The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Virginia Forest Lodge | TravelGround
+67

Virginia Forest Lodge

Review Summary

4.7 out of 5from 47 reviews for Virginia Forest Lodge
Cleanliness
4.6/5
Service
4.7/5
Location
4.6/5
Safety
4.9/5
Value for money
4.5/5
Elmarie L - Jul 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Elmarie L

Beautiful area and safe, but disappointing.

Photos misleading. Very clean and staff very helpful, but definitely needs a woman's touch. Also, no breakfast is available, even though advertised. Furniture and bedding are old and tatty and no cutlery or crockery, 2 cups, glasses and 1 wine glass. Had to go ask for extras. Because of helpful staff and cleanliness, I can't give them a bad score. Just need a bit of an upgrade.

Sonette L - May 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sonette L
With spouse/partner

Heerlik, rustig en gemaklik.

Pragtige ligging, rustige area, gemaklike groot kamers en badkamers met als wat jy nodig het vir 'n oornagverblyf.

Thobile T - May 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
1/5
Thobile T
With friends

The place needs proper maintenance and cleaning.

The place needs painting, new floors, plumbing maintenance, couches to be repaired, not enough uniform cutlery, shortage of glasses, fridge freezes food, cupboards to be repaired. A second person is needed to help spring clean the house every day so it is clean n fresh for guests. The garden and pool were not well maintained. I wouldn't go back nor recommend the place to anyone in my circles.

Karel V - Jan 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Karel V
With friends

They are just great, friendly and very clean!

Very well located near various beaches and a variety of activities.

Patience M - Jan 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Patience M
Family with young children

We enjoyed to stay.

The place was beautiful people walking there are nice people. They know how to talk to people we enjoyed to stay.

Tshepi M - Jan 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Tshepi M
Family with young children

The place needs attention.

Just decent nothing to brag about. The furniture was old not mentioning the fridges. We even had spoilt meat during our stay because non of the fridges were cold enough. A serious revamp of the place is needed.

Sphiwe P - Dec 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sphiwe P
With spouse/partner

Good place to be.

The place looks goods and neat.

Steven M - Dec 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Steven M
With spouse/partner

I enjoyed the stay.

See stars.

An-lie M - Nov 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
An-lie M
Individual traveler

Definately a place to stay.

I would recommend this accommodation and will stay here again. After having to change accommodation when I arrived in Durban, they were very helpful in assisting me. I was greeted by a friendly face (Jared the manager), who helped me with my check-in and was always available. The rooms are neat and tidy with the amenities you need, just like in the pictures. The staff is extremely accommodating and very friendly. It is in a quiet and secure area. It is almost like a home away from home.

Marwaan D - Nov 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marwaan D
On business

Nice location and facilities

The place was reasonable. Smal things need to be maintained and some attention to details is required i.e. my room did not have an aircon remote.

Jaco M - Nov 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Jaco M
On business

Neat and tidy. Premises requires some attention. Lack of solutions towards loadshedding.

The guesthouse was neat and tidy. However, one can notice that the premises require some maintenance and attention. Room 2's DStv/TV link did not work. Lack to facilitate breakfast during loadshedding is an issue. To provide services to guests during loadshedding should be mandatory. This will distinguish special accommodations from lesser, more average ones.

Ugen R - Sep 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ugen R
On business

Beautiful place.

Such an awesome laid-back place with no noise and the most perfect gentleman host who always ensure all is well. I will definitely be back.

Ingla S - Aug 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Ingla S
With spouse/partner

Vriendelik, hulpvaardig. Skoon en netjies.

Skoon en netjies. Hulpvaardig en vriendelik.

Melissa N - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Melissa N
With friends

I really enjoyed myself and my friends did too. The breakfast was very nice.

We will definitely go back to Virgina Forest Lodge. Thank you Elsabe you're such a wonderful and kind host.

Stefan D - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Stefan D
With spouse/partner

Baie vriendelik en lafenis na lang warm pad.

Apies was iets nuuts.

Relda M - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Relda M
Family with teenagers

Pragtige huis, netjies, gesellig en baie goed ingerig.

