The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Woodlands Retreat | TravelGround
+48

Woodlands Retreat

Self Catering

Review Summary

4.6 out of 5from 102 reviews for Woodlands Retreat
Cleanliness
4.8/5
Service
4.6/5
Location
4.5/5
Safety
4.6/5
Value for money
4.5/5
Chay B - Nov 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Chay B
Family with young children

Tranquil with everything you need.

We will definitely be back!

Woodlands Retreat's response

Thank you Chay, we loved hosting you and look forward to seeing you again.
Happy Christmas
Warm regards
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Marianne R - Nov 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marianne R
With spouse/partner

Baie, baie lekker.

'n Rustige, netjiese plek. Vriendelike gasvrou, net 'n baie lekker plek om uit te rus.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Hi Marianne, Baie dankie fir jou review, we appreciate it. Warmest of wishes for December and the New Year.
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Johan L - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johan L
With spouse/partner

Dit was heerlik.

Sherene was baie vriendelik en het ons hartlik verwelkom.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Wow, thank you for a wonderful review 5 out of 5 for everything! We welcome you back with open arms anytime.

Woodlands Retreat
Mariette L - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mariette L
With spouse/partner

Too short!

I would have loved to stay 2 more nights.

Woodlands Retreat's response

We would have loved you to stay longer. Thank you for the 5 out of 5 review we really appreciate it. See you again.

Woodlands Retreat
Anina W - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Anina W
Family with teenagers

Peaceful long weekend.

The cabin was very small - and we actually expected it to have one separate bedroom with the bunk beds in the living area. But it was all just in one room, however - the cabin was very neat and clean and with all the needed items. Also, a very nice gesture to provide rusks, coffee, tea and milk every day - and a cleaning service included.

Mattheus K - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mattheus K
With spouse/partner

Fantasies.

Sal enige tyd weer daar gaan oornag.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Thank you for an awesome 5 out of 5 review, we really appreciate you taking time to do one. Look forward to hosting you again.

Woodlands Retreat
Monica V - Aug 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Monica V
On business

Kind and friendly host. Out of the way but close to everything stay.

Comfortable stay. Little extras can be added. Nice coffee, corkscrew to open wine. Spotlessly clean and tidy and overall good value for money.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Hello Monica
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so happy you had a comfortable stay. Apologies for the absence of a corkscrew for your wine, every suite has one, so a guest may have mistakenly packed it on departure. Rest assured we will replace it pronto!!
Warm regards
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Hannelie D - May 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hannelie D

Sien sterre.

Ons is geweldig hartlik ontvang en die suite was absoluut voldoende vir my en my dogter, pragtig skoon, vars en netjies. Alles was beskikbaar in die kombuisarea wat ons benodig het. Daar is heerlike ondervloerverhitting wat die suite baie aangenaam maak, al is dit koud. Dis in 'n baie rustige area en heerlik om na te ontvlug. Die tuin is 'n lieflike rustige, informele tuin met pragtige groot bome. Dis ongelooflike goeie waarde vir dit wat mens betaal. Ons sal dit beslis weer gebruik. Cherrene en Roy het 'n wenresep!

Woodlands Retreat's response

Wow, Hannelie, what a lovely review, you melt my heart, thank you! Sjoe, your comments make Roy and I feel fabulous! We loved interacting with you and your lovely daughter and can't wait to host you again!

Warmest of wishes,
Sherrene and Roy.

Woodlands Retreat
Kurt M - Apr 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Kurt M
With spouse/partner

Had a wonderful time, hosts made us feel very welcome.

The hosts went out of their way to tell us of places to go even drawing a map to get us to the correct place. The room was kept spotless. We received tea, coffee, milk and rusks each day. Our hostess knew of many places to visit in the area and could give us a bit of information on each place, this made it more pleasant to visit these places with a bit of background. Thank you for such a good holiday!

Liana M - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Liana M
With friends

Dit was baie lekker en netjies.

Naby aan alles, met mooi uitsigte op die berge. Baie netjies en baie vriendelike mense.

Hendrik A - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Hendrik A
With spouse/partner

Baie lekker gebly.

Die spasie was bietjie beknop, maar het nogsteeds heerlik gebly.

Luchell C - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Luchell C
With spouse/partner

Vriendelike eienaars en baie netjiese eenhede. Beslis die moeite werd!

Woodlands Retreat is 'n lieflike plek met vriendelike eienaars. Hulle laat jou tuis voel en die eenhede is netjies en goed toegerus met die nodige goed. Waarde vir geld en beslis die moeite werd om daar te oornag.

Thania M - Mar 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Thania M
Individual traveler

Wonderful place to stay.

I really enjoyed my stay. Clean and neat. Cleaned every day. Very friendly hosts that went the extra mile. Will recommend them to anyone and will definitely go back.

Marius E - Feb 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Marius E

Wonderlik, rustigheid, pragtige natuur.

Die plek is mooi, skoon en goed versorg. Die gasvrou en heer was ongelooflik en het absoluut uit hul pad gegaan om ons te akkommodeer en tuis te laat voel.

Corne D - Jan 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Corne D
With spouse/partner

Vriendelike, behulpsame gashere.

Netjiese, skoon akkommodasie op 'n eko-vriendelike perseel.

Betsie R - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Betsie R
With spouse/partner

Rustig en ontspannend.

