The easiest way to find and book accommodation across South Africa!
GREAT
SAVINGS
EASY
BOOKING
SECURE
PAYMENT
 at Map's View Guesthouse | TravelGround
+53

Map's View Guesthouse

Guest House

Review Summary

4.1 out of 5from 14 reviews for Map's View Guesthouse
Cleanliness
4.1/5
Service
4.1/5
Location
4.1/5
Safety
4.3/5
Value for money
4.0/5
Raymond E - Jun 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Raymond E

Good.

It's a nice place. The service is very good.

Derrick K - Apr 2022
Overall score
Cleanliness
3/5
Service
1/5
Location
3/5
Safety
3/5
Value for money
1/5
Derrick K
With spouse/partner

This was not a home away from home experience.

Not a very private set-up. There are 2 cottages at the back of the main house. The advert states that if you book for the pool and Jacuzzi, you will have full access to both during your stay, yet the other young couple who checked in minutes before us made use of the Jazzuci. Upon arrival we told Latani we would have friends over for a braai he said that would be fine, but asked how many friends would come (only 3 friends). While our guests were over he basically walked around the whole time from 3pm till 9pm guarding us. He then went on to sending a SMS saying that our friends have to leave at 22:00 yet the house rules states "Quiet time between 11pm and 7am". Parking is very limited on the property. You are required to pay a cleaning fee of R250, yet when we arrived the fridge and freezer were dirty. The outside chairs are not in good condition. They wobble and can break anytime. The couches in the lounge are not comfortable. You can feel planks rub against your back when you are seated. The bed in the main room is rock hard. On Saturday evening his kids or visitors' kids started running around at the back of our cottage screaming and laughing to their hearts content. We were not allowed to increase any temperatures in the Jaccuzi. The water was luke warm, even after Latani increased the temperature himself.

Map's View Guesthouse 's response

Thank you Derrick for the feedback provided, it helps us improve guest experience and correct where we are falling short. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectation. There are matters which, as a guest will help you maximize your experience for future bookings anywhere, as follows: Always inform the host in advance and check if it is permissible to bring visitors; you should never put your food items in a dirty fridge and freezer but rather inform the host so that matters are attended to immediately. It is also important to read and familiarise yourself with house rules; we have parking space for four cars and unauthorised visitors are not accounted for parking. Always bring any matters of concern to the host during your stay, and myself as the host, will ensure that your stay is a enjoyable as possible.

Map's View Guesthouse
Lauren S - Oct 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Lauren S
With spouse/partner

Great stay.

The service was amazing from beginning to the end. They went all out to help me with preparation and decoration for a surprise birthday and anniversary. Checking in was easy and super friendly. Any other assistance needed they where available to your needs. Great appreciation to Latani and Chalene.

Ryno J - Jun 2021
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ryno J
On business

Friendly host, nice view and clean place.

Enjoyed the stay.

Jean-pierre D - Dec 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Jean-pierre D
Family with young children

Very accommodative owner. Kudos for good services.

Good service, very clean and very much accommodative with all the additions that were given on during our stay.

Marco V - Oct 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Marco V
With spouse/partner

Nie wat ek verwag het nie.

Geen privaatheid in die area nie. Jacuzzi deel van die huis se infrastruktuur. Eienaar het gesê ons moet maar die cover van die Jacuzzi gebruik om die area toe te maak vir privaatheid.

Map's View Guesthouse 's response

Goeiedag,

Dankie vir die terugvoer. Jammer dat ons verblyf nie julle verwagting was nie en dat julle nie die genot wat so baie al in die jacuzzi kon he, kon deel nie.

Ons doen graag beter met elke terugvoer en verblyf.

Map's View Guesthouse
Morris R - Jan 2020
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Morris R
With spouse/partner

Very neat and people are hospitable.

Location is in a good area and service is good. It's neat and private too.

This review has been translated,click hereto view the original version.

Baie netjies en mense is gasvry.

Plek is in 'n goeie area en die diens is goed. Dit is netjies en privaat ook.

You are reading the original review,click hereto view the translated version.

Helena B - Dec 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
4/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
4/5
Helena B
On business

Heerlik gebly - Map's View het aan al ons verwagtinge voldoen!

