The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at York House B&B | TravelGround
+37

York House B&B

Self Catering

Review Summary

4.3 out of 5from 25 reviews for York House B&B
Cleanliness
4.4/5
Service
4.3/5
Location
4.2/5
Safety
4.4/5
Value for money
4.2/5
Joanne S - Nov 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Joanne S
With friends

Comfortable, beautifully maintained and very friendly hosts.

We enjoyed our weeks stay at York House B&B while visiting family in the area. The room was spacious and very comfortable with a fridge and tea station. Beautiful gardens and very friendly hosts. Was perfect.

York House B&B's response

Hi Joanne.
Thank you for your kind words. Welcome back anytime!
Kind Regards,
Graham

York House B&B
Clinton R - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Clinton R
Family with teenagers

Vriendelike diens en skoon verblyf.

Ons was baie vriendelik ontvang en die kamers was mooi skoon en netjies. Sal beslis aanbeveel vir andere!

York House B&B's response

Hi Clinton,
Thank you for your constructive feedback.
Sorry, the room was not a self-catering unit. If they were not all booked, I would have put you in one of the self-catering units as you were here for 8 nights and would have been more comfortable with three of you in one room for the longer period.
Wish you all the best for 2020.
Kind Regards, Graham and Debbie.

York House B&B
Elsie S - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Elsie S
Family with teenagers

Gerieflik en stil.

Vriendelike mense. Netjiese plek. Gerieflik en stil.

York House B&B's response

Dear Elsie,
Thank you for your kind words. Also a big thank you for the carpet you purchased for us. You are welcome back anytime.
Kind Regards,
Graham & Debbie

York House B&B
Kgoroshi Aaron D - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Kgoroshi Aaron D
Individual traveler

Friendly patrons and close to the race route and the best experience.

Always being updated on the location and the environment of this wonderful B&B. The best experience for any visitor to keep the secret about the venue and the facility. The refreshing pool and the inviting vegetation far exceed the expectation of any visitor.

York House B&B's response

Hi Aaron,
Thank you for your kind words.
Welcome back any time!
Kind Regards,
Graham & Debbie

York House B&B
Sonja V - Aug 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Sonja V
With friends

Very good value for money.

Owner and his wife are both very interesting and helpful people who chat with you and bond quickly. The rooms were very tidy and we were delighted. We also feel very safe throughout the day and your car is also safe at night. I strongly recommend the place.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie goeie waarde vir geld.

Eienaar en sy vrou is albei baie interessante en hulpvaardige mense waarmee jy lekker gesels en sommer gou "bond". Die kamers was baie netjies en ons het heerlik gebly. Ons het ook deurentyd baie veilig gevoel en jou motor slaap ook veilig snags. Ek kan die plek ten sterkste aan beveel.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

York House B&B's response

Hi Sonja,

Thank you for your kind words. You are welcome back anytime.

Kind regards,

Graham

York House B&B
Esmé B - Aug 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Esmé B
On business

Comfy.

The accommodation was exaclty as expected after we read the reviews. The rooms are inside the house and not all of them are en suite. WiFi was still a problem as indicated in previous reviews.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Gerieflik.

Ons verblyf was presies wat ons verwag het nadat ons bestaande resensies gelees het. Kamers is binne die huis en nie almal is en-suit nie. WiFi-sein was steeds 'n probleem soos in vorige resensies genoem.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

York House B&B's response

Hi Esmé,
Thank you for your constructive feedback. We have 4 en-suite rooms and 1 with private bathroom (not en-suite). The Wi-Fi signal does vary down stairs because of the cement ceiling but is good upstairs. I am looking to change my whole package to Mweb to improve it.
Kind Regards,
Graham

York House B&B
Jors En Suzette V - Jul 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Jors En Suzette V

Friendly reception, neat and good night's sleep.

Very friendly reception, neat and beautiful room. The room is advertised with an en-suite bathroom though, but the bathroom is seperate. You have to walk out of the room past the other room doors to visit the bathroom. It wasn't what we booked.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Vriendelike ontvangs, netjies en aangename nagrus.

Baie vriendelike ontvangs, kamer netjies en mooi. Kamer egter met en suite-badkamer geadverteer, maar badkamer is apart van kamer, 'n mens moet by kamer uitloop, verby ander kamers se deure om badkamer te besoek. Dít was nie wat ons bespreek het nie.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

York House B&B's response

Hi Suzette,
Thank you for your constructive feedback.
I think perhaps the reason you got the room with private bathroom (not en-suite) was the en-suite room with twin beds was already booked on the "live" system. I also did not see a specific request for en-suite, only for twin beds. I need to highlight in my quote that the private bathroom is not en-suite.
Kind Regards,
Graham

York House B&B
Barbara V - Jun 2017
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Barbara V
On business

Pleasant and comfortable.

York House offered comfortable accommodation and a friendly and safe environment close to shops and restaurants. The owners also provided meals on request.

York House B&B's response

Dear Barbara,

Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Graham

York House B&B
Precious B - Nov 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
2/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Precious B
With friends

The staff was friendly, they gave good advice and the area was safe.

The location was a bit far from the beach.

York House B&B's response

Hi Precious.
Thank you for your kind words. Pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Sorry we were not closer to the beach for you! Kind regards,
Graham

York House B&B
Gerda V - Sep 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Gerda V
Individual traveler

Friendly, neat, hospitable and great.