WiFi 'n groot pluspunt.

Pieter D - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Pieter D
With spouse/partner

Voorste kamers is baie aangenaam. Onmoontlik vir bejaardes en gestremdes om by agterste kamers uit te kom.

Webblad en advertensie is nie duidelik oor watter kamer by die naam pas nie en geen aanduiding word gegee dat daar sommige kamers is wat agter die eenheid is wat moeilik bereikbaar is en op slordige agterplaas uitkyk nie. Verteenwoordiger van die gastehuis was baie behulpsaam en akkommoderend, wat die situasie beredder het.

Andre N - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Andre N
With spouse/partner

Baie lekker gebly!

Pragtige eenheid, netjies en baie skoon. Sal dit beslis aanbeveel.

Johan A - Sep 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johan A
On business

Pragtige gaste huis

Omgewing pragtig en baie rustig en het baie om te sien

Idonette V - Aug 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Idonette V
With spouse/partner

Baie lekker gemaklik en rustig.

Ons was baie gasvry ontvang, baie gemaklik en baie rustig. Baie lekker knus en snoesig. Regtig 'n aangename naweek gehad!

Sandra V - Feb 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Sandra V
With spouse/partner

Jessie and Joe were very good hosts.

See stars.

Yvonne S - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Yvonne S
With spouse/partner

A home from home. Friendly family feel in a beautiful location.

An amazing B&B with everything you need for a peaceful and lovely stay in Clarens. A definite place to revisit.

Magaretha B - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Magaretha B
With spouse/partner

Rustige atmosfeer in die natuur - lieflike voëllewe en natuurgeluide.

Verblyf pragtig, baie skoon en netjies met so tikkie ekstra om jou spesiaal te laat voel.

Hannes D - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
2/5
Hannes D
With spouse/partner

Gelukkig was dit net een aand.

Die plekkie is so klein dat dit eintlik 'n frustrasie is om daar te bly. Selfs met 20% af was dit steeds nie waarde vir geld nie.

Johan K - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Johan K
With spouse/partner

Aangename verblyf.

Skoon en netjies. Kamer is ietwat beknop.

Michiel J - Nov 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Michiel J
With spouse/partner

Gemaklik, netjies en skoon.

Sien sterre.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Baie dankie vir jul kuiertjie! Ons is bly julle was tevrede met alles!

Woodlands Retreat
Karen M - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Karen M
With friends

Very enjoyable.

I would recommend Woodlands Retreat to anyone looking for a quiet breakaway. The room was exceptionally clean with a lot of attention to all the small details.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Dear Karen,

Thank you for your kind recommendation. We are pleased everything went well.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Regards,
Woodlands Retreat

Woodlands Retreat
Nico L - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nico L
With spouse/partner

Heerlike bederf!

Wat 'n plesier om hier te kon oornag. Alles was só netjies en goed toegerus. Die bederf sjampanje en koue bier in die yskas was só 'n lekker verrassing! Ons kom definitief weer!

Woodlands Retreat's response

Dankie vir die vriendelike woorde. Ons sien uit daarna om u binnekort weer te huisves.

Woodlands Retreat
Elizabeth B - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elizabeth B
With spouse/partner

It was lovely. They went out of their way to accommodate us.

It was very relaxing. Is very safe. The rooms are neat. They are helpful and friendly. Have definitely enjoyed our visit there and will visit them again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Dit was heerlik. Hulle het uit hulle pad gegaan om ons te akkomodeer.

Dit was baie ontspannend. Is baie veilig. Die kamers is netjies. Hulle is behulpsaam en vriendelik. Het ons besoek daar beslis geniet en sal hulle weer besoek.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Beste Elizabeth,

Dankie vir die vriendelike woorde. Dit was ook wonderlik om u hier te ontvang.

Ons sien daarna uit daarna om u binnekort weer the huisves.

Regards,
Woodlands Retreat

Woodlands Retreat
Martin C - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Martin C
With spouse/partner

Het lekker gebly, in die winter is die tuin maar vaal.

Het nie baie tyd in woonstel spandeer nie, net basies oornag. Die geriewe was voldoende en skoon.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Ja, dit is baie droog in die winter. Ons sien uit daarna om u binnekort weer te huisves in die somer.

Woodlands Retreat
Elsjé G - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
5/5
Elsjé G
Family with young children

'n Lieflike wegbreek.

Baie lekker gebly. Cherry Cottage waarin ons gebly het was perfek vir ons gesin met 'n seuntjie van 6. Beddens in kamer, almal met warmkomberse.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Beste Elsje,

Ons is bly jy het dit geniet. Die warm komberse in die winter is 'n plesier!

Ons sien uit daarna om u binnekort weer te sien.

Groete,
Woodlands Retreat

Woodlands Retreat
Rozanne E - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rozanne E

Homely, very neat and attention to detail.

We had a very friendly reception and although it was cols, the room was nice and warm with the heater and warm blankets on all the beds.Thank you, Joe, for a great night's rest. Will be back.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Huislik, baie netjies en aandag word gegee aan die kleinste detail.

Ons was so hartlik verwelkom en al was dit koud was die kamer lekker warm met die verwarmer en warm komberse op al die beddens. Baie dankie, Joe, vir 'n heerlike nagrus, ons kom beslis weer.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Dis goed om te hoor. Ons sien uit daarna om u binnekort weer te sien.