Baie goeie ontvangs en diens deur eienaar ontvang. Altyd beskikbaar om te help. Pragtige en netjiese verblyf. Ons kom graag volgende jaar weer.

Miranda N - Oct 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
1/5
Service
1/5
Location
1/5
Safety
1/5
Value for money
1/5
Miranda N
Family with teenagers

This was the worst place to stay in. Not clean and hygienic. Spiderwebs and broken drawers. Tattered and torn upholstery.

The owners were not friendly and not helpful at all. When I pointed out the findings that I was not happy about, he made me feel like it was my fault about complaining. This place is not worth all the money that I have paid. All night when we returned to the property, they turned the water sprinklers on - we ended up getting wet. There is dog poop all over the property and it smells disgusting. Please do not send future visitors there.

Map's View Guesthouse 's response

Dear Miranda,

Thank you for your feedback. I sincerely apologize that you did not have a good experience with your stay. All matters were acknowledged and addressed with our staff so that in the future, nothing of the same nature is experienced by our future guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, it helps us to improve our service and do better in the future.

Thank you for using our place.

Regards,
Latani

Map's View Guesthouse
Nicole B - Aug 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Nicole B
Family with young children

Absolutely amazing vibe and amazing people.

Stunning place, clean, nice people who accommodated me, a beautiful place indeed.

Map's View Guesthouse 's response

Thank you, Nicole, for the great feedback. You and your children were a pleasure to have and we would welcome you back to our property.

Map's View Guesthouse
Carika H - Jun 2019
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Carika H
Family with teenagers

Very comfortable, quiet and clean.

We will definitely stay here again.

Map's View Guesthouse 's response

Thank you, Carika, for using my place and taking good care of it like your own. You left the place in such an immaculate state and for that we are grateful.
My appreciation for the great feedback and a 5-star rating.
Best wishes

Map's View Guesthouse
Ansie L - Jul 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
4/5
Service
4/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Ansie L
With spouse/partner

A last minute great find.

It is great value for money and has potential to become one of the best places to stay in the area. With a few finishing touches it will be easily done. Good luck and thank you for a memorable stay in Johannesburg.

Map's View Guesthouse 's response

Thank you Ansie for the review. Your feedback will help us improve and give us a business edge. I would like to express my gratitude for giving us an opportunity to host you and family. Much appreciated.

Map's View Guesthouse
Karin P - May 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Karin P
Family with teenagers

Picture perfect accommodation exactly as reflected on the website and more.

The host and venue were fantastic, this property is a home away from home with all the necessary amenities that was needed to make our stay perfect. Clean bedding and bathrooms came standard and picture perfect view revived our spirit.

Map's View Guesthouse 's response

Thank you for your feedback and positive review, Karin. I would like to express my gratitude for giving us an opportunity to host you and family.

Map's View Guesthouse
Domenique V - Mar 2018
Overall score
Cleanliness
5/5
Service
5/5
Location
5/5
Safety
5/5
Value for money
5/5
Domenique V
With friends

Very cosy.

Very friendly and nice place with lots to do. Near all major attractions.

Map's View Guesthouse 's response

Dear Domenique,

Thank you for your review of our place and for the opportunity to host you and your hubby. Have a great year full of adventure and lasting, memorable moments.

Map's View Guesthouse
From
R1 895
per night (sleeps 4)
From
From R1 895
per night (sleeps 4)
From
R1 895
per night (sleeps 4)
Make a Booking
  • Capacity: 4 people
  • Check-in: 14:00 to 22:00
    Check-out: 11:00
  • Address: 27 Thaba Bosigo Avenue, Glenvista, Johannesburg, 2081, Gauteng
  • No children under 18
https://travelground.imgix.net/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGuDQfx31IW7HW9LXqnwii4B3S3orQLBoMtdmITz4LuJppX6wUq?w=1440&h=960&fit=crop&auto=enhance,format,compress&q=80 From R1 895  per night (sleeps 4) 14 5 1 5 27 Thaba Bosigo Avenue Glenvista 2081 Gauteng 0860 022 102 14:00-22:00 11:00 -26.284964809752 28.043340728836
SUBSCRIBE TO GET AWESOME ACCOMMODATION SPECIALS!
SUBSCRIBE FOR AWESOME SPECIALS!