The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Unathi Private Game Lodge | TravelGround
+134

Unathi Private Game Lodge

33 reviews
Game Lodge

Review Summary

4.4 out of 5from 33 reviews for Unathi Private Game Lodge
Cleanliness
4.2/5
Service
4.4/5
Location
4.5/5
Safety
4.6/5
Value for money
4.4/5
Lesly B - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lesly B
With friends

Peaceful, relaxing.

Quiet and peaceful. Relaxing and friendly staff.

Corrie V - Sep 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Corrie V
With spouse/partner

From our arrival up to our departure, everything was excellent.

We needed peace and quite and that was wat we had for the weekend. Will definitely make a plan to visit Unathi again. Thank You Cilliers for your hospitality.

Francois V - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Francois V
Family with young children

Hada nice quiet weekend.

Can see there are places that need some attention. For example, some of the swings in the playground have screws and splinters that can hurt children. The driver is brilliant. He does everything in this place. Makes food, bartender, cleaner, reception and do it all with a smile.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Lekker rustige naweek.

Kan sien daar is plekke wat bietjie aandag nodig het. Byvoorbeeld, van die swaaie in die speelparkie het skroewe en splinters wat kinders kan seer maak. Die bestuurder is briljant. Hy doen als in die plek. Maak kos, bartender, skoonmaker, ontvangs en doen dit als met 'n glimlag.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Candice T - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Candice T
With spouse/partner

Lovely stay, really such a nice place to go and unwind and relax, little one really enjoyed it and at least we were protected from the rain when it poured.

I loved this place and will be back, I just found that the staff didn't really communicate with us, we booked a bush breakfast for Saturday morning but it rained unfortunately so we had to cancel. Breakfast was at 9 and at 10:15 we still didn't know what was happening or where to go etc. The game drive we booked for Saturday afternoon 4pm but it rained. No one came to see if we still wanted to go or if we could move it to another time or the next day so we just left it. Didn't get to go on a game drive. Pity about the bathroom, we were in chalet 1 and unfortunately the squirrels are in the chalet which I understand not much can be done to keep them out but the mess in the bathroom is just terrible. All in the shower and toilet not clean at all. But overall we had a nice stay nice and relaxing and the breakfasts were amazing.

Mulungisi Russel M - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Mulungisi Russel M
With spouse/partner

It was a good stay. Quiet.

But what need to improve is TV. And install Wi-Fi for guests.

Ylana U - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ylana U
With spouse/partner

Was rustig en pragtig. Sal beslis weer wil gaan.

Was rustig en mooi. Sal graag weer wil gaan. Dis privaat en badkamers was altyd netjies.

Francis B - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
2/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Francis B
With spouse/partner

Was great.

It was incredibly nice. Just a pity we didn't see a manager or owner at all. One wants to be welcomed. Only Isaac the bartender was there all weekend to help if we wanted to know or needed anything.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Was great gewees.

Dit was vreeslik lekker. Net jammer dat ons glad nie bestuur of eienaar gesien het nie. Mens wil tog maar verwelkom word. Net Isaac die barman was daar die hele naweek om te help as ons iets wou weet of nodig gehad het.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Alda G - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Alda G
With spouse/partner

Vind jouself in die bos.

Het ongelooflike tydjie by Unathi gehad. Eenheid was skoon en netjies met alles wat jy nodig het. Die ontbyt was van uitstaande gehalte. Gaan definitief baie gou weer hulle besoek.

Ruchel B - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ruchel B
With spouse/partner

Dit was 'n ongelooflike naweek.

Ons het die naweek so geniet! Sal enige tyd die plek aanbeveel. Chane en Harry laat jou dadelik tuis voel en is so vriendelik. Hulle het ons hartlik verwelkom. Die plek is netjies en bekostigbaar. Die perfekte plek vir 'n wegbreek. Ons sal definitief weer terugkeer! Julle is awesome!

Daan M - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Daan M

'n Heerlike ondervinding.

Ons is vriendelik ontvang met ons aankoms. Alles was reeds in plek en ek moes net die sleuteldeposito betaal. Een opmerking om in gedagte te hou is dat daar baie muskiete is, maar dit is die natuur. Jy, as besoeker, weet by voorbaat waarvoor jy jou inlaat en moet voldoende voorsiening maak daarvoor. Ons het heerlik met Lucy gespeel en teen Sondag was ons, (ek, my seun en Lucy) uitgespeel. Ons arms was af van bal gooi en Lucy was flou gehardloop. Ek kan Unathi Lodge sterk aanbeveel vir enigeen wat hou van die bos maar nie noodwendig soek na vyfster verblyf, vermaak en kostes nie.

