The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Wensleydale Guest Lodge | TravelGround
+46

Wensleydale Guest Lodge

Review Summary

4.4 out of 5from 34 reviews for Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Cleanliness
4.4/5
Service
4.5/5
Location
4.2/5
Safety
4.4/5
Value for money
4.5/5
Marcelle M - Sep 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Marcelle M
With spouse/partner

Huislik, ontspannend en net mooi.

Dankie vir 'n heerlike skoon plekkie! Heerlike bed om op te slap. Dankie vir vriendelike mense en omgewing, Jul sal ons vir seker weer sien! Kan nie wag!

John W - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
John W
Family with teenagers

Very good, we have enjoyed to stay there.

Comfortable, clean, quiet, safe. We definitely will come back next time.

Wensleydale Guest Lodge's response

Dear John,

It was such a pleasure hosting your family at our Lodge and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We do look forward to accommodating you again at a future date.

Warmest regards
Wensleydale Guest Lodge

Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Anja B - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Anja B
Individual traveler

Rustig, skoon en netjies.

Heerlike geslaap, rustige atmosfeer.

Wensleydale Guest Lodge's response

Baie dankie vir jou terugvoering. Anje. Ons is so bly dat jy die kort tydjie hier by ons geniet het en jou kamer gemaklik was. Ons hoop om jou sommer vinnig weer te huisves.

Alles van die bester vir die jaar vorentoe.

Vriendelike groete
Wensleydale Guest Lodge

Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Mohau M - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Mohau M
Family with teenagers

Had a relaxing stay with friendly staff, enjoyed our stay to the fullest.

Very cool place in the forest, was just worried about the parking seeing it a bit far from our room, but then I realised wasn't that easy coming in. Located near the mall and not far away from the Liberty Mall!

Wensleydale Guest Lodge's response

Thank you so much for your lovely review Mohau! We were so happy to accommodate your lovely family here with us and look forward to doing so again soon!

Warm regards
Wensleydale Guest Lodge

Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Jabulani K - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jabulani K
With spouse/partner

I enjoyed my stay at the venue, will definitely return.

The venue was not far from where my son was playing cricket, St Charles College. It was also accessible to shopping malls. I enjoyed my stay and will return.

Wensleydale Guest Lodge's response

Thank you so much for your review Jabulani! We really enjoyed accommodating you here with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards
Wensleydale Guest Lodge

Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Stefan L - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Stefan L
With spouse/partner

Friendliness.

Very clean, well equipped, safe.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Vriendelikheid.

Baie skoon, goeie diens, veilig.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Wensleydale Guest Lodge's response

Baie dankie vir jou terugvoering Stefan! Dit was 'n plesier om julle hier by ons te huisves en ons hoop om julle sommer gou weer te sien.

Vriendelike groete
Wensleydale Guest Lodge

Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Deon N - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Deon N

Baie gemaklik en netjies.

Het 'n eenheid bespreek vir 4 mans op sakereis en moes toe langer bly. Moes elke dag nog een aand bespreek en alhoewel ons 1 aand van kamers geskuif was oor kort kennisgewing en huidige kamer reeds bespreek was, was die dame steeds bereid om vir ons 'n kamer te gee. Die plek is fantasties en word elke dag skoongemaak. Ons het elke aand laat gekom en het tot so ver gegaan om vir ons die ligte te gaan aansit. Baie dankie vir die diens. Ek sal beslis weer by julle oorslaap.

Wensleydale Guest Lodge's response

Baie dankie vir jou terugvoering Deon! Ons probeer altyd om 'n "home away from home" te bied aan ons gaste en ons is bly dat jy en jou span so tuis gevoel het. Ons sien daarna uit om julle weer hier te huisves en wens julle en jul families 'n geseende Kersfees en voorspoedige Nuwe Jaar toe.

Vriendelike groete
Wensleydale Guest Lodge

Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Rialda D - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rialda D
With spouse/partner

See stars.

We were warmly and kindly received. Wensleydale is conveniently located for what we booked it for. It was nice to stay there and will definitely stay there again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Sien sterre.

