Winchester Hills Accommodation at Winchester Lodge | TravelGround
+34

Winchester Lodge

Guest House

Review Summary

4.4 out of 5from 23 reviews for Winchester Lodge
Cleanliness
4.5/5
Service
4.1/5
Location
4.3/5
Safety
4.6/5
Value for money
4.4/5
Edwin M - Mar 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Edwin M
On business

Every staff member was friendly and easy to talk to them when need something.

Security on point, easily accessible. WiFi, entertaining braai area and close to a swimming pool. Flexible check in time. But they need to work on the bedding side just a little bit. The shower that we have used was not in good condition. It doesn't supply water accordingly.

Maggy E - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Maggy E
On business

Home away from home and very hospitable.

We had excellent service from the owner and staff members are very professional and hospitable.

Sophie G - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sophie G
Family with teenagers

Heerlik.

Uitstekende waarde vir geld. Alan 'n perfect host.

Judith N - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
2/5
Judith N
Individual traveler

The place was okay but some travellers made me feel unsafe.

The room was fine but I was not happy with a large group of drunk people when I arrived on Friday evening, they continued to play loud music every night the whole weekend. I am just glad I got the room next to the reception because I would not feel safe staying next to a big group of drunk and loud people.

Phumzile N - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Phumzile N
Individual traveler

Staff was very friendly and it's a very clean place.

Very quiet as I was writing my exams and there was no disturbance while I studied.

Winchester Lodge's response

Phumzile,
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and was able to study in peace.
But, what's most important - what was your exam results ? Let us know so we can break open a bottle of Moet & Chandon!
Kind Regards,
Alan - Winchester Lodge

Winchester Lodge
Caroline S - Jun 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Caroline S
Family with young children

Very nice!

It was a pleasure to stay there. We enjoyed it thoroughly!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie lekker!

Dit was 'n plesier on daar te bly. Ons het dit geniet!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Nozipho M - Sep 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
2/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Nozipho M
With spouse/partner

Good place to stay.

It is a good place, but we noticed there were renovations being done, so maybe after they're finished the yard will look neater. We absolutely loved the room we stayed in! They just need to seriously improve the breakfast, we did not enjoy/like it at all. One morning we did not even take it because we had not enjoyed it the previous morning. Otherwise it was nice.

Winchester Lodge's response

Nozi,
I am so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy breakfast because, normally, we receive praise from guests who repeatedly return just for the breakfast.
Having said that, I note that we had a new Chef at the time of your visit but that, we have subsequently replaced him with another. We value your criticism and, further thereto, would like you to accept a complimentary weekend at any time of your choice. We look forward to seeing you again, in the near future. Kind Regards, Alan - Winchester Lodge

Winchester Lodge
Gladys M - Sep 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Gladys M
Family with teenagers

Exceptional hospitality.

Since our stay at Winchester Lodge, my children and I don't think of any other place!

Namukolo M - Aug 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Namukolo M
Individual traveler

Very clean and freindly atmosphere.

Very clean and secure environment with helpful and friendly staff. Would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.

Azalea S - Aug 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Azalea S
With spouse/partner

Excellent!

A friendly, safe environment.

Aubrey P - May 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Aubrey P
Family with young children

Excellent

We really enjoyed staying at Winchester Lodge and will definitely go there again. A very beautiful and tranquil place.

Isaac K - Apr 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Isaac K
With spouse/partner

It is nice, peaceful and clean.

The atmosphere is conducive and receptive. It is well managed. It is clean and very quite and peaceful.

Lorato L - Dec 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Lorato L
With spouse/partner

Had a wonderful stay at Winchester Lodge. Hostess was extremely helpful, sensitive n caring. would definitely stay there again. oh the place had a beautiful view of part of Johannesburg South.

I had a wonderful stay at Winchester Lodge. Place is accessible, very neat and secure.

Wilma K - Oct 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Wilma K
Individual traveler

Home away from home

I stayed for a weekend and can honestly say, Alan and his wife are lovely people. They make you feel at home and their staff very friendly and helpful. My room was very clean and I really enjoyed the breakfast. The lodge is in a very nice quiet suburb, perfect if you love nature. I would definitely recommend them to anyone coming to Johannesburg.

Brendon R - Jul 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Brendon R
With spouse/partner

Beautiful

Alan is a good host, and ensures you feel welcome during your stay.

Nomonde D - Jun 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
2/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nomonde D
With spouse/partner

It was clean and value for money

Value for money stay, however no customer service plus there was construction happening on-site which we were not informed of.

Liezel B - Apr 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Liezel B
Family with young children

Alle verwagtinge oortref!!

Dit was uitstekend! Definitief waarde vir geld.

Wanda N - Mar 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
2/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Wanda N
With spouse/partner

Maintenance needed

Although we stayed in the executive suite and found the room very clean, the balcony needed repairs and the TV reception was very fuzzy. Reception was not very professional and no information was given re: breakfast. To get from our car to the booked room entailed walking past a laundry area and the wash line area was full of rubble. Also the passage roof was leaking as it rained most of the time we were there - a bucket was placed in the walkway to catch the drops.

Shelley W - Oct 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Shelley W

Really nice

We thought it was a really nice place and enjoyed our time here very much. We would definitely recommend it to our friends. It was definitely good value for money. Thank you for our stay.

Themba M - Aug 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Themba M
With spouse/partner

Wincheste Lodge is the best, I enjoyed my stay.

Exciting and relaxing.

Ashnee M - Jul 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Ashnee M
Family with young children

Good value for money,

The Deluxe room we booked was good. Alan was a great host and breakfast was good. Only gripe was the TV, as we were not able to select the channels we wanted to watch.

Karren L - Jul 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Karren L
On business

Absolutely fabulous !

Undoubtedly the best B&B in the South of Johannesburg. Having travelled extensively, I was amazed at the high level of service and professionalism offered at Winchester Lodge. From the friendly welcome to the magnificent breakfasts, everything was perfect. I will recommend Winchester Lodge to all those looking for a "Home from Home" at realistic prices.

Kebone D - May 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
1/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Kebone D
With spouse/partner

Not totally happy

The place was too noisy - from staff and we were not informed of the grinding that was take place during our stay. Our room was not cleaned on the 1st day, and we also wanted to enjoy the room service for breakfast but were told they were unable to accommodate that because of a staff shortage. Otherwise, they're in a good location, we felt very safe.

was R700
From R630
per night (sleeps 2)
was R700
From R630
per night (sleeps 2)
was R700
From R630
per night (sleeps 2)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 38 people
  • Check-in: 11:00 to 21:00
    Check-out: 11:00
  • Address: 40 Magaliesberg Road, Winchester Hills, Johannesburg, 2091, Gauteng
  • All ages welcome
https://d288tngog90ix0.cloudfront.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJDU3NzBjN2M2LTM4NjktNDVkYi04MzFiLTc4NTI5MTk2YWFkNw?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format was R700, now From R630  per night (sleeps 2) 23 5 1 5 40 Magaliesberg Road Winchester Hills 2091 Gauteng 0860 022 102 11:00-21:00 11:00 -26.27232386311 28.021574020386
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

0860 022 102 | bookings@travelground.com