Nicolene W - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Nicolene W
With spouse/partner

Relaxing, quiet atmosphere where we could enjoy the sunset alone, sit around the camping fire with a cold beer in the hand.

See stars.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Rustige stil atmosfeer waar ons alleen die sonsondergang kon geniet, om die kampvuur sit met 'n koue bier in die hand.

Sien sterre.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Etienne B - Dec 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Etienne B
Family with young children

Was baie lekker.

Dis 'n lekker gesinsoord waar mens kan rus en tyd saam met jou kinders geniet.

Willem F - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Willem F
With spouse/partner

Moet nie in tented camp bly nie!

Baie lekker plek, maar op webwerf word tee, koffie, suiker en melk belowe. Ons het net bietjie koffiepoeier gekry en niks suiker en melk nie. Moes gaan vra vir vullisdrom. Moes later weer vra dat ons bad skoongemaak word, want dit was vol gras, mis en urine. Aan ons gesê dat daar eekhorings in die dak nes gemaak het. Volgende oggend is bad weer vol mis en urine. Kon dus nie bad nie en het maar later gaan swem. Sondagaand het ek een van die eekhorings dood in die bad aangetref. Het maar nie weer gaan vra dat bad skoongemaak word nie, want volgens my as jy weet van die probleem moet jy as oord tog aandag daaraan gee of gereeld kom skoonmaak. Ons het net die bad gehad, geen stort nie en het dus maar heel neweek geswem om skoon te wees en hare met 'n beker gewas direk van die kraan. Verder baie lekker plek, maar vermy maar die tente.

Unathi Private Game Lodge's response

Good Day Willem, thank you very much for your valued feedback we will keep all pointed notes in mind, kindly see your booking form with LekkeSlaap and you will have a see that your stay with us only included such as milk and toiletries and rusks as the extras were only added a few weeks after you made your booking with us.

As mentioned in our 1st reply to you, we had emptied out the dustbins that morning before your arrival, our staff must have forgotten to place one at the tented camps but immediately after you notified us when you just arrived we placed one there.

Chane is our lodge manager and would have gladly assisted where need be if you did have a problem with your stay with us, upon check out you could have notified us as we would jump on any occasion to assist anyone where need be. It does not matter what time of day we are always available to assist if you were to come to us as we go out of our way to make it comfortable for all.

Chane also indicated that you may make use of any one of the two bathrooms, one has a bath the other a shower. As for the squirrels, we, unfortunately, cannot be at the bathrooms 24/7 and clean up after the squirrels 24/7. As mentioned we would have no problem if you were just to notify us when the squirrels made a mess because our cleaning lady is not on call all day, and unfortunately Chane does need to help clients at the main lodge and can't go to the tented camp bathrooms every hour. This is the first we heard of a deal squirrel as you did not mention anything on your first review but thanks very much for letting us know.

Sorry that you did not enjoy your weekend with us, we do try our utmost best to keep all clients happy.

Have a super year ahead
Kindest Regards
Unathi

Unathi Private Game Lodge
Nancy N - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nancy N
With spouse/partner

It was incredibly enjoyable, quiet and relaxing.

Unathi Bush Lodge is the perfect breakaway for relaxation. We were received with open arms and felt welcome. I had a few extra requests and they went out of their way to make those things happen. Will recommend it so anyone.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was ongelooflik heerlik, stil en rustig.

Unathi Bush Lodge is die perfekte wegbreek vir 'n vinnige ontspan. Ons is met ope arms ontvang en het baie welkom gevoel. Ek het 'n paar ekstra versoeke gehad en hulle het uit hulle pad gegaan om dit te verwesenlik. Sal Unathi Bush Lodge vir enige iemand aanbeveel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Gerhardus G - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Gerhardus G
Family with teenagers

Dit was baie aangenaam.

Die plek se atmosfeer is uitstekend, almal is vriendelik, die perdry was heerlik en die plek behoort in die somer met swembad nog lekkerder te wees.

Carol S - Jun 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Carol S
Family with young children

Very nice.

Suggestion: Seeing that it's self-catering, the kitchen needs more space to prepare food. The shower's floor really hurts your feet.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie lekker.

Voorstel: Aangesien dit selfsorg is, meer spasie in die kombuis om voedsel voor te berei. Die stort se vloer maak jou voete baie seer.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Hendrik B - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hendrik B
With spouse/partner

Die verblyf was heerlik in 'n rustige omgewing.