Ons is hartlik en vriendelik ontvang. Wensleydale is gerieflik geleë vir wat ons dit voor bespreek het. Dit was lekker om daar te bly en sal vir seker weer daar bly.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Wensleydale Guest Lodge's response

Beste Rialda,
Ons is so bly dat julle jul tyd hier by ons geniet het. Dit was 'n plesier om julle te huisves en ons hoop om julle sommer gou weer te sien!
Vriendelike groete,
Wensleydale Guest Lodge

Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Nompumelelo Z - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nompumelelo Z
With spouse/partner

Excellent venue.

Once again, excellent value for money.

Wensleydale Guest Lodge's response

Thank you so much for your lovely rating Nompumelelo! It was such a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to your next stay!

Warm regards,
Wensleydale Guest Lodge

Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Elizabeth D - Sep 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Elizabeth D
With spouse/partner

Comfortable and well appointed.

Our stay was only for one night. We were welcomed by Marita and our room was upgraded due to the night being quiet. Unfortunately our geyser was not working but Marita did make a plan for us. I do suggest fixing the shower door in the unit we stayed in and perhaps a new toilet seat and some shooter glasses. Also, caffeinated coffee, not just decaf.

Andre S - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Andre S
With spouse/partner

Excellent value for money.

Unit was very well equipped. The establishment is well organised and professionally managed. We will overnight there again.

Wensleydale Guest Lodge's response

Dear Andre,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here with us. It's always lovely to receive good feedback from Guests. You were a pleasure to accommodate and we look forward to seeing you again the future.
Kind regards,
Wensleydale Lodge Management team

Wensleydale Guest Lodge
George M - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
George M
With spouse/partner

Good located, comfortable and clean.

See rating.

Wensleydale Guest Lodge's response

Thank you for your lovely review George! It was a pleasure hosting your family here with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,
Management Team
Wensleydale Guest Lodge

Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Gerda V - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gerda V
Family with young children

Baie oulike plekkie!

Veilig, bekostigbaar, het welkom gevoel, pragtig!

Wensleydale Guest Lodge's response

Thank you so much for your lovely review, Gerda! It was a pleasure hosting your family here with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest regards,
Management Team at Wensleydale Guest Lodge

Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Mariaan L - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mariaan L
Individual traveler

Fantastic.

Very friendly and helpful reception. I enjoyed my stay and can definitely recommend the tranquil atmosphere and surroundings. Everything was very clean and neat!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fantasties.

Baie vriendelike en hulpvaardige ontvangs. Ek het baie lekker gebly en kan die rustige atmosfeer en omgewing beslis aanbeveel. Alles was baie skoon en netjies!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Wensleydale Guest Lodge's response

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope to be afforded the opportunity to do so again very soon. Wishing you all the best.
Management Team
Wensleydale Guest Lodge

Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Flo S - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Flo S
With friends

Friendly helpful lovely venue indeed.

Friendly helpful - amazing place to stay.

Wensleydale Guest Lodge's response

Thank you so much for your lovely review Flo! It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and we hope that you will afford us this opportunity again at a future date.

Kind regards,
Wensleydale Guest Lodge

Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Daan B - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Daan B
With spouse/partner

Enjoyably and will use them again. It's like home.

Very clean and quiet. Was helped even though the dates were wrong. They were very helpful and friendly and accommodated .

Wensleydale Guest Lodge's response

Dear Daan,

Thank you for your wonderful review and rating, we really appreciate the feedback. We look forward to accommodating you here in the future.

Kind regards,
Wensleydale Guest Lodge Management

Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Linda P - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Linda P
Family with teenagers

Friendly and warm with lovely accommodation.

Had a warm and friendly welcome and due to renovations placed in larger family unit without additional charge. Wonderful stay. Daily cleaning of unit and nothing was too much to ask.

Wensleydale Guest Lodge's response

Dear Linda,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we really appreciate your feedback. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you and your family was a pleasure to accommodate. We look forward to hosting you here in the future.

Kind regards,
Wensleydale Guest Lodge Management

Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Steven N - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Steven N
On business

Horrible and filthy place.

First day of our arrival was a disaster. I was allocated an embarrassingly small room by a condescending and patronising receptionist. Upon realising my disgust she promised to allocate me to a “honeymoon room” the following day. There as no Wi-Fi. The “honeymoon room” was filthy as well and the carpets had animal hair on it. Every time I turned on the TV, the electricity would trip. The 2-plate stove was filthy and rusted.