Woodlands Retreat
Taki K - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Taki K
With spouse/partner

Nice and comfortable, just what we needed.

We wanted for nothing, nice touch with a jug of fresh milk in the fridge. Had a good overnight break.

Woodlands Retreat's response

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Woodlands Retreat
Juanita E - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Juanita E
With friends

Dit was lieflik gewees.

Dit was baie mooi in Clarens, ons het dit baie geniet.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Beste Juanita.

Ons is bly u het u besoek aan Clarens baie geniet! U moet kom kyk hoe mooi dit in die somer is met alles in al die groen skakerings wat u u kan voorstel.

Ons hoop dat u binnekort weer kom kuier!

Groete
Die Woodlands Retreat Span

Woodlands Retreat
Wilandi L - Jul 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Wilandi L
With spouse/partner

Baie rustig en cosy.

Als wat ek benodig het was beskikbaar. Dit was 'n ongelooflike ondervinding, en gemaklik. Ek sal beslis weer daar gaan bly.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Beste Wilandi,

Dit was so koud toe u ons besoek het, maar tog is ons so bly dat ons u verblyf warm en knus kon maak. Ons sal u graag wil sien, miskien in die somer wanneer Clarens 'n totale ander voorkoms het!

Groete,
Die Woodlands Retreat Span

Woodlands Retreat
Sindi R - May 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sindi R
With spouse/partner

It's a beautiful place to be, we really enjoyed our stay, thank you.

Pleased, they are very friendly and welcoming. We are definitely coming back again.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Dear Sindi,

Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon in summer when Clarens wears a totally different dress and is bright, green and beautiful!

Warm regards,
The Woodlands Retreat Team

Woodlands Retreat
Corrie P - Apr 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Corrie P
With spouse/partner

Gemaklik en vriendelik.

Kamers is egter nie baie ruim nie. Vir 'n kort verblyf kan 'n mens dit nog maak werk.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Dear Corrie,

Thank you for your review.

We have different sizes of rooms and each is priced accordingly. We would love to host you again. In the future, please send us a note to be sure you are booking the larger, more spacious suites.

Warm regards,
Sherrene

Woodlands Retreat
Jacques Q - Mar 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jacques Q
On business

A beautiful and tranquil environment, a short walk from the Centre of Clarens.

I arrived frazzled after two hectic weeks on the road throughout SA, on business. Within 10 minutes I was relaxing in this beautiful and tranquil setting. The environment is so peaceful, and yet only a short walk to the centre of Clarens. I was well taken care of and will definitely return.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Dear Jacques,

We are so delighted that you felt so relaxed at Woodlands Retreat and that you could restore your tranquility in our peaceful setting. You are a great guest and we really look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,
The Woodlands Retreat Team

Woodlands Retreat
Wian G - Feb 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Wian G

Rustige ontspannende naweek met die stilte van Clarens op jou voorstoep.

Die ontvangs by Woodlands Retreat was vriendelik en gasvry. Ons het dadelik tuis gevoel en veilig. Die verblyf was skoon en netjies. Die uitleg van die kamer was goed. Ons sal Woodlands Retreat aanbeveel vir enige iemand wat lus het om weg te breek om die stilte van Clarens te geniet.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Beste Wian,

Ons is so bly dat u u verblyf by ons geniet het. Ons hou ook van die rustigheid van die omgewing en is mal daaroor om die gevoel van ontspanning vir ons gaste te skep.

Ons hoop om u binnekort weer te sien.

Groete
Die Woodlands Span

Woodlands Retreat
Carel B - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Carel B
With friends

Nice overnight facility.

Woodlands is a good overnight base to explore the Clarens area. The rooms are neat, small and good as a sleeping facility.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Lekker oornagfasiliteit.

Woodlands is goed as ‘n oornagbasis om die Clarens-area te verken. Die kamers is netjies, klein en goed as slaapfasiliteit.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Beste Carel,

Ons is bly dat u 'n goeie besoek gehad het en dat u die nodige geriewe aangebied het. Ons sien uit daarna dat u weer sal oorbly.

Groete
Die Woodlands Span

Woodlands Retreat
Elna T - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Elna T
With spouse/partner

Neat and near center.

Everything was neat and daily cleaning and it's walking distance to the heart of Clarens.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Netjies en naby senter.

Alles was netjies en daagliks skoongemaak en dit is loopafstand van hart van Clarens.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Beste Elna,

Dankie vir u kommentaar oor die netheid en die netheid van die kamers. Ons streef daarna om die gemaklikste verblyf vir ons gaste te bied.

Clarens is so 'n klein dorpie en dit is wonderlik dat jy kan stap na byna oral waarheen jy wil gaan.

Ons sien uit daarna om u binnekort weer te sien.

Groete
Die Woodlands Retreat Span

Woodlands Retreat
Annelie V - Jan 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
2/5
Annelie V

Rustig.

Die kamers was baie netjies en skoon. Een kamer was egter baie warm en bied nie beskerming teen die oggendson nie. Die opset lewer min privaatheid van ander gaste.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Best Annelie,

Baie dankie vir u eerlike terugvoer, ons waardeer u kommentaar opreg.

Ons let op die saak van die son en die gebrek aan privaatheid sodat ons hierop kan verbeter.

