedoen met die uitleg van die huisies en die kreatiewe aanslag val mens dadelik op. Ons sal beslis weer terugkeer en hierdie keer selfs langer bly. Geluk aan Jeff met 'n pragtige plek.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Hi Karlien,

My Afrikaans is pretty poor, but I can make out that what you have written is complimentary.
That is much appreciated.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Meliza V - Jul 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Meliza V
Family with young children

Excellent.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Hare's Lair. In contrast to the bunny-hole-in-the-ground concept, the unit is an absolute fairytale at night, with the chimney keeping the cold at bay and ensuring a cosy and relaxed atmosphere. We have found our favourite place! The road was great, we drove with a small Kia Picanto and had no issues at all!

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Hi Meliza,
Yes, The Hares Lair is the coziest of all our chalets, pleased that you appreciated it, and talked about it.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Chrisna R - Jul 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Chrisna R
With friends

Binne in die natuur.

Ons gasheer, Jeff, was byderhand en het vinnig 'n potensiële probleem uitgesorteer. Hy is 'n baie interessante persoon en aangenaam (koop gerus een van sy boeke) Die kol-kol warmbad was 'n heerlike warm ervaring in die koue. Die omgewing is pragtig en al wat mens hoor is die voëls. Eco-vriendelik.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Hi Chrisna,
Thank you for taking the time to send a review. My Afrikaans is very poor, but I made out that you were happy with your visit.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Carl A - Jul 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Carl A
With spouse/partner

The most surprising location with beautiful sunsets.

What a lovely setup. Jeff let us feel very welcome and went the extra mile for us. The Jackals Den is definitely the place to stay. Warm and welcoming, and the best views from there.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you, Carl, for your great review, as you have said The Jackals Den is a special place.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Elizabeth M - Jul 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Elizabeth M
Family with young children

Fantastic.

We love everything about the space.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Hi Elizabeth,
Thank you all for your visit and your comment, much appreciated.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Hester T - Jul 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hester T
With spouse/partner

Asemrowend! Baie rustig en uniek in sy soort.

Baie lekker gebly. Die stofie was 'n groot bederf.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Pleased to host you Hester, and thank you for your review, much appreciated.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Marelize C - Jun 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Marelize C
With spouse/partner

Heerlike oornagplekkie

Alles wat mens nodig het, baie snoesig!

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you for your visit and your review.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Amy W - Jun 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Amy W
With spouse/partner

Wonderful views and a unique experience.

We had such fun at the Travelling Tortoise on our honeymoon! This place is a must for those who like spending time in nature in a relaxed, off-the-grid setting. The Travelling Tortoise offers many different and unique experiences that are a must on any trip. We had so much fun in the hot tub and exploring the farm in the morning. We will be back for more.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you Amy for your honeymoon review. I hope that the rest of your marriage is just as much fun.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Hottie O - Jun 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hottie O
With friends

Nicely located in the country and in nature.

Just follow Jeff's directions and it is easy to find. Everything was prepared with care.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Oulik in die platteland en natuur geleë.

Volg net Jeff se aanwysings en dit is maklik om te bereik. Alles met sorg voorberei.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Much appreciate your comments and the need to follow directions. Hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Thanks Hottie.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Gertjie O - Jun 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gertjie O
With friends

Baie lekker en aangenaam.

Neem net braaihout saam daar is kaggelhout vir verwarmer in huise. John is baie behulpsaam en vriendelik. Mooi uitsig en huisie, baie netjies en skoon.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Many thank for your visit and you generous star review. I'm sorry that the braai wood caused a problem for you.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Enrico K - May 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Enrico K
With spouse/partner

Stil en baie oulik.