Wensleydale Guest Lodge's response

Dear Steven,

My name is Barbara Graham and I'm the Owner along with my husband, of Wensleydale Lodge. We thank you for your feedback and we are so very sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay here at the Lodge. As per your original booking request, you booked our Cosy Overnighter, which is one of our smallest and most cost-effective units. I did speak to the lady that checked you in who then stated that upon making your concerns about the size of the unit known to her, she did offer you our Luxury Garden Suite, which is one of our newer suites and which she thought would give you more space. This unit was then offered to you at the same rate as the Cosy Overnighter. I apologise that the Wi-Fi was intermittent, however, we are having ongoing problems with our service provider, which is being addressed. The cleanliness is also currently being addressed as we have issued all our Cleaners with Cleaning Schedules which have to be completed and followed up by a checks by our ourselves in providing clean, comfortable accommodation to our Guests.

The attitude of the staff member on duty here, who assisted you, is also being addressed and I would like to offer my sincere apologies for this. If there's anything in business which determines success, it's attitude. I would, therefore, like to ask that you please give us a second chance to hopefully prove that we are capable of maintaining the quality and service we have historically always offered our guests. Furthermore, we will be offering you a 10% discount on your next stay to recompense you for the previously uncomfortable stay.

I will also be sending you my direct contact details so that any further problems can be dealt with immediately.

Thank you Steven.

Kindest Regards,
Barbara Graham
Wensleydale Guest Lodge

Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Shaleen H - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Shaleen H
With friends

Uitstekende diens.

Vriendelik en gasvry. Uit hul pad gegaan om ons te help. Gaan beslis weer daar oorbly. Sal Wensleydale beslis aanbeveel.

Wensleydale Guest Lodge's response

Dit was 'n absolute plesier om julle hier by ons the huisves. Julle is altyd weer welkom hier.

Vriendelike Groete,
Bestuurspan
Wensleydale Guest Lodge

Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Eugene J - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Eugene J
On business

Friendly and comfortable stay.

It was a great stay with the opportunity to see geckos and other native animals. The stay was very peaceful and quiet, with exceptionally friendly staff.

Wensleydale Guest Lodge's response

Thank you so much for your lovely review Eugene! It is always lovely to receive feedback from our guests. We hope to host you here with us again very soon.

Kind regards
Management Team
Wensleydale Guest Lodge

Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Danie G - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Danie G
With spouse/partner

Fantasties.

Baie vriendelike eienaars en baie behulpsaam. Skoon en netjies.

Wensleydale Guest Lodge's response

Baie dankie vir jou vriendelike woorde! Dit was 'n absolute plesier om julle hier by ons te huisves en ons hoop om julle sommer gou weer te sien!

Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Carlien F - Jun 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Carlien F
With spouse/partner

Dit was voorwaar besonders in alle opsigte en dan is ons sonder verdere kostes opgegradeer sommer net!

Ons is wonderlik ontvang en behoorlik ingelig oor alles. Verdere hulp is vriendelik en geduldig aangebied. Dit is 'n mooi oase en dit in 'n area wat sekerlik opgeknap kan word. Kan dit sterk aanbeveel.

Wensleydale Guest Lodge's response

Dit was 'n absolute plesier om julle hier by ons te huisves. Julle was 5-ster gaste en julle sal enige tyd weer hier welkom wees.

Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Jan L - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jan L
With spouse/partner

Goed.

Baie netjies op die oog af. Die rottegifpilletjies tussen die kussings op die bed het egter 'n demper geplaas.

Lina S - Feb 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Lina S
Individual traveler

Heerlik geslaap op 'n goeie bed.

Baie vriendelik ontvang, hulpvaardig om te help met verwysing na eetplek naby. Kamer baie netjies met muskiet-weermiddel. Kon oggend heerlik koffie buite op stoep drink. Afdak parkeerplek en veilig.

Wensleydale Guest Lodge's response

Dear Lina,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and we look forward to hosting you here again in the future.

Kind regards,
Wensleydale Guest Lodge Management

Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Leon S - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Leon S
On business

Vriendelike diens.