Groete
Die Woodlands Span

Woodlands Retreat
Marlyn B - Nov 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Marlyn B
With spouse/partner

Clean, peaceful.

We were well received and the room is beautiful. And very clean. Everything you need is in the room to make your stay more comfortable. We would've liked a radio or a small TV.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Skoon, rustig.

Ons is goed ontvang en kamer is pragtig. En baie skoon. Alles wat jy nodig het is in die kamer om jou verblyf gemaklik te maak. Ons sou dalk net 'n radio of klein TV daar wou hê.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Beste Marlyn,

Dit is vir my aangenaam om te sien dat u u verblyf geniet het. U terugvoer is vir ons belangrik.

Ons het 'n fantastiese Wi-Fi konneksie en miskien kan u u selfoon gebruik om radio te stroom. Ons probeer ons gaste 'n rustige en ander ervaring bied as wat hulle tuis het en om die stilte van die omgewing te geniet.

Groete
Die Woodlands Retreat Span

Woodlands Retreat
Stephanie P - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Stephanie P
With spouse/partner

Excellent first-time stay at Woodlands Retreat! Will definitely be back!

Our honeymoon week at Woodlands Retreat was better than we could have expected. Joe - thank you for excellent communications regarding our stay, and for going above and beyond to make our week unforgettable. Thank you to Emma for excellent house-keeping. We will definitely recommend Woodlands Retreat and we'll be back!

Woodlands Retreat's response

Hi Stephanie,
We are so very pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay, great feedback for the Woodlands Team as we all try hard to welcome our guests with open arms, trusting that the memories will last. It definitely sounds as if yours will especially as it was and extra special occasion being your honeymoon.
We wish you all the very best stepping forward into your new future!
Warmest of regards,
All of us at Woodlands Retreat

Woodlands Retreat
Rob M - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rob M
With friends

Warm, friendly, clean and comfortable.

From booking in to departure, everything was as it should be, clean and well run. Great facilities, and lovely decor in the room, and outside. Will definitely return to Woodlands Retreat, and recommend to friends.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Thank you Rob, it was great to host you, we really appreciate your great review and look forward to hosting you and your friends in the future.
Warmest of regards,
All of the Woodlands Retreat Team

Woodlands Retreat
Mpho R - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Mpho R
With spouse/partner

It was an amazing stay and so well accommodated by Sherrene and Joe!

I loved it here, peaceful and amazing people all around.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Hi Mpho,
Thank you for your great review, peace is the name of the game here at Woodlands Retreat, we really endeavor to ensure it remains so!
Warm regards,
The Woodlands Team

Woodlands Retreat
Stephanie P - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Stephanie P
With spouse/partner

Excellent stay!

What an amazing stay! Excellent communication from Joe and housekeeping! Woodlands went the extra mile to ensure that our honeymoon week in Clarens was relaxing and enjoyable. Thank you!

Woodlands Retreat's response

Wow Stephanie, two wonderful reviews, so lovely to receive such warm appreciative comments. We are thrilled that you had a great honeymoon! All the very best in your new future.
Warmest of regards,
The Woodlands Team

Woodlands Retreat
Hannelie S - Oct 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hannelie S
With spouse/partner

Rustig.

Pragtige area. Baie stil en rustig.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Beste Hannelie,
Baie dankie vir jou wonderlike resensie!
Vriendelike Groete,
Die Woodlands Span

Woodlands Retreat
Rina S - Sep 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rina S
With spouse/partner

Fantastic.

Woodlands is a very cute place, friendly staff, very neat, peaceful and everything you need is there. We will definitely visit Woodlands again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fantasties.

Woodlands is 'n baie oulike plek, vriendelike personeel, baie netjies, rustig en alles wat jy nodig het is daar. Ons sal Woodlands beslis weer besoek.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Hi Rina, thank you so much for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Woodlands Retreat
Lawren O - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lawren O
With friends

Het net een aand oorgeslaap.

Uitstekende verblyf en was baie gasvry ontvang. Sal definitief weer daar oorbly en het rustigheid geniet.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Hi Lawren, thank you so much for your comments and we look forward to hosting you and your friends in the future.

Woodlands Retreat
Claudia W - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Claudia W
With spouse/partner

Lovey rooms and super service.

Lovely clean and well equipped rooms. Perfect for a couple. The service was wonderful and the setting very picturesque. I imagine in summer, must be beautiful.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Hi Claudia, thank you for your very generous ratings. Please do come back in summer, it really is a beautiful time of year to visit us here at Woodlands Retreat.

Woodlands Retreat
Johan M - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Johan M
With spouse/partner

Neat and clean.

Space is limited. Just space to sleep. Vert neat and clean inside. Also nice and warm in the winter. A nice overnight.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Netjies en skoon

Spasie van woonplek is baie beperk. Letterlik net slaapplek. Baie netjies en skoon binne. Ook lekker warm vir die winter. 'n Lekker oornagplek.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Beste Bronwen,

Ons is tevrede om te sien dat u u verblyf geniet het. U terugvoer is vir ons belangrik.

Ons het verskillende kamergroottes en opsies wat u moontlik kan probeer die volgende keer as u ons besoek.

Groete
Woodlands Retreat

Woodlands Retreat
Roxanne V - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Roxanne V
With spouse/partner

Beautiful, neat and warm accommodation.