Ons het in The Hare's Lair gebly. Hobbit-huisie so lang persone moet maar buk met die in- en uitloop. Huisie is baie netjies met alle benodighede voorsien. Buitebraai en klein kaggel binne wat die huisie vinnig warm maak. Die eienaar Jeff het ons ingewag en begelei deur die huis. Baie vriendelik en hulpvaardig.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you Enrico for your comments about our under ground Hares lair - our Hobbit house. It is a centre of attraction during cold weather. Cold nights are not uncommon during winters in The Little Karoo.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Mariette B - May 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mariette B
With spouse/partner

Rus en vrede in die natuur, ontspannende pragtige uitsigte.

Wat 'n wonderlike ervaring was dit vir ons as egpaar.' n Klein wegbreek wat 'n groot verskil maak. Ons het die netjiese en skoon chalet waardeer met die mooiste uitsig op die berge en valleie. Jeff is 'n fantastiese gasheer! Ons het lekker in die warmbad ontspan en van al ons stres vergeet. Ons sal beslis weer kom kuier!

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Naturally I'm very pleased to receive such a great review, it makes it all worthwhile.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Erica J - May 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Erica J
Family with teenagers

Lovely atmosphere in a relaxing environment.

The pool and hot tub was amazing.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you for your review and appreciation of the new pool and hot tub.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Rene D - Apr 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Rene D
Family with young children

Wonderful stay!

Lovely place, close to De Rust town. Jungle Gym for the children and beautiful swimming pools. And the hot tub was a real treat! Added to our list of favourites.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you Rene for you review of your experiences here. I think that your children were the first to use our new jungle gym and pleased it passed it's test.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Andrea V - Apr 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Andrea V
Family with teenagers

The owner, Jeff, was extremely hospitable.

Location for us is a little far out to go back and enjoy anytime soon, but it was a stop over for us and we would have loved an extra day or two to enjoy it there. We will go back the next time we do a road trip that way again for sure.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you for bringing your family for your visit, albeit short.
We are only 7 km down a gravel road, perhaps you took the scenic route. We do hope that we can accommodate you on another occasion.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Adele R - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Adele R
With spouse/partner

Heerlik rustig en energiser.

Die eienaar is self betrokke en ontvang elke gas. Hy gaan uit sy pad om almal te akkommodeer.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you for your review, and registering our effort to welcome all our guests.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Liesl V - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Liesl V
With spouse/partner

Stil en rustig.

Hierdie plek is ideaal as jy wil wegkom uit die stad en net die natuur wil geniet. Die sonsondergang en sterre is iets wat jy kan geniet terwyl jy rustig in 'n Jacuzzi ontspan.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you for choosing us, glad that you appreciated our hot tub and, of course, our spectacular sunsets.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Charlotte D - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Charlotte D
With spouse/partner

Baie rustig, veral as jy van die stad wil wegbreek. Sal net graag ‘n haardroër wou gebruik

Lekker privaat, baie rustig, mooi uitsig.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you for your stay, albeit only one night.
I'm sorry that we couldn't provide the air-conditioning and microwave that you expected.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Kobus T - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Kobus T
Family with young children

Baie mooi omgewing - Lekker gekuier

Lekker plek om uit te rus.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Hi Kobus. Thank you for your stay and your review.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Lieze L - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lieze L
With spouse/partner

Heerlik ontspannend!

Lieflike verblyf, baie netjies en skoon. Swemgeriewe is puik! Perfekte plek om bietjie weg te kom van besige stadslewe!

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Very pleased, Lieze, that your expectations were met and what we offer appreciated. Thank you.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Lillian B - Feb 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lillian B
With spouse/partner

Really lovely and quiet.

Friendly, good advise on local to do's, enjoyed the time to relax and unwind, splendid jacuzzi under the stars!

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you for your review, much appreciated. And our stars, brought out especially for you.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Janetha B - Feb 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Janetha B
With spouse/partner

Was 'n nagmerrie met onbeskofte gasheer. Ons was so getraumatiseerd en in skok oor sy behandeling. Hy het geen hulp aangebied nie.