Ons kan Virginia Forest Lodge definitief aanbeveel. Elsabe het uit haar pad gegaan om ons verblyf gemaklik te maak. Ons was in Durban vir 'n gala en Elsabe het al ons water en ander verversings in die kombuisyskas vir ons gestoor. Sal definitief weer hier bly.

Marlene L - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marlene L
With friends

Only had a one night stay due to a function close by, never the less, the stay was great.

See stars.

Sne D - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sne D
With friends

The place was clean and neat.

The staff and Elsabe were friendly and helpful, the linen were clean and breakfast was delicious. We had a great stay, but I was afraid of the big cat.

Anton D - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Anton D
Individual traveler

Quiet area with all you need.

I enjoyed my stay at Virginia Forest Lodge. Located within walking distance from the beach, shops and restaurants. Located in a quiet area and I always felt safe, even when walking to the restaurants and shops.

Lungiswa S - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lungiswa S
With spouse/partner

Staff is very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast is delicious. Rooms are nice and clean.

Marvelous and so beautiful.

Brian D - Jun 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Brian D
With spouse/partner

Good!

We really enjoyed our stay. They went out of their way to make sure we are happy!

Nakitha L - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Nakitha L
With spouse/partner

Very nice.

We enjoyed the stay. The hospitality was absolutely wonderful.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie lekker.

Ons het baie lekker gebly. Die gasvryheid was asbsoluut wonderlik gewees.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Bongie M - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Bongie M
With spouse/partner

Great suburb nice & quiet.

See stars.

Lize S - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lize S
Family with teenagers

Ons was baie tevrede met die plek.

Die kamer was netjies. Daar was lekker warm water as mens stort. Die kos was heerlik.

Madelein K - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Madelein K
With spouse/partner

In this tranquil area you can truly wind down to savour the moment.

If you're looking to relax and wind down in a central and safe location, this is the place. Close enough to the highways yet far enough to experience a quiet atmosphere. Friendly and helpful people makes this place highly recommendable.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

In hierdie rustige omgewing kan jy werlik afskakel en die oomblik ten volle geniet.

As jy wil afskakel én ontspan in 'n sentrale veilige omgewing, is hierdie net die plek vir jou. Naby genoeg aan hoofweë maar vergenoeg om absolute stilte te ervaar. Vriendelike en hulpvaardige mense maak hierdie 'n móét op my lys.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Suzelle S - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Suzelle S

Vriendelike mense, behulpaam.

Kamers netjies. Etes goed.

Delmain Clint E - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Delmain Clint E
With spouse/partner

A home away from home.

Enjoyed our stay at Virginia Forest Lodge and will definitely return in future.

Andre D - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Andre D
On business

Fantasties, vriendelike, skoon en netjies.

Vandat ek aangekom het en 4 dae later vertrek het was dit net 'n plesier. Elsabe is 'n ster. Vriendelike diens, heerlike ontbyte en goeie geselskap. Ek sal definitief weer by Virginia Forest lodge kom kuier as ek in Durban is. Heerlik maklik en sentraal geleë na beide rigtings, Durban of Umhlanga.

Cheryl S - Feb 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Cheryl S
With spouse/partner

Pleasant, easily accessible, safe and centrally located.

What a lovely place, such friendly staff where nothing was too much toruble. We will definitely be back!

Andreas V - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Andreas V
With spouse/partner

Gasvryheid uit die boonste rakke!

Lekker plekkie met baie vriendelike mense.

Michelle C - Dec 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Michelle C

Ontspanne en 'n mens voel tuis.

Met die instapslag voel 'n mens al welkom.

Henk K - Oct 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Henk K
With friends

Uitstekend!

Baie lekker gebly. Elsabe was baie gasvry, vriendelik en behulpsaam. Virginia Forest Lodge is baie goed geleë naby alles en ons het dit baie geniet! Sal verseker weer soontoe gaan!

Lesego N - Oct 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
1/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Lesego N
With friends

Bad customer service.

The staff were not welcoming or friendly at all. They couldn't wait for us to leave and when we did, they didn't even bother to ask us if we enjoyed our stay.