The unit was very neat and warm with electrical blankets and underfloor heating.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Pragtig, netjiese en warm verblyf.

Die eenheid was baie netjies en heerlik warm met elektriese kombers en ondervloerse verhitting.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Hi Roxanne, thank you for your comments we really do appreciate feedback from our guests but also try to improve on our services for future guests. Please do visit again in the summer months, it is a very beautiful part of the world in summer.

Woodlands Retreat
Jaco G - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jaco G
With spouse/partner

Very cosy.

We enjoyed our stay very much. Even in the cold of July we were very cosy with the underfloor heating and warm blankets.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Thank you Jaco, for your comments and ratings. We really do appreciate this sort of feedback from our guests. We also hope to see you and your partner back in summer, when it is very pretty and of course warmer.

Woodlands Retreat
Renier M - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Renier M
With spouse/partner

Dit was baie lekker.

Ek sal my vriende en familie aanbeveel.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Hi Renier, thank you for your feedback, as with all our other guests we do appreciate your opinions and ratings. We are continually striving to improve our service and facilities. Regards Woodlands Retreat Team.

Woodlands Retreat
Naomi G - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
4/5
Location
1/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
2/5
Naomi G
With spouse/partner

Was bietjie teleurgesteld.

Alhoewel die mense vriendelik was, is ons bietjie teleurgesteld. Ons is op ons wittebrood en het 'n kamer vir ons twee bespreek en betaal. Op aankoms is ons gesê 'n ander paartjie wou langer bly en ons het toe 'n kamer met 5 beddens gekry wat soos 'n backpackers gevoel het. Die view van ons kamer was glad nie soos op die foto's nie en ons was nie beïndruk nie. Die toilet het ook nie gewerk nie. Ons sal nie weer teruggaan nie.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Hi Naomi, we are so sorry about that. I do remember you and your husband and the change of accommodation. Unfortunately, the couple before you decided to extend their stay so we had to move you, to what we thought would be a bigger room. Once again please accept our sincere apologies.

Woodlands Retreat
Ce K - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Ce K
Family with teenagers

Wonderful. Enjoyed every moment.

We appreciated the hospitable reception. As well as the neatness and fully equipped rooms. Everyhting worked 100% and we enjoyed the warm beds. Thank you.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Wonderlik. Elke oomblik geniet.

Ons het die gasvrye ontvangs baie waardeer. Asook die netheid en volledig ingerigte kamers. Alles het honderd persent gewerk, en ons het die warm beddens waardeer. Baie dankie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Hi Roelien, thank you some much for your feedback. We look forward to your next visit and will definitely make sure your stay is a pleasant one.

Woodlands Retreat
Chantal H - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Chantal H
With spouse/partner

Baie rustige omgewing, naby aan alles. Ons het lekker gerus!

Baie oulike blyplekkie, sal definitief weer daar oorbly!

Woodlands Retreat's response

Hi Chantal, thank you so much for your ratings, we really do appreciate our past guests opinions on our facilities. We look forward to seeing you again.

Woodlands Retreat
Cecilia G - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Cecilia G
With friends

Baie klein en nie reg vir 2 persone nie. Baie ongemaklik.

Definitief nie reg vir 2 persone wat nie saam wil slaap nie. Baie klein was ongemaklik met die klein plek.

Petro C - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Petro C
With spouse/partner

Lovely and uncomplicated.

It was super clean and uncomplicated.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Heerlik ongekompliseerd.

Dit was silwerskoon en heerlik ongekompliseerd.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Hi Petro, thank you for your comment on your room and your stay. We really do appreciate a happy guest, please visit us again in the summer.

Woodlands Retreat
Yvonne D - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
2/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
2/5
Yvonne D
With spouse/partner

Found the room we were in too cramped for a couple.

It was like a hotel single room size and not adequate for a weekend stay. Found the room not up to standard as a self-catering place. Too small for a weekend.

Chris L - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Chris L
With spouse/partner

Gemaklike verblyf in rustige omgewing.

Die kothius is mooi en gerieflik in 'n baie rustige omgewing.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Dear Chris,

Thank you for choosing us, we are glad you enjoyed yourselves!

Warm regards,
Sherrene

Woodlands Retreat
Neil A - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Neil A
With spouse/partner

Al wat ons nodig gehad het van die besige stadslewe.

Die verblyf by Woodlands was rustig, eenheid was goed ingerig, gasvry.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Thank you Neil, we are so pleased you had a chance to rest and recharge.
Warm regards,
Sherrene

Woodlands Retreat
Pieter F - Apr 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Pieter F
With spouse/partner

Die eenhede is skoon. Bietjie beknop so ek beveel net 2 mense per eenheid aan.

Clarens is 'n baie mooi naweek wegbreek. Woodlands is baie mooi. Mens ontspan sonder elektronika hier.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Thank you Pieter, we are happy you liked Woodlands.
Warm regards, Sherrene

Woodlands Retreat
Cynthia V - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Cynthia V
With spouse/partner

Pragtige, netjiese omgewing en ons het so welkom gevoel.