Plek kort baie herstelwerk.

Wensleydale Guest Lodge's response

Dear Leon,

Thank you for your kind review. We are in the process of doing minor repairs to our Lodge and therefore do apologise for any inconvenience caused during this time. As a part of normal Guest House operations, and in a bid to continue to provide excellent service to our guests, areas of the Lodge are undergoing some improvements in order to keep up with the high standard of decor that we offer our guests.

We look forward to accommodating you here in the future.

Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Alta H - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Alta H
Family with teenagers

Baie pragtige en rugstige plekkie.

Baie mooi huisie, kamers modern, alles is net lekker ingerig. Sal enige tyd weer daar gaan kuier.

Wensleydale Guest Lodge's response

Dear Alta

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. We aim to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable, like a "home away from home". We look forward to hosting you and your family here at our Lodge in the future.

Kind regards
Wensleydale Guest Lodge.

Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Andre S - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Andre S
With spouse/partner

Had a nice braai and will definitely visit again.

See stars.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Heerlik vleisie gebraai en sal beslis weer kom.

Sien sterre.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Wensleydale Guest Lodge's response

Dear Andre,

Thank you so much for review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and we look forward to accommodating you here in the future.

Kind regards,
Wensleydale Guest Lodge

Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Jeanetta J - Mar 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
2/5
Service
2/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Jeanetta J
With spouse/partner

Het voldoen aan ons behoeftes en was goed geleë vir ons omstandighede.

Dit het gelyk of die ontvangs nie ons aankoms verwag het nie. Ons is in 'n ander eenheid geplaas wat wel tot ons voordeel was aangesien daar nog aanbouings langs die eenheid was waar ons oorspronklik sou tuisgaan. Daar was ook nie 'n tafel op die stoep gewees nie en na navraag is daar toe wel 'n tafel gebring wat BAIE vuil was wat ons self moes skrop.

Wensleydale Guest Lodge's response

Dear Jeanetta,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience caused. We pride ourselves in giving our Guests good value for money and a luxury comfortable stay. We apologize for the renovations that were underway at that time but a part of normal Guest House operations and in a bid to continue to provide excellent service to our Guests, areas of the Lodge are undergoing some improvements to keep up with the high standard of decor that we offer our Guests.

Kind regards,
Wensleydale Guest Lodge

Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Marene V - Oct 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Marene V
Family with teenagers

Het net oornag.

Geriewe in kamer/badkamer/kombuis was goed. Lodge is besig met bouwerk, buite-aansig was onnet.

Reinette B - Sep 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Reinette B
With spouse/partner

Knus oornagkamer.

Baie rustige, veilige plek om te ontspan na 'n besige dag. Die kamer het alles wat jy benodig. Ek sal die gastehuis vir almal aanbeveel.

Chantal C - Aug 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Chantal C
With spouse/partner

Honeymoon suite was everything we thought it would be! Thank you.

We booked the honey moon suite and was pleasantly surprised at the special effort made to make it special.

Wensleydale Guest Lodge's response

Dear Chantal,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us and we look forward to accommodating you here in the future.

Kind regards,
Barbara/ Luka Graham

Wensleydale Guest Lodge
Rozanne B - Aug 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Rozanne B

Value for money accommodation!

The units are decorated beautifully and well equipped. Kids enjoyed the swimming pool!

Santie P - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Santie P

Ek sal dit aanbeveel.

Ons is goed en vriendelik ontvang in Afrikaans. Die eenhede was pragtig, skoon en alles was in perfekte toestand.

Frans K - Mar 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Frans K
With spouse/partner

Goeie oornagverblyf.

Ons het net 'n bietjie gesukkel om die plek in die hande te kry.

From R650
per night (for 2 people)
From R650
per night (for 2 people)
From R650
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 25 people
  • Check-in: 13:00 to 20:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 236 Woodhouse Road, Scottsville, Pietermaritzburg, 3201, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJGVkMTM0NDg1LWZkYTEtNGY5Ny1iYTRiLTIwYmNmYzI1MWRmZA?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R650  per night (for 2 people) 34 5 1 5 236 Woodhouse Road Scottsville 3201 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 13:00-20:00 10:00 -29.604711493694 30.412897467613
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!