Die aanwysings na die plaas was baie maklik om te volg. Ons is flink ontvang en verwelkom. Ons het baie wild gesien en die diere is redelik mak. Nathan het baie moeite gedoen om ons tuis te laat voel en het ons selfs op 'n voël kyk staptog geneem. Dit was lekker om saam met so 'n goed ingeligte gids te stap.

Anthony L - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Anthony L
Family with young children

Peaceful, accommodating and a perfect getaway if you looking for some quiet time to rest.

Peaceful, accommodating and a perfect getaway if you looking for some quiet time to rest. A wonderful place indeed and will definitely return for more stays.

Lyneen O - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lyneen O
Family with young children

Baie dankie. Ons sien julle weer.

Baie dankie vir die lekker verblyf. Julle is almal soos 'n familie. Lucy is oneindig pragtig. Poue is soos troeteldiere, te oulik. Sien julle weer.

Jonathan R - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Jonathan R
Family with young children

Was baie lekker en baie naby aan Pretoria.

Was baie lekker gewees en glad nie ver om te ry.

Lynette B - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lynette B
Individual traveler

What a pleasant weekend. Friendly, helpful host. Thanks Anita and everybody. Had a blast.

See star-rating.

Suette N - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Suette N
Individual traveler

The best place to get away from the busy city.

It was a lovely getaway from the rush of the city. The clean air and tranquillity lets you return to reality and the wonderful nature.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Die beste plek om van die stadsgeraas en gejaag te detox.

Dit was 'n heerlike wegbreek van die malle gejaag en geraas van die stad. Die skoon lug en rustigheid laat jou weer terugkeer na die werklikheid en die wonderlike natuur.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Jeanette D - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jeanette D
With spouse/partner

Baie rustig en na aan die natuur.

Ons gasvrou was baie vriendelik en behulpsaam. Ons het redelik wild gesien en het veilig gevoel.

Allek P - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Allek P
With spouse/partner

Dit was 'n wonderlike belewenis.

Dit is rêrig 'n lekker belewenis gewees, almal is vriendelik gewees, het gevoel asof almal al jare ken. Baie dankie vir die wonderlike tydjie.

Lyneen O - Sep 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lyneen O
Family with teenagers

Dit was awesome, dankie.

Baie rustige atmosfeer en 'n great wegbreek. Sien julle weer Desember.

Johann D - Sep 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johann D
With spouse/partner

Fantastic.

Everything you need to really relax.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fantasties.

Alles wat mens begeer om werklik te rus.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Helena J - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
1/5
Helena J
Family with young children

Disappointed.

Positive: Owners were very friendly and helpful. Nice setting. Ideal for people without children who just want to rest and do nothing. Negative: Play area very unsafe eg. a loose ladder made to stand against a tree is used by children to climb into tree houses. Holes at the sides of the trampoline are open. Nothing to do, no game drives. On arrival it was mentioned that the bar was open 24 hours per day, but when we wanted to get drinks at 18:30 during our braai everything was closed. Lucy the dog is very cute but he tore our children's toys and we had to entertain him all the time by throwing a ball. When I go to a lodge I don't want to keep other people's animals busy. This is a house on other people's private farm which is utilised as a lodge. Every time I needed something I had to go into the owner's private lodging which was uncomfortable. They are still new in this industry and I hope things will improve because this place has potential.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Teleurgesteld.

Positief: Eienaars was baie vriendelik en behulpsaam. Mooi omgewing. Ideaal vir mense sonder kinders wat net wil rus en niks doen. Negatief: Speelarea baie onveilig bv. 'n losstaande leer teen 'n boom moet gebruik word vir kinders om in boomhuis te klim. Trampoline se gate aan die kant is oop. Niks om te doen, geen wildritte. Met aankoms is daar genoem dat die kroeg 24 uur oop is, toe ons 18:30 vir ons drinkgoed wil kry saam ons braai was alles toe. Lucy die hond is baie oulik maar hy het ons kinders se speelgoed stukkend gebyt en ons moes hom die heeltyd entertain deur 'n bal te gooi, as ek na 'n lodge gaan wil ek nie ander mense se diere besig hou nie. Dit was eerder 'n huisie op mense se privaat plaas as 'n lodge. Elke keer as ek iets nodig gehad het moes ek die eienaar se privaat blyplek ingaan wat ongemaklik was. Hulle is nog nuut in die bedryf, hoop dit sal verbeter want dit het potensiaal.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Unathi Private Game Lodge's response

Thank you very much for your review and will rectify a few things in the play area.