Wat 'n aangename ondervinding! Die eienaars gaan uit hulle pad om jou welkom te laat voel. Plek is baie goed ingerig. Werklik goeie waarde vir geld.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Thank you Cynthia, we really appreciate your comments and look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Warm regards
Sherrene

Woodlands Retreat
Rodney G - Feb 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rodney G
Individual traveler

Neat, simple and good value for money.

The owners are very welcoming and the premises are very well maintained.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Thank you Rodney, your review is much appreciated.
Warm regards
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Holly J - Feb 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Holly J
With spouse/partner

Lovely hosts. Fantastic location. Everything you need.

Pretty garden. Private and discreet. Home from home.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Thank you for your lovely review, Holly we appreciate it.

Warm regards
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Nicky A - Jan 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nicky A

Wonderlike plek!

Gemaklike kamers, pragtige tuin en ons het die braai geriewe baie geniet!

Woodlands Retreat's response

Dear Nicky
Thank you for your 5-star review, we are so pleased you loved staying at Woodlands Retreat.
Warmest of regards
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
William V - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
William V
Individual traveler

Ek was tevrede met die akkommodasie.

Die eienaar was baie vriendelik en behulpsaam. Die prys was wel duurder as wat ek elders op my reis betaal het.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Thank you William.

Woodlands Retreat
Alma B - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Alma B
With spouse/partner

Heerlik.

Skoon en naby alles! Gerieflik.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Dear Alma,
Thank you for your 5-star rating, we really appreciate it.
Warm regards
Sherrene & Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Melony D - Dec 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
4/5
Melony D
With friends

Lekker.

Elektriese hek sal groot verskil maak.

Glen K - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Glen K
With friends

Wonderful, neat and friendly retreat.

For our first experience in Clarence we had a great weekend. Owners were very friendly and accommodation was superb.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Thank you Glen, we are so pleased your overall experience with us and in clarens was enjoyable.

Warm regards
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Ursula D - Nov 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ursula D

Rustige, pragtige plek.

Die ligging was perfek, rustige, pragtige plek, baie skoon en netjies. Die jong mense het dit geniet.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Dear Ursula
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and thanks for the 5-star review.

Warm regards
Sherrene & Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Dennis L - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Dennis L
With spouse/partner

Perfekte omgewing om battery te laai.

Dankie vir julle moeite om rustige, mooi en aangename omgewing te skep vir moeë stadsjapies. Jul warm vriendelike ontvangs word waardeer! Sal jul graag weer wil besoek.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Dear Dennis,
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you relaxed and enjoyed yourselves.
Warm regards
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Jan G - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jan G
With spouse/partner

Uitstekend, rustig en salig.

Dit is 'n baie mooi plekkie. Uitstekende diens en kry meer as waarde vir geld.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Dear Jan
Thank you for your lovely review and of course your 5-star rating, much appreciated.

Warm regards

Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Heinrich D - Oct 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Heinrich D
Family with young children

Perfekte ligging. Waarde vir geld.

Die diens en gasvryheid het ons die meeste beïndruk.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Dear Heinrich

Thank you for your appreciative review and 5 star rating.

Warm regards
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Elaine T - Sep 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Elaine T
With spouse/partner

Rustig, vrede, naby aan die natuur. Doodstil, hoor net die voëltjies fluit! Binne loopafstand aan Clarence se sentrale dorp.

Baie rustig en stil, naby die sentrale deel van Clarens. Kan loop met rustige paaidjies tussen die berge. Sit op die stoepie en verwonder jou aan die berge wat jou omring. Great plek.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Baie Dankie Elaine, we are sooo very pleased you enjoyed your stay and the tranquility of Woodlands Retreat. We look forward to seeing you again.
Warm regards
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Stephan B - Aug 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Stephan B
With spouse/partner

Vriendelike ontvangs, gemaklike, no fuss verblyf.

Dis die eerste keer wat ons Clarens besoek het, nie geweet wat om te verwag nie. Op pad is ons gebel om te hoor of alles in die hak is, en teen hoe laat hulle ons kan verwag. Ons het dadelik gemaklik gevoel en is vriendelik gegroet en verduidelik wat te doen is en so paar ervarings vertel, mens kon nie anders as om uit te sien na 'n goeie wegbreek nie. Verblyf was skoon en gemaklik, alles nodig vir 'n wegbreek van die stad is daar, sal dit graag weer doen, en is klaar besig om weer 'n naweekwegbreek te reël.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Thank you, Stephan! We appreciate you noticing the little things like our connecting with you whilst you were travelling. We enjoyed you visiting us and are thrilled that you liked Clarens so much! Look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Magda P - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Magda P
With spouse/partner

Heerlik rustig en ontspanne.

Baie dankie vir 'n rustige verblyf by julle. Ons het lekker gerus. Dankie vir 'n baie spesiale piekniek ontbyt, ons kan dit beslis aanbeveel. Sien uit na 'n volgende kuier by julle.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Baie Dankie Magda, we are happy you had a lovely rest and enjoyed our newly added option for a piekniek ontbyt and yes we look forward to seeing you both again.

Warm regards
Sherrene

Woodlands Retreat
Chanelle E - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Chanelle E
With friends

Heerlike atmosfeer!

Het baie lekker gebly! Bietjie beknop en klein vir 4 volwassenes (die 5 bed cottage), maar sal beslis weer gaan! Het dit geniet. Het al die nodigste goed gehad.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Thank you very much, Chanelle. We look forward to seeing you all again. Warm regards Sherrene and Roy.