Gasheer het ons in die pad weggewys en nie op terrein toegelaat met ons Tiguan nie, omdat dit nie 'n "4x4" was nie. Ons voertuig is 'n "all wheel drive" en ons het deur die Baviaanskloof gereis tot daar. Enigste opsie aangebied is dat ons, twee senior burgers die berg moet uitklim met ons bagasie. Geen ander opsie is aangebied nie. Ons was aangesê om in die dorp te gaan akkommodasie te soek. Hy het ons akkommodasie gekanselleer. Hoe bestuur jy 'n 4x4 terrein en het nie 'n 4x4 voertuig nie?

Marina V - Feb 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Marina V
With spouse/partner

Lekker stil omgewing, ruim genoeg en pragtige uitsig.

Sien sterre.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you for writing your review, and your star ratings.
I'm sorry that we fell down in so many departments. Can do better, as they say.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Christien G - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Christien G
Family with teenagers

Uitstekend.

Wonderlike plek om een met die natuur te wees, en net te rus.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Hi Christien,
Thank you for your complimentary review , which illustrated how much you liked staying in The Hares Lair.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Pieter B - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Pieter B
With spouse/partner

Fantastiese opset, pragtige ligging en uitstekende kliëntediens ontvang vanaf Jeff.

Skoon, goed toegerus, gerieflike kommunikasie met opsigter/eienaar. Sal vir seker hom aanbeveel en sal self weer daar kom bly.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you, Pieter, for sharing your experince here. Your comments and rating naturally go a long way to encourage other guests.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Megan V - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Megan V
Family with young children

Baie lekker en baie mooi huis.

Die swembad was die hoogtepunt.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Many thanks Megan for your review. I'm happy that you and your children enjoyed our facilities.
Thank you,
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Lex K - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lex K
With spouse/partner

Very restful, wonderful to be in nature. The quirky cabin Hares Lair was a delight, made me think of a Hobbit's house. Jeff is a great host.

In a farming area, could hear the sheep across in the valley. Was nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of daily life.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you, Lex and Declan, for visiting us and your glowing review. Also, thank you for your interest and ideas for my next project. Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Chris V - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Chris V
With spouse/partner

Sielerus.

Pragtige omgewing, natuur en uitsig. Baie gerieflik en baie vriendelik ontvang.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you, Chris, for choosing The Travelling Tortoise. I hope that most of your expectations were met and your stay a happy one.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Isabeau J - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Isabeau J
With spouse/partner

Rustig en goed vir die siel.

Traveling Tortoise is goed geleë naby De Rust, maar ver genoeg om te voel asof mens werklik ’n wegbreek geniet. Ons was in die Geometric en ons het rustige sonserondergange geniet in die warmwaterbad. Die swembad is ook lieflik en baie waardeer in Desember. Die hut is eenvoudig, maar het alles wat jy nodig het en voel so spesiaal.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you, Isabeau, for your complimentary review, much appreciated. It's rewarding to know that our efforts are worthwhile. Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Fanie T - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Fanie T
With spouse/partner

Aangenaam en rustig.

’n Plek waar jy jouself kan vind.

Dawid B - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Dawid B
With friends

Lekker rustige wegbreek.

Dis ’n lieflike houthuisie in ’n rustige area waar mens kan ontspan en lekker kuier met vriendelike mense.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you, Stella, for your great review. I'm glad that we lived up to your expectations. Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Marizel V - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marizel V
With spouse/partner

It is a true gem in the Klein Karoo.

Breathtaking views and thoughtfully laid out wooden cabins that makes for an unforgettable experience.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Many thanks, Marizel, for your wonderful review. I'm glad that you won't forget us. Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Alicia D - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Alicia D
With spouse/partner

It was lovely relaxed and Jeff was very helpful.

Views are breathtaking of the stars at night in the Jacuzzi, the quietness away from city life was perfect

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you, Alecia, for your show of appreciation, makes it all worthwhile.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Dawie J - Sep 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Dawie J
With spouse/partner

Baie lekker gekuier. Rustig, privaat en veilig.