Definitely recommend. Hospitable, neat, value for money and safe.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Vriendelik, netjies, gasvry en great.

Beveel beslis aan. Gasvry, netjies, waarde vir geld en veilig.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

York House B&B's response

Good Morning Gerda,
Thank you for your kind words.
Kind Regards,
Graham

York House B&B
Liesle K - Aug 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
1/5
Liesle K
Family with teenagers

Unhappy.

Although clean and secure the rooms are inside the owner's house. No separate entrance. We asked for self-catering but our rooms had a microwave only, no stove. Not convenient. One of the rooms didn't have an en-suite bathroom.

York House B&B's response

Hi Liesle,
Thank you for your feedback.
I am sorry you were unhappy with the accommodation and the location of our B & B.
Apologies that you felt uncomfortable walking in our front door and up the stairs to the privacy of your rooms. We always try to make guests feel welcome in our home. (Most B & B's do have some rooms in the home).
We believe we did, however, supply what we advertised in our pictures of rooms quoted. 2 x double rooms with twin beds. (Double bed on request). Double bed was not requested.
1 x self-catering en-suite room. Kitchen sink, fridge, cutlery, kettle & microwave. (Wording clearly states no hot plates or stoves allowed in rooms).
1 x room with private bathroom. Kettle, Fridge & microwave only. Not advertised as self-catering or en-suite. No complaints received about twin beds in this room.
We also now understand you wanted to be close to the sea. Sorry we have always been 35 km from the sea.
Our location on our Google map is Hillcrest/Gillitts area, not Durban Central.

York House B&B
Netta E - May 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Netta E
With spouse/partner

Stay was excellent!

Quiet environment with excellent service.

York House B&B's response

Hi Netta
Many thanks for your kind words. It was a pleasure hosting you.
Regards
Angela

York House B&B
Pauline K - Jan 2016
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Pauline K
With spouse/partner

If you need peace of mind, York House is the place to be.

We have enjoyed our holidays there and we will go back again.

York House B&B's response

Hi Pauline,
Thank you for your kind words.
Kind Regards,
Graham

York House B&B
Luaan B - Oct 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Luaan B

Baie gesellig gewees.

Gasvryheid is van die beste, nie eers agter gekom jy is weg van die huis af nie

Jennifer S - Oct 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Jennifer S
With spouse/partner

I would not recommend York House to anyone.

Not a very happy experience.

York House B&B's response

Dear Jenni,

We are sorry your stay was ruined by the cancellation. We have been in business for 15 years and strive to make our valued guests stay with us as pleasant as possible.

Kind regards,
Graham

York House B&B
Michael H - Oct 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Michael H
With spouse/partner

Baie vriendelik en gasvry.

Ontbyt baie lekker. Stil omgewing, maar tog langs die M13.

York House B&B's response

Hi Michael.
Pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words.
Regards,
Graham

York House B&B
Karel M - Jun 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
5/5
Karel M
With spouse/partner

Het in tuinwoonstel gebly. Baie lekker groot kamer.

Graham, die gasheer, was baie vriendelik en behulpsaam, sonder om opdringerig te wees. Ligging is uitstekend en stil omgewing. Parkeerplek is 'n bietjie knap, maar Graham het goeie reëlings getref. Sal definitief weer daar bly.

Annemarie M - Jan 2015
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
3/5
Annemarie M
With spouse/partner

Nice enough

Room was nice enough. Aircon would be a plus as the ceiling fan was not very effective. They advertise secure parking, but there is limited parking available and we had to park behind others (and were parked in). The breakfast price must be updated, as it was advertised at the time of our booking as being R65 on their website, but we were charged R75.

Ronel F - Dec 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ronel F
With spouse/partner

Vriendelik en gasvry!

Baie aangename gasheer en gasvrou wat uit hul pad gegaan het om ons tuis te laat voel. Jammer, ons het slegs een aand oorgeslaap; ek sou met graagte langer wou bly.

Theuns N - Oct 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Theuns N
On business

Alles reg!

Geen probleme, 100% aanvaarbaar.

Noeline B - Jun 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Noeline B

Very peaceful, will definitely book again

The owners are very nice and the venue is peaceful. Great place to go and relax.

Lisa A - Feb 2014
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lisa A
With friends

Amazing

The place was very clean, owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The area is lovely and there are amenities very close by.

Sibusiso N - Dec 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
3/5
Location
3/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
3/5
Sibusiso N

Decent

Quite clean and safe.

Hannes S - Dec 2013
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Hannes S
With friends

Gerieflik en skoon!

Sien die sterre hieronder.

Lynn K - Mar 2012
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
4/5
Safety
4/5
Value for money
4/5
Lynn K
Family with teenagers

A lovely, affordable stay with friendly hosts.

Debbie and Graham are lovely hosts and the friendly, informal atmosphere made us feel at home. It was like visiting friends! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

From R780
per night (for 2 people)
From R780
per night (for 2 people)
From R780
per night (for 2 people)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 14 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 19:00
    Check-out: 10:00
  • Address: 4A York Road, Gillitts, 3610, KwaZulu-Natal
  • All ages welcome
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAJGVjODgwNmJjLTU5MmEtNDQ3Ny05M2NkLWM4MTc5ZjkxMWFjNQ?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=format From R780  per night (for 2 people) 25 5 1 5 4A York Road Gillitts 3610 KwaZulu-Natal 0860 022 102 14:00-19:00 10:00 -29.794622935871 30.786057830688
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!