Woodlands Retreat
Johan V - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johan V
Family with young children

Relaxing atmosphere, homey and warm people.

Home is where the heart is personified. This place and its owners have heart.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Ontspannende atmosfeer, huislike en warm mense.

Huis is waar die hart is gedefinieer. Hierdie plek en sy eienaars het hart.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Thank you Johan.
You melt our hearts with your lovely comments. We enjoyed having you visit and look forward to seeing you another time.
Warm regards Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Hennie M - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Hennie M

Fantastic getaway in picturesque Clarens!

Woodlands was beautiful even during the winter months. Sherrene and Roy were very hospitable and friendly on arrival. Very comfortable and nice room with all the amenities you may need. Will definitely stay here again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fantastiese wegbreek in die prentjie mooie Clarens!

Woodlands was selfs in die wintermaand mooi. Sherrene en Roy was baie gasvry en was vriendelik met die aankoms. Baie gemaklike en mooi kamer met al die geriewe wat mens benodig. Sal beslis weer besoek.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Thank you, Leone. It was lovely having you here and especially hearing you and your husband's happy laughter throughout your stay. We welcome you again anytime. Warmest of regards, Sherrene and Roy, Woodlands Retreat.

Woodlands Retreat
Werner K - May 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Werner K
Individual traveler

Very neat and clean with all the necessary luxuries. Best value for your money in Clarens.

Clean and neat room. Equipped with all the necessities, excellent linen and beds. Even had underfloor heating etc. Excellent value for money!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie netjies en skoon met al die luukshede wat nodig is. Beste waarde vir geld in Clarens.

Kamer was skoon en netjies. Alles wat nodig was, was beskikbaar met puik linne en beddens en ondervloerseverhitting ens. Puik waarde vir geld!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Hi Werner

Thank you for your great review, we so appreciate your comments and look forward to hosting you another time.

Warmest of regards,
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Derick W - Apr 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Derick W
With spouse/partner

Het heerlik ontspan.

Die plek is netjies, sentraal geleë en veilig. Die kliëntediens was wonderlik en die mense se vriendelikheid en behulpsaamheid was net wow!

Woodlands Retreat's response

Dear Wassie and Olga,

Thank you very much for your review and especially for choosing to spend your Honeymoon here at Woodlands Retreat. We really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Stephen V - Mar 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Stephen V
With spouse/partner

Friendliest people, so helpful.

They made Clarens enjoyable.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Die vriendelikste mense en so hulpvaardig. Hulle het Clarens lekker gemaak.

Die vriendelikste mense en so hulpvaardig. Hulle het Clarens lekker gemaak.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Hi Stephen, It was lovely having you and we are sooo pleased you enjoyed Clarens so much. Would love to see you both on your next trip to Clarens.
Warmest of regards,
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Rebecca D - Mar 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Rebecca D
With friends

Great location - in town, yet away from the noise of the Clarens Beerfest!

We will be back! So glad to have discovered you - thank you for your hospitality (and the rusks and real milk in the fridge - bonus!)

Woodlands Retreat's response

Hi Rebecca,
Thank you so much for expressing your appreciation! Roy said you were a fab group and he really enjoyed your youthful energy!
I look forward to meeting you next time.
Warmest of regards,
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Barend G - Jan 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
3/5
Barend G
With spouse/partner

Goeie oornagverblyf.

Kort net TV met DSTV.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Hi Barend

Thank you for your review. This is only our 2nd comment regarding TV in our first year of operation. Our goals and aspirations are to enable guests to re-connect with the peace and tranquility of nature and spend quality time with their partners/family whilst really allowing themselves to relax, without the distraction of the unreal world of TV. So far by our reviews it seems we are achieving this aim. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Warm regards Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Estelle D - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Estelle D
With spouse/partner

Rustige verblyf met pragtige omgewing.

Was 'n heerlike ontspanne oornag. Hoop om weer daar te stop en al die beplande ontwikkeling in die tuin te geniet.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Hi Estelle,

Thank you for choosing Woodlands Retreat for your quick stop over. We appreciate your visit and review.

Warm regards,
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Pl M - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Pl M
With spouse/partner

Lekker!

Pragtige, skoon en netjiese kamer. Baie mooi tuin. Vriendelike en behulpsame gasheer en gasvrou.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Hi Pieter-Louis,

Thank you for your great review! It was a pleasure hosting you!! We appreciate you selecting Woodlands Retreat for your getaway and we would love to have you visit again.

Warm regards,
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Meliza C - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Meliza C
Family with young children

Lovely peaceful accommodation.

Enjoyed the stay, beautiful place, walking distance from all the shops.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Heerlike rustige verblyf.

Baie lekker gebly, pragtige plek en stapafstand van al die winkels.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Hi Meliza

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family, your son was so amazingly well behaved and a very happy being, never once complaining or arguing, well done Mom & Dad.

We would love to have you visit again.

Warm regards,
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Johan S - Dec 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
2/5
Safety
2/5
Value for money
1/5
Johan S

Very disappointed.

It wasn't as advertised at all.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie teleurgesteld.