Ons het net een nag oorgebly en dit was baie lekker. Alles is nog nuut , maar die kussings moet seker nog ingelê word. Hulle was te hard om op te slaap. Verder geen klagtes nie.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you, Dawie, for your 5-star review. I'm pleased that we met all your requirements. Jeff

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Robert M - Sep 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Robert M
With spouse/partner

Well equipped cottage,clean and relaxing close to De Rust and Merringspoort

Wonderful and chilled place

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

So sorry that you marked us down in so many departments.
Although having arrived in unsuitable car when it was clearly stated a 4x4 was necessary, me running you up I think constituted customer service.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Callee D - Sep 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Callee D
With spouse/partner

Your shell away from home!

We cruised into the traveling tortoise to escape the rate race. The hot jacuzzi really got us out of our shells, while the stunning views and rustic accommodation really tipped the scales in favour of this one of a kind Karoo gem. I'd say let the hare win the race because this tortoise found where he's staying.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you, Callie so much for the most imaginative review that I've received.

Jeff

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Hugolene R - Sep 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hugolene R
With spouse/partner

Very rustic. Very neat. Lovely experience.

Really enjoyed the quiet. The view from The Hare's Lair cottage is beautiful and the cabin itself a lovely experience. Very spacious with everything you need to enjoy you stay. Jeff Glazier, the owner, very pleasant and helpful.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Really please that you liked your stay in our Hobbit home, and thank you for your review. Thank you Hogolene.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Julie C - Sep 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Julie C
With spouse/partner

Peace and quiet, a home away from home.

Beautiful views with pleasant accommodation. Loved the hot tub.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you for your visit Julie, I'm sorry that we fell down on a number of points.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Antoinette M - Sep 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Antoinette M
With spouse/partner

So good that we extended our stay a further night. A wonderful chalet appointed with all that is necessary for a quiet retreat.

Thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quiet, and the joy of a well appointed, very comfortable and thoroughly charming chalet. A very pleasant eco friendly get-away. Hot tub worked a treat. Highly recommended. The absence of TV, Wi-Fi, etc adds to the downtime experience. Food for the soul destination.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you, Antoinette, for paying us a visit and your kind review.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Alma P - Sep 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Alma P
With spouse/partner

Excellent value for money and the best weekend we had in ages!

If you love nature and need a break from the hazel and dazel of your every day living, this is the place to go! The houses are neat and well equipped, just love the character and uniqueness of it. The hot tub is a must to sit there at night and watch the stars in the heart of the Karoo is an experience to treasure for life. Jeff is the perfect host and lets you feel so at home.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you, Alma, for your glowing review. It's pleasing to know that what we strive for here is appreciated by our guests.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Ryno D - Sep 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ryno D
With spouse/partner

Baie aangenaam en sal definitief weer daar gaan bly.

Sal dit aanbeveel vir enige iemand wat net 'n bietjie wil wegkom. Vriendelik ontvang en dadelik laat welkom voel. Baie lekker gekuier en sterre is besonder mooi. Sal definitief weer daar gaan bly.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Hi Ryno,
Thank you for spending the weekend with us and we are pleased that we lived up to your expectations.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Betsie C - Aug 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Betsie C
With spouse/partner

Dit was 'n wonderlike ervaring in 'n fraai blyplekkie. Gaan beslis weer daar kuier. Jeff is 'n ingeligte gasheer.

Hierdie is 'n oulike plekkie vir mense wat iets anders as die gewone blyplekke verkies. Die "Jackal's Den" waar ons oornag het is soos iets uit 'n feëtjie se towertuin met die ronde deur en sinkstort. Die pad is steil en vol los klippe, maar die uitsig maak elke meter se opry die moeite werd.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you, Betsie, so much for your very complimentary review, I'm glad that The Jackals den lived up to your expectations.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Estelle F - Aug 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Estelle F
Individual traveler

'n Stukkie hemel op aarde.