Virginia Forest Lodge 's response

Dear Lesego,
I am very sorry that you feel this way. I feel that it we provided very good customer service and that the staff were friendly, helpful whilst accommodating your group by getting your rooms ready early at 11:00 when you arrived at the Lodge to check in. Check-in time is actually 14:00 as per the website.
You may however have felt uncomfortable at breakfast as the other guests of a fully booked Lodge were unhappy for being woken up and disturbed at 02.30 in the morning when your group arrived noisily at the Lodge and continuing your get together in the parking area.
If by any chance no-one asked you if you had enjoyed your stay, it may have been due to the fact that you had requested to stay an aditional night, and it would be understood that you would not have requested to stay another night if you were not happy. We could unfortunately not accommodate your group as the Lodge was fully booked.
Kind Regards,
Elsabe
Manager

Virginia Forest Lodge
Yerisha R - Aug 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Yerisha R
With spouse/partner

Lovely, friendly and comfortable.

It was a lovely stay, warm welcome, lovely rooms.

Stephan P - Feb 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Stephan P
With friends

Briljant!

Beste mense en plek om te bly in Durban.

Thabiso M - Jan 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Thabiso M
Family with young children

The ownwers were very friendly

We had a nice stay at Virginia Lodge and we had fun

Banele M - Apr 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Banele M
With spouse/partner

Excellent accomodation with superb hosts

It was an awesome experience and enjoyable. Conditions and atmosphere were perfect in lodge. The only issue was cleanliness with linen needing to be changed daily.

Vivian T - Mar 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Vivian T
With spouse/partner

Aan alle verwagtings voldoen!

Hierdie mense was baie vriendelik, ons ontvangs was gul. Hulle weet hoe om gaste tuis te laat voel. Hulle werk as 'n span saam en is baie hulpvaardig. Ons beveel hulle sterk aan by enige toekomstige gaste.

Werner G - Jan 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Werner G
With spouse/partner

Hoogs tevrede.

Ons is baie tevrede. Die eienaars is baie vriendelik en gasvry, sal dit beslis aanbeveel.

Sune S - Dec 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Sune S
With spouse/partner

Ons het werklik ons verblyf hier ten volle geniet!

Ons is baie vriendelik verwelkom en het dadelik tuis gevoel. Die kamer was baie mooi en gemaklik. Die ontbyt was fantasties!

Arista M - Oct 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Arista M

Hartlik ontvang en baie lekker verblyf!

Baie lekker verblyf.

Dan M - Sep 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Dan M
On business

Good Place

Good and they show respect to visitors.

Marlien B - May 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marlien B
On business

Die eienaars laat jou voel soos ou vriende wat kom kuier...

Die gastehuis is ideaal geleë, die mense ongelooflik vriendelik en gasvry en die fasiliteite perfek.

Elna M - Apr 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elna M
With spouse/partner

Wonderful stay. Mike and Arline are very good hosts.

I can recommend this guest house for those seeking a lovely, relaxed stay.

Portia D - Feb 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Portia D
With spouse/partner

Great service.

I love the fact that the service feels personalised. We will definitely be using Virgina Forest Lodge for our Durban trips, and so will our friends and family. :)

Johan N - Nov 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johan N
With spouse/partner

Great

Virgina Forest Lodge is a great place to stay, with peaceful surroundings and great hosts.

Jon B - Oct 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jon B
On business

Really made to feel welcome .... almost part of the family!

From arrival to departure you are part of this wacky hospitality duo's family. Really easy going and hosts Arlene and Mike are around to meet your needs or even ferry you safely to and from a local restaurant. I would definitely return.

From
R750
per night, for 2 ppl
From
From R750
per night, for 2 ppl
From
R750
per night, for 2 ppl
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 21 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 23:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 20 Clinch Crescent, Virginia, Durban North, 4051, KwaZulu-Natal
  • No children under 8
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJpDYQh9ESWnAMZcI2EDvmxcLhtZbEWtiitdy5liinYJp8qj7wd?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 From R750  per night, for 2 ppl 47 5 1 5 20 Clinch Crescent Virginia 4051 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-23:00 10:00 -29.765541546716 31.057469844818
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!