Unfortunately at no point in time did Debbie mention that the bar is open 24hours, and before she closed she bar she came to ask if you needed anything, you replied you were happy, thank you. Lucy is our lodge dog a few lodges and always will be, a dog has has a mind of their own we can call as much as we like, if she adopts you for the weekend she shows trust and love in you, such happens with most of our clients. She does not destroy or bite toys broken either unless it was given to her then she will play with it and not eat it up. Secondly you were allowed to anytime drive on the farm and go and view game with cool drinks and go sit at the watering hole and see some of our game. If you drove around the farm you would of seen we are busy in the process of building our home and where we are at the moment is temporary , we do not stay on our farm merely go once we have clients as we live in the East Rand. We were more thank accommodating to the best of our ability, even lighting your fire for you. Sorry you feel this way.

We can only get better from her own.

Regards

Unathi Private Game Lodge
Petro P - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Petro P
Family with young children

Tranquil, quiet and very relaxing!

The accommodation is clean and neat. The owners are friendly and pleasant. It might need a couch inside, it gets cooler now and it will be nice if you can sit inside at night. There is a wonderful friend for the kids, Luccy, a beautiful dog that offered hours of fun!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Rustig, stil heerlik ontspannend!

Die verblyf is skoon en netjies. Die eienaars is vriendelik en aangenaam. Daar kort dalk 'n bank binne, dit word nou koeler en sal lekker wees as mens saans binne kan sit ook. Daar is 'n wonderlike speelmaat vir kinders, Luccy, 'n pragtige hond wat ure se plesier verskaf!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Lenese O - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Lenese O
With spouse/partner

It was awesome, just what we needed.

The accommodation was lovely, if you want silence, go to Unathi Game Lodge. Took a lovely walk every morning in the bush and saw animals, kudus, blue wildebeest, blesbuck, red buck and zebras. Nobody and nothing bothering you.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was awesome, net wat ek en my eggenoot nodig gehad het.

Die verblyf was heerlik, as jy stilte wil hê, gaan na Unathi Game Lodge. Elke oggend 'n heerlike stappie gevat in die bos en die diere gesien, koedoes, blou wildebees, blesbok, rooibokke en sebras. Niks en niemand wat jou pla nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Roland V - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Roland V
With spouse/partner

Dit was uiters aangenaam.

Dit was uiters aangenaam; diens was puik.

Johan L - Mar 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Johan L
With friends

Baie lekker.

Baie lekker. Sou geniet het as daar 'n klein winkeltjie beskikbaar was.

Hannes S - Mar 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Hannes S
Family with young children

Baie lekker.

Baie lekker. Sal weer gaan.

Elsie V - Mar 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
1/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Elsie V
With friends

Left a bad taste in the mouth.

Accommodation was good. The fact that I was called afterwards and told that I didn't pay left a bad taste in the mouth. Accommodation was paid 2 days before we arrived and proof of payment was acknowledged by Unathi itself. So I won't be back and I won't recommend it to anyone else at all.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Bitter smaak in die mond.

Verblyf self was goed. Die feit dat ek gekontak is na die tyd om te sê verblyf is nie betaal nie, laat 'n baie bitter smaak in die mond. Verblyf was betaal 2 dae voor aankoms en bewys van betaling is erken deur Unathi self. Die feit maak dat ek geensins sal teruggaan na die betrokke plek nie en dit ook geensins kan aanbeveel vir iemand anders nie!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Unathi Private Game Lodge's response

Dear Elsie!
We have many clients payments to look out for, yes we missed one payment of many and we apologised for that! During your stay we were nothing but welcoming and helpful and go through many emails per day. We are terribly sorry for mistaking your payment as a non-payment but by all means don't put Unathis name down for one fault of which was our own. Like I have stated, we really do go through a lot of people. We try our best to keep updated!

Unathi Private Game Lodge
was R700
From R525
per night (for 2 people)
was R700
From R525
per night (for 2 people)
was R700
From R525
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 18 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 20:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: Veekraal, Brits, 0250, North West
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDk3ZjI3ZWVjLTk5ODYtNDNjNy05MzcwLTM2OWE3ZDg2OWMwNw?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format was R700, now From R525  per night (for 2 people) 33 5 1 5 Veekraal Brits 0250 North West 0860 022 102 14:00-20:00 10:00 -25.404373 27.72076
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!