Knus blyplek met die wonderlikste uitsigte. Baie verskillende plantspesies. Net reg vir wegkom en bykom.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you Esteller for your stay in The Padloper.
I hope that you relaxed and left sufficiently rested to continue with your very stressful job.
I was please that you took so much interest in the bush and its plants and our general environment.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Sandra K - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sandra K
With spouse/partner

Pragtige uitsig, stilte en rustigheid.

Hier skakel jy af, ontspan en rus. Sal beslis weer gaan.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you for visiting our new Jackals Den and you were happy with what it offered.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Deon J - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Deon J
With spouse/partner

Heaven on earth.

Jeff, you have created a piece of heaven on earth. Thank you for the pleasant reception. The view was awesome and the sound of only the wind and birds was food for one's soul. Thank you also for filling outside spa bath. The traveller don't pay for a place to sleep, you pay for a piece of heaven on earth and rest for your soul. Thank you Jeff, you're a true gentleman and host.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you, Deon, for your very complimentary review, I'm glad that we got it alright for you.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Dirk T - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Dirk T
With spouse/partner

Vredevol, stilte, natuur, goed vir die siel.

Die was ons tweede stop op ons wittebrood. Ons was verwelkom met die mooiste natuurbeeld met so paar houthuisies teen die berg op. Jeff het ons regtig mooi rondgewys en verduidelik hoe als werk. Sjampanje (a.g.v. die wittebrood) was 'n lekker geskenk om te kon geniet in die hot tub terwyl die son ondergaan. Daarna was ons gegroet met 'n hemelruim vol sterre, steeds in die hot tub. Die plekkie is goed uiteengesit met alles wat jy nodig het. Jy bring letterlik net jou kos en drinkgoed. Ons sal defintief weer terugkom! Baie dankie.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you both for allowing us to be part of your honeymoon, it was a pleasure.
My Afrikaans is poor but what I managed to read I think was good. We wish you all the best and hope that you have a long and happy marriage.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Andries S - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Andries S
Family with young children

Baie rustig, oop, al die nodige geriewe.

Die area is baie stil en is reg as mens net wil ontspan. Al die geriewe is op die perseel en jy het vrye toegang tot als.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Many thanks for visiting us, Andries, I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Jacques V - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jacques V
On business

Awesome place if you like the outdoors. Friendly, helpful host. He's willing to help you even when the mistake was on your side.

Great setup in the mountain. We had the nicest evening with a braai. The host even offered us another house to accommodate us. The houses is very warm so I would suggest putting in a fan or something for the nights. Other than that everything has blown our minds! Great place and would go back there anytime.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you, Jacques, for your enthusiastic review, much appreciated.
P.S. the fan was in the cupboard.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Joanine M - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Joanine M
With spouse/partner

Fantastic getaway.

We had a fantastic getaway weekend. Best view. If you need to get away from everything, this is the one for you. Very clean and a nice swimming pool. Lovely hot tub watching the sunsets. Thank you Jeff for you friendliness. We are definitely coming back and you are an amazing writer.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

I'm glad that we lived up to your exceptions, and our efforts were appreciated and it's so kind of you to say so.
Thank you,
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Elize K - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elize K
With spouse/partner

We had a wonderful time at Travelling Tortoise.

It was a lovely place to stay, very quiet and a very good place to relax and rest. Visiting there in February was maybe not such a good idea, because of temperatures around 40°, but we can not fault anything about our visit! Hospitality and service was excellent! Thank you Jeff!

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

It's always nice to read that we were without fault, thank you so much for you very high ratings.
Yes, it was very hot during your stay, AC has been suggested many times, but impossible when off the grid.
Please return in cooler times.
Thank you once again.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Margaret S - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Margaret S
With spouse/partner

Ons wou nie daar wegry! Die ideale plek vir batterye herlaai.

Wil so gou moontlik weer gaan.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat 's response

Thank you Mageret for visiting us. Sorry that you thought that I fell down on customer service.
Jeff.

The Travelling Tortoise Retreat
Nadine D - Feb 2020
Overall score