Dit wat hulle adverteer is glad nie wat jy kry as jy daar kom nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Dear Johan
We feel very heart sore that Woodlands Retreat did not meet with your expectations. As you can see from all our previous reviews, we do our utmost to ensure our guests are happy and feel welcome. Unfortunately you did not discuss your grievances with us in person so we are at a disadvantage by not being given the opportunity to rectify them.
We wish you all the best in finding the perfect establishment in the future.
Regards,
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Jurie V - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Jurie V
With spouse/partner

It was great, enjoyed relaxing in the garden.

We enjoyed our stay. The proximity to the center of the village is an added bonus. We specifically enjoyed being able to relax/braai in the garden.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Ji Jurie

We loved having you and your guests visiting us, such a nice vibe. We were very pleased to see you braaing in the garden and enjoying beautiful evenings. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warmest of regards
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Ruan M - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Ruan M
With spouse/partner

Very nice place.

We immediately felt at home.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie lekker plek.

Ons het sommer dadelik tuis gevoel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Hi Ruan,
Thanks for choosing Woodlands Retreat, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit.
Warm regards,
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Natasja V - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Natasja V
With spouse/partner

Rustig, skoon en stil.

Alhoewel ons net eintlik daar oorgeslaap het, was dit stil, rustig en skoon. Baie vriendelike gasvrou.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Hi Natasja,
We are happy you enjoyed your visit, the peace and tranquility. Good luck with your new venture. Thank you for the great rating.
Warm regards,
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Lesley B - Oct 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lesley B
With spouse/partner

Gesellig, mooi, skoon, netjies, rustig.

Ons was ontmoet deur die eienaars, baie vriendelike mense. Die kamer was pragtig en mooi skoon en die bed was baie gemaklik. Geriewe was perfek gewees. Daar was tot 'n braaier, maar ons was te lui om dit te gebruik. Het baie lekker daar geslaap, sal vir seker weer daar slaap.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Hi Lesley,
Thank you for choosing us for your stop over, we are thrilled that you liked it so and wish to come back, we look forward to seeing you again. Thank you also for the great review!
Warm regards,
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Bets J - Sep 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Bets J
With spouse/partner

Fantastic!

Styed 3 night. Fantastic. Clean and neat room. Friendly owners. Care about visitors. Keep up your great service!

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Fantasties!

Het vir 3 nagte oorgebly. Fantasties. Kamers besonder skoon en netjies. Vriendelike eienaars. Besorg oor hul besoekers. Bou voort op sulke fantastiese diens.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Thank you Bets, we really appreciate your review and rating. We are so happy that you chose Woodlands Retreat for your getaway. Our aim is to make sure you feel welcome and at home! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Gwyneth C - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Gwyneth C
With spouse/partner

We enjoyed our stay in Clarens and we felt satisfied with accomodation. It was great value for money.

The owners were very friendly and helpful and really made us feel welcome. We were warm as there was underfloor heating and the location was fantastic. Hope to return there one day.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Thank you Gwyneth, so pleased you felt warm and cozy. Relocating here from Ballito, this was our first winter, so we really focused on keeping everyone warm!! We look forward to your return.
Warm regards
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Zandré E - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Zandré E
With friends

Cute and cosy.

We had a lovely stay at Woodlands Retreat. The suite was neat and clean. Will definitely visit again.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Oulik en snoesig.

Het heerlik gerus by Woodlands Retreat. Suite was baie netjies en skoon. Sal dit weer besoek!

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Zandre it was great meeting you, we would love to have you visit again! Enjoy the rest of your break from varcity!

Woodlands Retreat
Corlene F - Jul 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Corlene F
With spouse/partner

Such a treat!

Wondeful people and perfectly located to explore the town and nature.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Het bederf gevoel!

Wonderlike mense en perfek geleë om dorp en natuur te verken.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Thank you Corlene, we are pleased you enjoyed yourselves!

Woodlands Retreat
Leandra H - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Leandra H
With spouse/partner

Relaxing weekend at it's best.

We were greeted with smiles and open arms. Sherenne, her husband and all of their staff are truly wonderful people. We were blessed to enjoy such a lovely stay and experience the tranquility of the mountains. Great great fun.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Thank you Leandra, we are so thrilled that you enjoyed being here, we certainly loved having you both visit and would welcome you again anytime.
Warmest of regards,
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Ria F - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Ria F
With spouse/partner

Baie rustig.

Lekker gebly. Die plek is nuut. Hulle is besig met nog kamers. Die tuin het baie aandag nodig, maar ek glo met tyd gaan dit 'n pragtig plekkie word.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Thank you Ria, it was lovely meeting you and we are so pleased you love our peaceful haven. Yes you are quite right our garden needs attention, if you had seen it a few months ago when we bought the property you would be amazed at how much we have done, we cant wait for spring when everything starts blossoming!
Take care hope to see you again one day.
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
Johan D - Apr 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Johan D
With spouse/partner

Baie veilig, netjies en gerieflik.

Ons is vriendelik ontvang. Dis baie veilig, netjies en gerieflik.

Woodlands Retreat's response

Thank you Johan!
It was lovely meeting you both and we would love to have you visit us again when you are in the Clarens area.
Warmest of regards,
Sherrene and Roy

Woodlands Retreat
From
R900
per night, for 2 ppl
From
From R900
per night, for 2 ppl
From
R900
per night, for 2 ppl
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 14 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 493 Villiers Street, Clarens, 9707, Free State
  • All ages welcome